Oh shite, not again…
[quote=“glasagusban, post: 839392, member: 1533”]The first part of that translates to “cork are cork”.
You can miss a lot in 3 summers. I’ll take your word that you may have seen players easy to come through, but you can have no idea what’s in limerick and no basis to dismiss players you haven’t seen. You’re arguing with no basis.
CIT and UCC? We have LIT, UL and now Mary I you amadán, where’s the better record in recent years??!
As for Allen this year, we pinned it all on a gameplan based on workrate. We got where we got.[/quote]
You don’t take criticism of Limerick to well at all,pal.
Don’t take it so personal.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 839350, member: 273”]So you think ye have 3 Un-named Minors, but as you have heard nothing from Cork you are trying to indicate Linerick have more coming thru? Is that what you are saying?
On sheet numbers Cork will always have more. Individual talents ye may well produce, but as proved this year “average” Cork teams seem to be as good and better than the best others have.
You must remember what a shambles our minor/21 has been, it’s hard for guys to stand out and get noticed. The hurlers are absolutely there, just like they were 2-3 years ago except they were not blooded or looked after. Cork need about 6-7 players for the panel to lose Naughton and Cussen and a few. A season of games and another pre-season and you can be sure Joyce, Kearney, McLoughlin, Lehane, Coughlan, Moylan will all the the better for it.[/quote]
Has Pa Callaghan the ability to come in and perform in his first season like Tony Kelly did last year and O’Donnell did on Saturday? He was mentioned as being a serious prospect. Cork beat Clare this year in minor I think? They drew with Waterford in a game they could have won and lost in extra time. Given what Waterford went on to do after, there must be serious players on that Cork minor team.
Division 1b might not be a bad place to blood players like Callaghan. If he were to take off at senior level quickly it would be a great boost for them. Something like that needs to happen for them to build on this year. Aidan Walsh coming to the hurlers would also be interesting
[quote=“carryharry, post: 839396, member: 1517”]You don’t take criticism of Limerick to well at all,pal.
Don’t take it so personal.[/quote]
Not taking it personal at all mate. I tire of stupidity though. Kev is often insightful but bases his opinions on absolutely nothing sometimes.
You can’t argue with History.
Cork teams are mentally stronger than Limerick. Results this year prove so. As regards his point on having a bigger pick, well its correct. Harnedy’s level of performance this year proves his point, he made his mark in College Hurling & not in Underage teams. The scale of numbers in Cork means they can pick lads out of nowhere, its plain Geography in their favour.
[quote=“carryharry, post: 839399, member: 1517”]You can’t argue with History.
Cork teams are mentally stronger than Limerick. Results this year prove so. As regards his point on having a bigger pick, well its correct. Harnedy’s level of performance this year proves his point, he made his mark in College Hurling & not in Underage teams. The scale of numbers in Cork means they can pick lads out of nowhere, its plain Geography in their favour.[/quote]
thinking back on the year, I cant recall Harnedy playing a single minute in the league. Is this correct?
Harnedy probably epitomises the Cork mushroom factor
[quote=“glasagusban, post: 839392, member: 1533”]The first part of that translates to “cork are cork”.
You can miss a lot in 3 summers. I’ll take your word that you may have seen players easy to come through, but you can have no idea what’s in limerick and no basis to dismiss players you haven’t seen. You’re arguing with no basis.
CIT and UCC? We have LIT, UL and now Mary I you amadán, where’s the better record in recent years??!
As for Allen this year, we pinned it all on a gameplan based on workrate. We got where we got.[/quote]
You’ll learn.
UL or LIT does nothing for Limerick hurling. It could do, but hasn’t from what I have seen. UCC and CIT have direct involvement in Cork and a growing involvement. UCC have win 3 titles recently, 2 of those win barely beating CIT along the way.
LIT did more for Clare and Galway hurling.
As for the “Cork is Cork” comment. If you read any of my musings on Corks underage over past few years you would know I’m a very anti the mushrooms theory. It’s based on fact. We have more scope for improvement. We have more clubs, more players, more money, more facilities coming. That’s not gloating(it can actually be a disadvantage sometimes, especially at underage), it’s just the way it is. If we ever decide to fully utilize out resources we’ll be very hard to stop. That old arrogance doesn’t exist amongst the new breed of coaches and administrators in Cork, and God help everyone if we match the work rate and structure of Clare and Killkenny.
The big 4 hurling clubs in the city Na Piarsaigh, Glen Rovers, Blackrick and The Barr’s are coming like an absolute train now. The organization they put back in 8-10 years ago is paying a lot of results now. Add in Midleton and Douglas and smaller places like Killeagh and Ballymartyle flying as well as hurling expanding at an unbelievable rate. you now have football strongholds in West Cork like Skib , Clon and Dunmanway putting huge effort into hurling and being successful at underage and becoming very competitive at adult. You have places like Dromtarriff and Boherbue from football only clubs (up to 10 years ago) on the Kerry boarder playing Premier 2 underage hurling.
