All Ireland football semi final Kerry v Mayo

Those with COC for FOTY dockets may bin them now.

One of the worst and most inconsistent refereeing performances you’ll ever see. Mayo got their just deserts though given the level of cynicism they employ, Kerry were looking for that brawl near the end and naivety of Mayo to indulge them with it and wind the clock was staggering. Mayo have serious problems with their mentality when they get near the finishing line.

[QUOTE=“Distended Red Anus, post: 1008642, member: 2648”]G’way ta fuck, it’s still second fiddle to hurling.
:D:D:D

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1008715, member: 2533”]Didn’t know much about Peter Crowley until this year as well - he is some fucking player.
Good player but beggars belief how he didn’t get a black card

McLoughlin could have had about 10 black cards, I don’t think you can pick holes in the referee’s performance as it resembled a bottomless pit.

The 2 frees he have Kerry in the first period of ET were truely shocking

Mayo blew it a week ago and once again were found wanting when the heat came on. They got Keegan ffs so can have no complaints about help from above.

That was a great evenings entertainment out on the Ennis road. Mayo lucky to draw it and blew the 1st half et.

Ref was poor, not in control and he encouraged the problems

Pitch and venue were excellent

It took 6 Stewards to stop him advancing and 8 to get him off the field.

And here is the legend in Supermacs posing for pictures afterwards*

[ATTACH=full]1650[/ATTACH]

*anywhere else in the world he’d be spending a night in ye slammer

It’s his daughter who you would feel sorry for, he’s a grown man and clearly has a thick skin (literally as well as metaphorically) but she’ll be mortified over him. When she walked off the pitch after remonstrating with him you could tell she just wanted the ground to open up and swallow her.

Ah fuck it, nobody was killed. Harmless, it was only handbags. :clap:

Well done to the Gaelic Grounds and both teams for putting on a great show. The fucker who does the PA at Croke Park was parachuted in for the day at the expense of the regular announcer* at the ground. The only negative for me. :mad:

• I am not the regular Gaelic Grounds stadium announcer nor do I know who he is.

[QUOTE=“Distended Red Anus, post: 1008630, member: 2648”]+1
Happy to be alive, and happy to be Irish,

Jesus, if you only could bottle up a glorious August evening like this[/QUOTE]
I’m sure Mayo would make a good fist of it.

The fights near the end started just down from where we were stood. From what I could see, both were started by Kerry players, Marc Ó Sé and Kieran O’Leary were the main culprits (amongst a few others) and both should have got the line. It wasn’t in Mayo’s interest to start fights as they needed to find a goal from somewhere. In saying that, Cillian O’Connor deserved to go for his petulant kick.

The better team won overall, even though Mayo had the perfect opportunity to put the game away in ET when they went 2 points up. Instead they absolutely wasted it. McLoughlin missed a couple of very scorable points, Cillian O Connor likewise. Kerry always make you pay, they never panicked, Lyne got them started and they took over from there. Unfortunately for Mayo, they continually display the same age old naïvety and mental weakness that they’ve always had. A case in point, down by 3 with 3 minutes left on the clock, instead of simply hitting the ball in long to O’Connor and Moran, bypassing the Kerry blanket, Mayo opt to go through the phases with the short passing game, they end up going nowhere down blocked alleys and making Kerry’s job easy.

[QUOTE=“Distended Red Anus, post: 1008702, member: 2648”]Fucking EPIC stuff.

Jesus, that was one for the fucking ages.[/QUOTE]
its amazing what watching a replay of it knowing the result does for a clear view. It wasn’t a patch quality wise on last week, although undoubtably exciting. Felt Kerry were significantly the superior side but a few defensive brain farts kept mayo in it. There was nothing dynamic about Mayos play.
Kerry went in as hard as I have seen since the Jack O Se days. And in fairness playing poorly Mayo stood up to it. It’s total bollix to question Mayo’s mentality. They fought superbly thru most of the 2 games. Kerry are just better and have more attacking weapons.

Key turning point for me was when when Mayo shot out of the traps at start of ET. They went two points up and looked to really have the legs of Kerry. Then they went for a goal chance and missed when it would have been easier to just tap the point. That would have put them 3 clear and in total control but instead that miss seemed to disrupt their rythym and they kicked 2 sides straight after it before Kerry eventually clawed their way back again and got to HT in ET level.

Also, only an attendance of 36k?
That’s very disappointing. Did all the scare-mongering about traffic etc, scare off supporters? Would they have got much more in Dublin? Granted you’d probably have a bigger neutral ex-pat supporter base to appeal to there alright.

There were people outside who literally couldn’t give tickets away. Seen a few people just handing them to Gardai to pass on to anybody who needed one. After all the scare mongering about people being locked out, traffic congestion, no Hawk-Eye etc it turned out to be a grand day with pretty much everything organised well enough. The pitch was in great condition. I don’t think you’d have got more than 40k in Croke Park at 5pm on a Saturday night.

Win win for the GAA. Venue fee for Croke Park classic and a big crowd in a provincial ground that doesn’t cost a fraction of what Croke Park costs to open, when they would have struggled to break even in Croke Park.

Joe brolly in his own cuntish way completely disagreed with you and blamed the whole loss on mayo and mcloughlin in particular not having the killer instinct to go for goals in first half ET.

I would have thought, given the relatively short period the ball will be in play for in ET, that racking up as many scores as possible (instead of taking a risk on a goal chance) would be more important. I’d say the ball wasn’t in play for more than 4 minutes of the second half of ET.

You want to be in a position to where you are forcing the other team to go for goals. It’s far easier defend them.

I could be wrong but I thought it was Keegan who completely took his eye off the ball and allowed Crowley to get back and intercept when clean through on goal - it was definitely a turning point though - Kerry went down the pitch and got two frees of a very soft variety.