All-Ireland Hurling Championship 2019***

I would say speed is more important in hurling while stamina and an overall more rounded physique is more important in football which would explain the age divide between both and why its easier to make an impact in hurling at a younger age

It’s exactly equivalent

No player who ever won a World Cup or European Cup medal played for a professional team before they played for a junior club team where they grew up

They didn’t grow up dreaming of playing for those junior teams as an end

Nobody grows up dreaming of playing for their club as an end, of course they grow up dreaming of playing for their county

Your denial that this is the case shows a rather fundamental misunderstanding of human nature

It’s the same in any field

No child with an interest in music grows up dreaming of being a session musician or playing in a wedding band

What are you shiteing on about. You know less than diddly squat about GAA than you do about horses which is quite an achievement.

That’s the sort of line trotted out by rugby fans to try and claim that prop forwards are as fit as top association footballers

It’s amazing that the “completely different” type of fitness demanded by Gaelic football is so transferable to hurling

It’s transferable because it’s pretty much the same, except Gaelic football demands it to a higher standard

No Gaelic football player ever failed to make it in hurling because they weren’t fit enough

Look, you are hankering after an intellectual gym. I am hankering after not being bored by puerile analysis of highly complex problems.

I have already explained the inadequacy of the ‘dreaming of’ concept. You can expand, quantitatively, erroneous examples all you like but said examples, qualitatively, only amplify the founding error.

You’re wrong here sid. Some lads will obviously have the physique for both sports, although not many at the highest level in both these days but the requirements are different for both. Why do you think you could name so many footballers who were brilliant into their mid to late 30s there while there’s very few in hurling?

I would say the goal of 99.8% of players who have played senior club level, and who were actually good enough to play senior inter-county, is to play senior inter-county

Those few who don’t have that ambition are just that, lacking in ambition

Any person who takes a sport seriously wants to play at the top level of it

Those that don’t, don’t take it seriously

Fuck knows what you’re on about, only yourself, I suspect, and even then I don’t think you know

This is actually pretty simple stuff, but apparently not for you who has a notion of fior gaeldom which doesn’t exist in the minds of normal, rational people

The average distance in the hurling championship was 9.8km last year. It was 9.6 in football. Sidney hasn’t a clue but that won’t stop him for the next three days.

None of that is dealing with what he said. The goal for the vast majority of club players is nothing to do with intercounty

Ah yeah, I knew some sort of reference to “fior gaeldom” would be trotted out
 Amazing how this rĂĄimĂ©is unites self righteous left and poisonous right. But – not amazing at all.

You should take up being a milkman. You always deliver.

Limerick won 34 All Irelands in my back garden. I was top scorer and man of the match in each game. My empty can of castrol gtx was lifted with pride as I climbed the table in my back garden to thousand of adoring fans.

Edit: I had no friends

Tony Browne played until he was 40

Paul Flynn
Joe Dooley
Larry O’Gorman
George O’Connor
Nicholas English
Pat Fox
Henry Shefflin
DJ Carey
JJ Delaney
Brian Corcoran
Conal Keaney
Lar Corbett
Brick Walsh
TJ Reid is at his peak now at nearly 32

There are very few footballers who were ever at their peak in their mid to late 30s

Name us a few there

Conal Keaney was a grand hurler but struggled on Sunday versus a bunch of lads running liquor out of their system

I have in fact dealt specifically with what he said whereas he genuinely tried to make out young lads playing association football dream of playing for Wayside Celtic, not Liverpool, which is an assertion so obviously preposterous it doesn’t merit a response

The vast majority of club players are not good enough to play senior inter-county and know they aren’t

Those that are good enough and those that know they’re good enough all dream of playing of it at some stage of their career at the very least, if they don’t it’s because they lack ambition and drive

He beat the supposedly impregnable Galway half-back line that won the All-Ireland just two years ago up a stick three weeks ago

That’s not a very good response

I’ve merely made some simple and obviously correct points in response to some of your weird and obviously wrong notions

For a man who prides himself on being an intellectual you sure don’t show it very much, the paucity of argument in your responses has been rather disappointing to say the least

Fior gaeldom is by definition a right-wing phenomenon

Whatever about our disagreement regarding hurling and football, I would back you up on this point. There’s probably a couple of exceptions though. In hurling I think anybody from Antrim would fulfil there dreams with a club All Ireland. I also remember a conversation with an Olouglhlan gales in Kilkenny club man a few years back. Kilkenny were winning AIs for fun back then and he said he was at a stage where he would get more satisfaction from seeing a club AI. AT which stage I told him they had won too much.

You really are an awful clown. Ego keeps driving you further out on the creaking branch.

“weird”
 “Fior gaeldom”
 The stock revisionist know nothingisms.

The question raised in this topic, which cricked my interest, is relatively straightforward: can the intercounty arena be made stronger by weakening the club arena? No amount of soft focus guff about dreaming children will alter the lineaments of this crux.