All Ireland Hurling Final 2014- Kilkenny vTipperary

Another Leinster ref for Kilkenny, he’ll be under pressure to deliver Henry’s 10th.

@Fagan ODowd is right. We’re unbeaten with him as AI Final referee. So that’s cool. P3 W2 D1
He refereed the drawn final with Galway and was duped by Glennon’s glaring dive.

I’ve mentioned my issues with him before.
But just to recap.
I just don’t like him as a referee, even when Kilkenny aren’t playing.
He is overly fussy about trivial issues and misses important things.
On top of that he has a glaring need to be the centre of attention which is highlighted by his style when whistling for a free.
i.e. Whistling and not giving a direction with his hands until everyone is looking at him wondering what way it’s going to go.
Which given his inconsistent decision making could be either way.

Henry’s sending off is a non-issue for me. He was sent off because he fouled too much while trying too hard in a game that he was not physically prepared for.

Kelly likes to take teams down a peg or two. He gave Cork nothing against Kilkenny in 06 including one or two soft ones against Donal Og, but hasn’t given Kilkenny a break since they hit the run of success. See also his treatment of Davy this year

Will this be the last time we see lar and Kelly in a tipp jersey? Will it be the last time we see Henry and Cody?

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 1006361, member: 258”]@Fagan ODowd is right. We’re unbeaten with him as AI Final referee. So that’s cool. P3 W2 D1
He refereed the drawn final with Galway and was duped by Glennon’s glaring dive.

I’ve mentioned my issues with him before.
But just to recap.
I just don’t like him as a referee, even when Kilkenny aren’t playing.
He is overly fussy about trivial issues and misses important things.
On top of that he has a glaring need to be the centre of attention which is highlighted by his style when whistling for a free.
i.e. Whistling and not giving a direction with his hands until everyone is looking at him wondering what way it’s going to go.
Which given his inconsistent decision making could be either way.

Henry’s sending off is a non-issue for me. He was sent off because he fouled too much while trying too hard in a game that he was not physically prepared for.[/QUOTE]
Does he require all 82,000 attendees to be looking at him, or would he be prepared to give the direction of the free if he had caught the attention of a bare majority of the attendees?

Sounds like an awful lot of paranoia to me, I can’t ever remember a ref negatively affecting the outcome of a game Kk played in. Don’t see any examples here either ?

I have seen him point at people in the crowd and demand their attention at times.
Sometimes even at empty seats. e.g. 2008, 30 minutes in.

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 1006371, member: 258”]I have seen him point at people in the crowd and demand their attention at times.
Sometimes even at empty seats. e.g. 2008, 30 minutes in.[/QUOTE]
Harsh.
Funny, but harsh. :smiley:

Kelly is a good ref. I like that takes no nonsense. He is probably the one ref in Ireland not afraid to apply the rules and dish out red cards or second yellows where they are merited when most other referees will bottle these decisions. Eg in the Cork v Clare 21s game this year.

Kelly can be as bad as any of them and as good as there is out there as well. No issue with him reffing, people getting hysterical over the call to send Henry off last year need to be told to pipe the fuck down and cop on to themselves.

Kelly refs by the rules. One of the few who does.

For a period of time Kilkenny played on the edge or over the edge of the rules and didn’t like Kelly for that reason.

Manly hurling etc, spare arm tackle

Does anybody have a link for the documentary about Kelly that was on Setanta or BT Sports

in 2004 when jamesie o’connor violently headbutted tommys hurl and didnt get a red which lead to the reply in semple and the vicious mauling of henry

Jesus there’ll be war if Kelly refs it wearing a tipp jersey.

I fucked Kelly out of it from the terrace last year when we lost to Dublin in the replay because at the time the game was almost finished, think it was Richie Power going through and was fouled by my eye and he gave a free out. But on the telly you could see he made the right decision.

We will not be cribbing over Kelly come the end of the game on Sunday week. If we are to lose (which we won’t) it’ll be by Tipp playing better than us full stop.

Ok, Are we saying there is nothing to it and Kk are happy with Barry ?

I can only speak for myself but yeah, I’m happy with Kelly. If he makes a wrong decision during the game in favour of Tipp I’m sure I won’t be the only one who will call him on it. But what is the point in worrying about something that hasn’t happened.
We get on with it, figure out a way to stop any threat that Tipp might have and play to our strengths i.e. strong aggressive defence, dynamic (and pitching in with a few scores) midfield and a forward line that is fluid, interchangeable and delivers from all six positions. And if that means that the forwards have a good day stifling the Tipp backs/midfield for the puckouts, curtails their influence in rising the rest of the team from the back and chip in with c.2-19 on the scoreboard then we’ll do it.
I’m happy enough that the backs will break even with the Tipp forwards. I’m expecting Tipp to score around 1-17 I would say, anymore than that and we are in trouble.
In summary, a 5 point win for KK

Dunno. I’m fine with it but it’ll have to be raised at the next big meeting and possibly voted on to see what the general consensus is.
We’ll let you know the outcome.

Good man Locke , I think ye’ll need weather to get ye over the line but there’s surely a big game in Kk in an AI final no matter what

Will you keep an eye on that @cluindiuic chap, lads like that with pre disposed un founded grievances tend to get a little unhinged if things start to go astray on the day

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 1006426, member: 553”]Good man Locke , I think ye’ll need weather to get ye over the line but there’s surely a big game in Kk in an AI final no matter what

Will you keep an eye on that @cluindiuic chap, lads like that with pre disposed un founded grievances tend to get a little unhinged if things start to go astray on the day[/QUOTE]

Haven’t thought of the weather really. A good day, yeah, could suit us alright. Probably would suit Tipp better for the way they throw the ball around the forwards. A day like today would be good for no-one. Though wasn’t it pissing rain in 2010 when Tipp last won. They won’t fear the rain.

At least (at the minute) there aren’t any injuries. Henry pulling up after 12 mins* and Tennyson running in only straight lines didn’t help us at all in 2010. You just hope that M Fennelly is at 100% and willing to put in a 110% shift to get us over the line. I don’t worry about that though; if he isn’t motivated to get his clubman his 10th who will be?**

*could have been the 9th min
** Colin Fennelly

Bumping this

Ryder Cup threads at the top of the board ffs sake