[quote=“Horsebox, post: 912107, member: 1537”]That little prick has gone up in my estimation in recent days. He’s still an attention seeking and vindictive arsehole but he has some good traits too and fair play to him for highlighting the bullying issue. I was bullied once-a “gang” I used to run with disbanded about 18 months ago and I joined a new “gang”. When I first joined, I was bullied relentlessly and people made fun of me at every turn but I shook it off and it made me stronger and now I am widely respected and probably one of the leaders of the “gang”.
Huzzah Davy Fitz![/quote]
We still make fun of you, and you’ll never take @Mac’s place as our leader.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 912121, member: 9”]Message to young hurlers:
Get yourself bullied and beaten up relentlessly. This will make you stronger for the battles ahead on the pitch. Senior All-Ireland glory will follow.[/quote]
Agassi book suggests a dysfunctional relationship with your father is also helpful in winning grand slams and becoming a champion tennis player.
Sean Og book suggests same re winning an All Ireland.
Lampard suggests relationship with his father was built on tough love.
If you want your kids to succeed at sport you have to drive them on/bully them. They will thank you for it later.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 912121, member: 9”]Message to young hurlers:
Get yourself bullied and beaten up relentlessly. This will make you stronger for the battles ahead on the pitch. Senior All-Ireland glory will follow.[/quote]
In all fairness what were his parents at. The chap wanders in from school with an omelette on his head, shoeless and a picture of the Mona Lisa painted on his chest and they don’t cop that there is something going on? I don’t buy that for a second.
[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 912127, member: 2272”]Agassi book suggests a dysfunctional relationship with your father is also helpful in winning grand slams and becoming a champion tennis player.
Sean Og book suggests same re winning an All Ireland.
Lampard suggests relationship with his father was built on tough love.
If you want your kids to succeed at sport you have to drive them on/bully them. They will thank you for it later.[/quote]
Agassi resented his father for pushing him so hard… its clear it was his father who wanted him to be famous more than Agassi…i don’t think he ever tanked his father for that… he got to the point where he realized he hated tennis but didn’t know how to do anything else…
that’s a good question, but the bullying did happen, I am of mixed views as to whether he should be coming out with this, maybe it will help somebody. most of the above was delivered as an address to LIT students,(he is an employee) but the stuff he’s recounting happened alright unfortuntately
Why should he not be coming out saying this? It is a great thing to have the topic out in the open and if it makes any little scrotes think twice about making some poor kid’s life hell, then that’s a great thing.
I don’t really get what the fuck is wrong with @Fagan O’Dowd and the others having a pop at Davy. They can’t possibly deny that his highlighting bullying and speaking about the problem is a good thing. The explicit detail he is giving adds weight to what he is saying. Lads putting Davy down are jealous small minded begrudging little knockers. Davy is a national treasure and a very decent sort. Fuck ye all.
As long as you forget about Limerick that’s all that counts. Clare will do if that’s what you’re into. Can’t understand why you won’t join us here in Tipp. You make own decisions I suppose. Good for you and the banner. Hon Tipp!
“The All-Ireland-winning goalkeeper also recalled his heart scare in 2009, admitting he feared for his life following the results of an angiogram showing a 95% blockage in an artery.
Fitzgerald had to wait a week to have a stent inserted at the Beacon Hospital in Dublin and did not a sleep in the interim, afraid he might never wake up.”
we’ll be forever indebted to Waterford for letting him serve his apprenticeship down there before the big job but the 200k PA was possibly on the high side in hindsight