Albums of 2016

Danny Brown’s dropped his new album a few days early it seems. Should be good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5H07c8DlgI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVyGxlgeAjc

Came in to post about that new Danny Brown album. It’s incredible, lads. Great to see a guy like that drop an album that properly reflects him.

New Solange Knowles is fantastic. Reminds me of Erykah Badu. Speaking of Erykah…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_-kLuNaDTA

Jesus Christ…is this what it has come to? What the fuck is he shouting about at all? Woeful shite altogether.

Anybody listening to Julia Jacklin, haven’t heard it all yet but it seems like a really good first album.
Playing the Grand Social in November

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-qvTPxUlxg

Is this like lads writing “cool” band names on their school bags in the 1980s and then heading home to listen to banararama

They don’t even have to be cool, just be black and wear their pants down around their ankles and that seems to qualify them for album of the year.

I have a mate who is well clued in to recent music, if I had my way I’d probably have cut off everything after 2005 but I travel to and from 5 a side a couple of times a week and he gives me the lowdown.

But certainly for the present age, which prefers the sign to the thing signified, the copy to the original, representation to reality, the appearance to the essence… illusion only is sacred, truth profane. Nay, sacredness is held to be enhanced in proportion as truth decreases and illusion increases, so that the highest degree of illusion comes to be the highest degree of sacredness - Feuerbach

What did he say was album of the year mate?

He wouldn’t lower himself to such banalities in October anyway, he turned me onto Julia Jacklin is all. I’m not claiming to be up with current music.

That’s a very sad post.

Huh.

Yeah I know mate, thats why I asked for his recommendation. I’ll check out Jacklin.

This 82 year old’s soon to be released album is getting rave reviews.

https://youtu.be/v0nmHymgM7Y

This is alright mate. You should check out Jessica Pratt, has a great voice:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHwq8AUOCc8

New Orb album on its way to me.

I liked the De La Soul album.