All Ireland Hurling Championship 2014

As for the Draw, Clare semi final is the only one I want and we defend that title as if our fucking lives depended on it. While I respect what Clare have achieved and congratulate them, I fucking despise the way they goad opposition players and the way their manager behaves himself. Its shows a lack of class and a lack of respect.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 839725, member: 686”]Yeah… I think a few lads thought they were starting and then BANG the actual team was announced.

He “resigned” since.[/quote]
Yeah I know he’s gone now but FFS if he’s causing ructions like this within the team surely Cunningham knew about it? Why would he be tolerated if he was purposely trying to undermine the manager? As in surely he should have bee fucked out as soon as this came to light.

He has been now

I want them in the final after we’ve won two games.

I noticed a lot of it at the Semi final alright. Kelly gave Mulcahy plenty of it after his goal chance. Breen and Jimbob got a bit and so did Niall Moran and he over reacted.

Davy Fitz has absolutely destroyed the whole of Limerick, Cork and Tipp with his legendary mindgames, they are gone apeshit trying to get at him

You couldn’t hit Niall Moran hard enough, a sneaky dirty bastard

An excellent point G&B.

Hopefully we’ll find this out at the ‘review of the year’ meeting tomorrow night.

AC authority appears to have been undermined by Kenny all through 2013 and I suspect in late 2012 too… (How the fcuk was Skehill allowed to start the replay?)

AC looks very incapable and weak in all of this.

I dont think anything would motivate the Limerick hurlers more for the next 8 months than the thought of Clare in the 1st game of the championship.

Most of Limerick don’t even know who he is and are more concerned with the big Munster v Leinster clash this week. The few of us that do love Davy dearly.

Bugler and Pat o Connor doing the same to Horgan, Kelly goading Nash when taking the 21s. I absolutely detest seeing that. While the fist pumping can get tiresome I can tolerate it to some extent but I despise seeing players goading opposition players after they miss a chance

You don’t have to tell us, KP.

I remember looking up at the hill after the final whistle went in the Semi and the Clare lads going mental. Part of me, somewhere deep down inside, was saying fair fucks to them and could only respect it, but the emptiness inside from another disaster showing on our behalf was eating me up inside. I felt like screaming ‘FUCK THIS FUCKING SHIT, NEVER AGAIN’ but then you see young Hannon in bits next to you and think of everything they have given up for us and then go sip on an few beers, regather our thoughts and it’s all next year, next year.

It can’t come fast enough :pint:[/quote]

It’s a drug isn’t it.

Year after year, however bleak it looks we are always drawn back again. For all the crappy days - and by God are there lots of those - you just live for days like the Tipp and Cork matches this year. You just can’t replicate the buzz of when the full time whistle goes on days like that.

you obviously have never lifted a hurl in your life

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 839736, member: 686”]An excellent point G&B.

Hopefully we’ll find this out at the ‘review of the year’ meeting tomorrow night.

AC authority appears to have been undermined by Kenny all through 2013 and I suspect in late 2012 too… (How the fcuk was Skehill allowed to start the replay?)

AC looks very incapable and weak in all of this.[/quote]
Probably tried to play the peacemaker/facilitator role and not cause ructions nut clearly chose his path wrong. He does come off looking very bad in all this but at the end of the day he must have had the final say in selecting the team and looks bad for his team selections alone. Still think he should get another year to recover where they were at in 2012.

Probably right but reckon we need matches matches and more matches. Shouldn’t need the motivation of Clare for the next 8 months anyway.

Oh I have, I was never the most skillful hurler. Committed (which is a nice way of saying i was shite) and I was never afraid to get stuck into a lad but I never goaded a player for a missing a chance, Id sooner see a lad hit someone a flake than be at that shit.

As a Tipp man I hope Clare comes out of the hat on Thursday night. It might help focus the minds and motivate this bunch into a renewed effort. The talent is there. Tipp won a minor All Ireland last year and 2 successive Tipp U21 teams without any senior starting panelist have went toe to toe with Clares U21’s in 2 successive years.

I would like to see some of the dead wood cleared. It cannot be expected that the formula that worked 3 years ago can prevail in 2014. That may spell the end for Kelly, Curran, John O Brien, but the nucleus of an experienced and spine for the team is there.

Going into the lions den this year and playing Kilkenny was a game Tipp were never going to win.Nowlan park would have been worth a few points to Kilkenny psychologically before a ball was even pucked.

Clare are very worthy champions and beat who was put in front of them. They will only improve as their graph has risen with every game this year but if they did come out in the draw on Thursday we will expect to beat them next year.

Galway hurling is so chock full of gigantic egos it’s hard to see anyone having good successive seasons with them without having them under lockdown for the entire winter. You could have a hugely positive season with them next year but by the time the winter is over half of them will have fallen out again.

They were at it constantly in both games against Cork too, lads missing chances and they were in lads faces roaring and screaming before the obligatory fist pump. Obviously it’s a deliberate tactic.

Deserved champions, the best team in the country but I hate that type of stuff creeping into the game. The Dubs footballers under Caffrey were always at it too.

It doesn’t help that former players like Lane and Lynskey are always willing to have a cut off the management and players of the day.

I still reckon Galway have the hurlers, just never got going in 2013 but they’ll be a threat next year.

Galway should not be included in this debate until after our Club Championship. Assuming anyone is still talking to each other it will be then and only then that we will decide on whether to will field a County side for next year