Basically Cork is expanding as a hurling county and the net is getting wider. The coaching at development and club level is actually top notch, as good as anywhere. It’s just Cork are not transferring them from development to Senior well due to dreadful decisions made at Minor & 21. There is a separation between Rebel Og (including development squads) and the Minor & 21(run by County Board). Sort that out and ye are all fucked
Kev,
Are the Barrs really coming like a train? I saw them celebrating a senior hurling relegation final victory in the examiner at the weekend. That doesn’t suggest great things. I know Blackrock are going very well at minor the last few years
Bar Clare won the All Ireland this year with a talented and frightenely young side which indicated they will be a force for years to come, I d say no one here has a clue who will win the All Ireland next year
Galway are almost written off but they could get their house in order again.
Remember Dublin were putrid in 2012 but excellent in 2013.
[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839397, member: 1379”]Has Pa Callaghan the ability to come in and perform in his first season like Tony Kelly did last year and O’Donnell did on Saturday? He was mentioned as being a serious prospect. Cork beat Clare this year in minor I think? They drew with Waterford in a game they could have won and lost in extra time. Given what Waterford went on to do after, there must be serious players on that Cork minor team.
Division 1b might not be a bad place to blood players like Callaghan. If he were to take off at senior level quickly it would be a great boost for them. Something like that needs to happen for them to build on this year. Aidan Walsh coming to the hurlers would also be interesting[/quote]
Hard to know re: O Callaghan. But if JBM is there he’ll get the best of nurturing anyway. You never really know how young Lads would go. If Kelly didn’t have all his familiar faces around him this year and was a young fella coming into a more established team then he may have struggled. The great advantage Clare had to counteract their young profile was their familiarity with each other.
When you come along as a talent can have as much to do with fulfilling it as the talent itself. You need the environment to flourish. Maybe that’s why Tipp need a clear out like Carryharry suggests. Let the young lads breath and become their own leaders. There was no such obstacles for Clare. JBM ensured the same for Cork. It should allow the likes of Callsghan have a shot. There is Matthew Collins as well from Ballinhassig. Player minor last year outfield (I think) but was in goal for 21’s this year. He is tearing it up, another possibility, although the family have a history of underachievement
[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839410, member: 1379”]Kev,
Are the Barrs really coming like a train? I saw them celebrating a senior hurling relegation final victory in the examiner at the weekend. That doesn’t suggest great things. I know Blackrock are going very well at minor the last few years[/quote]
No, they continue to be very mediocre underage.Ditto for the Glen, bar a good Minor team this year.
[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839410, member: 1379”]Kev,
Are the Barrs really coming like a train? I saw them celebrating a senior hurling relegation final victory in the examiner at the weekend. That doesn’t suggest great things. I know Blackrock are going very well at minor the last few years[/quote]
Not as much as other 3 mentioned, but they are there. You only need 24-28 for senior. You cN’t underestimate staying up. The Premier Intrrmediate teams would rattle a lot if senior teams around the country, it’s a cunt to win. Hanging in there knowing you have something coming thru is something to celebrate. My own club is doing the same in football. Hanging in winning one game a year to stay Premier Intermediate, playing Div 4 league knowing if we went down Intermediate A we wouldn’t win it. Now we have an injection if talent and are going up to Div 3 we are probably over the worst of it. Next year Div 3 will have 3 Senior Championship teams while Div 2 will have 2 Intermediate A teams. It’s brutally competitive. Probably about to surpass Kerry County leagues in standard soon, certainly outside the 2 Div 1’s. Same in hurling.
The Rockies are flying, and their 2nd an 3rd adult teams are going well and the seniors improved but you have to wonder are they just producing a lot of the same types of hurlers. Athletic lean fast guys that will succeed at underage and lower grade adult . The real craft will come from Piarsaigh, The Glen or Midleton.
[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839410, member: 1379”]
Are the Barrs really coming like a train? [/quote]
Like a train bro. Like. A. Train.
Typical Turenne. Not able to see the whole picture.
So you take the word if a lad who lives in Singapore who never coached or was involved really in hurling or football at all over some who has because the same person now lives in Australia. Interesting viewpoint.
Mediocre as in they are now getting competitive at Premier 1? Ya that’s shit alright.
No mate but I think you exaggerate to make your points sometimes.
The 2014 championship to see big increase in attendances in Munster Championship.
Every county bar Tipp got something to lift the spirits at either minor or senior level.
A Clare v Limerck Munster semi final for example could be back in sell out territory??
Where have I exaggerated here?