All-Ireland Hurling Championship 2019***

Huh? I’d imagine any good club man would take even a county final win over an intercounty All Ireland unless they’re winning them most years

Antrim hurling is deeply dysfunctional and has been for many years

If a county set up is riven with infighting, which by definition means it will not be successful, or poor management, which by definition also means it will not be successsful, players may choose not to participate

That’s an indictment of how the county set up there has been run far more than anything else

If Antrim hurling had a set up in which there was good coaching, which wasn’t riven with infighting and had any reasonable chance of relative success, there would be widespread buy in from the best players in the county

It’s the same in any county, look at Leix - players want to play for Eddie Brennan and have no problem putting aside bitter club rivalries in a county which has traditionally been bedevilled by them more than perhaps any other county in Ireland

I hoped you thanked jp and Noreen in your speech after.

Take a step back for a second would you. Weren’t you the very one who tried to school me for attend a club All Ireland replay involving NAP last year simply because I wasn’t from that part of the county.
Now I won’t deny that club hurling/football is a very important part of a players career. But I firmly believe that the allure of p,saying in front of 82500 people on AIF is the ultimate dream of most young lads when they get involved/interested.
Now circumstances may change. Lads might not be good enough for inter county standards as well as a plethora of private/professional issues that may interfere with ones career. However the ultimate goal of every young lad is to play at the highest level. Ask any young fella who the senior inter county AI champions are in both codes and you’ll probably come out with somewhere between 90 and 95%. Ask them who the club champions are and youre doing well if you hit half that rate.

It isn’t myself that’s displaying an ego here pal

I’m just displaying common sense rather than going for the big faux-intellectual rhetorical flourish in every post

Some of your posts here would do justice to Bono - evocative yet meaningless

For your information the “club arena” has been made steadily “weaker” for many years now in most counties because of the influence of inter-county set ups

Yet the inter-county arena is stronger than ever

My simple, common sense points about the ambition of the vast, vast majority of players at both senior and underage level not just in hurling or Gaelic football but in any field sport, have not been countered one whit by you

If lads who are good enough have no ambition to play in a successful inter-county set up, the reality is they’re small time in their attitude

A bit like yourself I suppose

No. Noel Drumgoole was my manager. He got the cudos

You see Sid. That was a great post. No need for the last sentence. You took the gloss off it.

Inter-county is where the interest is

That’s simple reality

There’s a reason why the attendances at the club finals on Paddy’s Day never break 25-30k

The general public interest just isn’t there, but of course it is for inter-county All-Ireland finals

There’s a lot of guff about players supposedly valuing club medals above senior inter-county medals

It’s lip service and romantic misty eyed bollix

No Dublin player values a club medal above a senior inter-county All-Ireland and that is a fact

I would strongly venture it’s the same in other counties, and with every player too

After beating galway and knocked out against all the odds hé must bé seething (i think Sidney is a dub/galway mån)

It’s not even that. The point he made was very good and well put together. He must couldn’t resist having a dig. I do t like that

Is hé a galway mån ór a dub, thats what i want tó know

We still have Kilkenny to support

I’ve been a lifelong fan for the last four years

I watch all their games on telly in full kit

Come

On

Ye

Soooooooper Cats

I Hope ye bate cork buddy

This is senior hurling, you get your retaliation in first

Green Party supporters like myself play senior hurling

Timing is everything. That wasn’t good timing