All Ireland Gold or now to be known as old matches on d’tele

How much did Éir pay for the Archives ??

From December 2016:

Not really sure where that leaves TG4 showing the All-Ireland Gold series, but they are ploughing on regardless. Didn’t RTÉ show the 2004 Munster Final recently? Did they get a little rap on the knuckles I wonder.

Yes. Nearly bet the yerras on his own

At least they took the rap for a game that hadn’t been shown in the guts of a week

This was uploaded to youtube the other day

A great watch.

Cork came into the game with their tails up off the back hammering Clare in the league semi final and then beating Waterford in the league final and Limerick in Limerick in the first round. They brought a huge crowd with them in expectation of dethroning the A/I champions and expected an A/I run themselves with Waterford waiting in the Munster final. They started well and were in control after 20 minutes with Corcoran going well at centre back and Alan Browne causing problems at full forward Clare slowing started to take over and only trailed by one at half time having played against the breeze.

Clare’s backs took over completely in the second half and limited Cork to 4 points while Baker and Lynch dominated some mullocker from Cobh by the name of Daly cc @mickee321 and Pat Ryan in midfield. The Cobh fella didn’t puck a ball on Baker. Jamesie and Corcoran had a great battle while Niall Gilligan beat the Rock up a stick every time the ball landed into top of the right and scored 4 points. The last 10 minutes as Clare outscored them 7 points to 1 was as sweet as it gets given the hype about Cork heading into it. Seanie dominating at centre back and Baker plucking balls out of the sky and drilling them into Gilligan and Taeffe for points.

Ger Cunningham’s last game for Cork and he was excellent. Plucked a couple of balls from under his crossbar and made a sensational save from a Niall Gilligan pulled effort. Kieran Mullooley on sideline duty for RTE and Ger Lock giving it big licks before the game even entered injury time :ronnyroar:

The year before Seanie McGrath gave Clare a game himself. Clare had his number in 98 and he hardly picked a ball IIRC.

Cork were badly treated by ref v Clare in 1997

97/98 was peak Loughnane. He was the first one to name dummy teams I think. I remember the Munster final in 98. Clare all came onto the field with training tops so no one knew what numbers lads were wearing. He used often throw 16 lads into the pre match parade. Or else he used throw a duck into it like Barry Murphy to throw the opposition mgmt.

Yeah, Brian Quinn and Alan Markham were plucked from nowhere to start that match in 98 v Cork.

I’m sure the non Clare people on here have better things to do but there is a chap on youtube who is in te process of uploading all the Loughnane era games onto youtube.

Hours of memories.

Did Lynch start vs Cork out of nowhere also?

No, he started the first round v Kerry and had a good league. Many would maintain that he should have started v Limerick in 96.

Gilli was probably more the bolter v Cork in 97

i was doing the leaving so this one passed me by a bit but it almost aligned with the end of that clare team and cork getting semi organised as they didnt win a championship game since 92 ( bar beating kerry in tralee in 95)- then 99, etc happened

RTE 2 now : peak hipster jerseys

Lads was Gaelic football not really weak in the 00s? Kerry and Tyrone were good but after that Meath, Dublin, Galway, Mayo, cork and Donegal were all fairly shite. Limerick went toe to toe with that Kerry team a few times and should really have beaten them. I remember Tyrone being beaten by a bad Derry team.

I have absolutely no recollection of Shay Given starting this game

Cyrus Christie became a man that night.

The 2005 champions league final in now . How did AC Milan lose to that Liverpool team ??

I think I remember Lynch playing a national football league match v Kerry in the early to mid 1990s or am I imagining that

ah jesus cant believe i didnt record that dublin armagh 2002 SF the other night, i was studying anyway, that was a brilliantly, tense game- brilliant stuff - the dublin donegal QF on BH monday a double header with cork and mayo was also a great game