Who are the underage coaches that have been doing the work up to senior level? What do they lack?
WTF?
Well itâs grand looking at someone who has won an AI but do they have development skills?
The likes if Louis Mulqueen or someone from the Clare set up or Fogarty from KK.
While Sheedy seems a shrewd operator I donât think heâd go for it. And itâs far different winning an AI with Cork, Tipp or KK than it is to anyone else.
Someone like Mulqueen with a guiding hand from the likes of Liam Griffen. Iâd otherwise go with a local with Griffen.
They need to think outside the box a bit. Fuck big name appointments, this isnât Barcelona or Man Utd. Itâs about the nitty gritty. Play well and win games and the support will follow.
[QUOTE=âtazdedub, post: 990924, member: 312â]Canât think of anyone off hand to take over but hurling overall in Dublin needs to be freshened up. It looks like we have gone stale at all levels and are no longer as competitive as we have been at under age level where we had been very successful up to a few years ago.
I suppose Sheedy would be the best of the known managers out there but as others have said they could appoint from within the county, someone who knows the players and the clubâs so they can hit the ground running. But with dublin the biggest handicap we have is the football with our excellent hurlers choosing the football.[/QUOTE]
Get one of yeâre own to manage ye and stop looking around the country with the poor mouth expecting someone else to help ye out. :mad:
the cork full back lie are going to get a serious roasting before the championship is over, like they did in the All Ireland final reply last year
As Donal Og said in his book iâd say Tipp worry about us more than we worry about them.
On a serious note Cork will need to deliver a performance that will be a huge improvement on their munster form.They do have serious forwards and a class midfield.It depends on how the backs fare out.Cork also have a habit of starting games slowly.That wonât do against Tipp.We need to see a 70 minute performance and i think the defence wonât be as exposed in the manner that it was in last years all ireland finals.I think (hopefully) Corks desire to get back to where they were last September will get them over the line.
Up the orange men.
Iâd say Donal Og was wrong, I think Paul Shelley was worried when Donal Og jumped him from behind though.
Ye might want to start worrying given that we are beating ye so often lately
Tipp will win this game, mark my words.
Tipp & KK will be a serious final.
[QUOTE=âcarryharry, post: 991163, member: 1517â]Tipp will win this game, mark my words.
Tipp & KK will be a serious final.[/QUOTE]
Jaysus Harry I dunno. Iâd say Limerick will give Kilkenny a good game, but yes we will hammer Cork
I think Tipp have a poor midfield and a goalkeeper who isnât good enough or fit enough for this level of hurling.The point i was making earlier is that no man has beaten Tipp more often as a player and manager than JBM.I also think a lot of Tipps players are a bit mentally brittle.Cork will hurl for the 70 minutes while Tipp normally throw in the towel.What happens at underage doesnât matter a shit ask any Galway fan about that.
I wasnât talking about underage. I was talking about us beating ye 6 out of the last 7 times weâve played ye in senior championship hurling
Irrelevant really because Cork were a right off in the years from 2007 to 2011 due to internal problems and i only use the pharse internal problems for the sake of poltical correctness.
Right so all those times Cork beat Tipp during JBMâs career are irrelevant because Tipp were shit at the time
[QUOTE=âTheUlteriorMotive, post: 990952, member: 2272â]Case of they donât need to score them because they rack up such high points totals but they scored two the last day and in the finals last year when they went looking because they needed goals they scored 6.
Anyway as the Limerick - Wexford thread showed you can make a logically convincing argument as to how a game might or might not go but the game isnât played on here and all that theory can look very silly.
If Cork have their best players fit and available on the day then I think they have too much for Tipperary. Tipperary looked tired in last 10 or 15 minutes against Limerick and same happened to Limerick against Cork. If Cork get to half time at parity or in touching distance of teams they usually have more gas in the tank in the second half to win and are similar to Dublin footballers in that respect.[/QUOTE]
I remember a phrase JBM used last year we donât normally score goals but when we need them we get them.I thought it was a very good line and when you go through the history of Cork hurling it shows how true that saying is.
Will we do an avator bet!If Cork win the Tipp backers who accepted the challenge will have to use a Seamie Harnedy avator until the all ireland final.If the final goes to a replay then your still stuck with the avator while likewise if Tipp win i have to use a punishment avator instead!
JBM has one championship victory over Tipp as a manager, a match I referenced earlier. Tipperary missed two penalties in the same match if I remember correctly. By my reckoning he would have 6 wins over them as a player. Brian Cody has six victories as a manager, I reckon Christy Ring would have 8 or 9 wins against Tipp as a player.
Leave off the hyperbole please.