All Ireland Hurling Final 2024 - The Tony Kelly Final

If you were any good youā€™d have shared a location and asked them what time they want the fry like @fenwaypark.

Only messing. @Big_Dan_Campbell, @flattythehurdler you can dm.me and i will hold a spot but as fagan said if you arrive earlyish there is loads of room.

You had to be shamed into it.

Harsh

Best if you park outside the saturday night and leave the driveway free for the lads

I parked my car out the road from Drumcondra a few times in 2019 (last time I needed to :cry:) and youā€™d get out of there no bother. I was back in Dundalk within an hour or getting to my car after the 2019 final. I did a quick street map in advance to find the places that donā€™t require you to pay for on street parking.

You live in a great location.

The lads espousing active travel/public transport on other threads are showing their true colours here.

Local fella running few buses to Dublin for the gameā€¦7 am leaving gods knows what time you be homeā€¦40 quid returnā€¦good value and a nice little earner for himself

For one of the Mayo v Dublin All Irelands (i think it was 2013) we had all mrs barnes extended family calling in over the course of the morning. Parking cars, swapping tickets, talking shite and eating sausages. Most of them having had a heavy session the night before. The downstairs jacks took an awful doing. After about the 20th big mayo roaster shite the toilet gave up the ghost and we had to call a plumber. I like to remind mrs barnes about the smell as often as i can.

32 Likes

Back in the days before motorways weā€™d often have relations stay over night before a semi final or final Galway were in or call really early on a Sunday morning for the breakfast. Mass would often be caught then after breakfast and off they went and sometimes Iā€™d tag along.

They were some of my happiest memories of growing up - the big match buzz and excitement. The Jackeen getting stick from the country lads but Iā€™d secretly be wishing them well as i wanted my da to be happy.

Motorways and the removal of the need to break up a journey and probably a changing of generations sort of put paid to it.

All Ireland Hurling Finals were like Christmas morning for my aul lad. Regardless who was playing his brothers and nephews stayed the weekend in our house. Ticket chasing, whiskey, sleeping bags on floors, guinness farts, rows over matches long past, fried breakfast, ham sandwiches, crepe hats, Faganā€™s Mcgrathā€™s and absolute cunts of referees if Kilkenny lost. These days All Ireland Hurling final day makes me a little sad but thatā€™s the circle of life i suppose.

30 Likes

Itā€™s the little things . Crowd logjam at the turnstiles on a hot day in thurles and someone unleashes a Guinness fart, some big red faced roaster with a bale of twine for a belt on his trousers , guilty as sin.

Ah yer all only one step removed from roasterism lads. Thereā€™s still time, ye can be saved. One off housing in the country, go for it.

Try the Mexican stand off with Tippos arriving in the morning to ayte the mothers breakfast but refuse her offer of packed lunch as they had brought their own sandwiches for later.

They could have had the post match grub sorted as well

Long day for the driver. Will they go to the game as well, or hang tough in the bus for an auld shnooze.

Fella that owns bus and organising it will drive himself and Def go to the game .Iā€™d say he would get a few hours kip in the bus before the game they will be there before 11 :smiley:

Rewatching some of the game in the pairc between Clare and Cork what was very evident was Clare could have been beaten out the gate

Cork missed 3/4 very easy goal chances and were 7 up. It was an amazing turnaround by Clare with the aid of an extra man

Itā€™s hard to see Clare coping with corks forwards - this could be one sided with cork killing the game off quickly imo if they convert their goal chances.

I wouldnā€™t be surprised to see Lohan play with a sweeper

:joy::joy::joy::joy:
I feel.like I was there