All Ireland Hurling Semi Final Cork v Tipp

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe) 2) Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill) 3) Paudie Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) 4) Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh) 5) Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh) 6) James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane) 7) Kieran Bergin (Killenaule) 8) Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) 9) James Woodlock (Drom& Inch) 10) Gearóid Ryan (Templederry) 11) Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) 12) John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) 13) Noel McGrath (LoughmoreCastleiney) 14) Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch) 15) Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)

[QUOTE=“downyourthroats, post: 1000417, member: 1497”]You haven’ ta clue.

Darren Mac is as good if not better than Nash.

O’Sullivan X2, Cadogan, Egan, Coughlan and Moylan are all good hurlers and have all got plenty experience at this level.

Rob O’Shea was very good for Cork 21s in Ennis and is Underage again next year.

Brian Lawton was good for UCC last year although I reckon his brother? Barry is better.[/QUOTE]

They are completely unproven at this level

Looking at that Tipp midfield :eek:

Apart from some of them playing in All Ireland finals and in one case scoring a goal in AI final

Which they lost.

I still think Cork will win though. There’s too many players on that Tipp team that you just couldn’t trust

Cork by 5.

He has yet to play a senior championship match. Until he does your point is moot. Many in Tipp would have claimed that Darren Gleeson was as good if not better than Cummins a couple of years back.

What strikes me is the lack of serious power at half back in both teams. B maher aside none of em are marquee players, I think tipp might win this. They haven’t

Maher is the only marquee half back playing in that position for the three teams left in the championship. For a position in which we were spoilt for choice for years

Padraig Maher will start wing back most likely

Who will start full back, mate?

James Barry.

James Barry, as Carryharry said. I’d be happier with him on Cronin rather than Padraig Maher who can’t handle big lads under high ball but Barry is also inexperienced at full back

Moylan played very well to the end of last year.
Conor O Sullivan in teams of the year last year before the final.

Nobody has outstanding subs these days.

Agree with Kev, Corks bench will not be the issue Sunday.

Bollix fran. Cadogan, Conor Sull, Coughlan, Egan have all performed well at this level at some point in time.

Ok O’ Sullivan and possibly Egan but the other two are merely cover.

Gleeson was never as good as Cummins.

Darren Mac has all a keeper needs and has proven himself plenty of times at underage for Cork and in the Fitz with UCC.

Can’t say that I ever saw much about William Egan, a very average hurler at this level. Wasn’t surprised to see him lose his place this year. Doubt he would make the starting side for many I/C sides at present

[QUOTE=“downyourthroats, post: 1000540, member: 1497”]Gleeson was never as good as Cummins.

Darren Mac has all a keeper needs and has proven himself plenty of times at underage for Cork and in the Fitz with UCC.[/QUOTE]

What part of unproven at this level do you not get?