All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2016 You Are What You Eat

I don’t think there was any obstruction. It was a shoulder. Vaughan went down and then made sure connolly wouldn’t get away. Vaughan then got up and ran at poor Diarmuid. Connolly committed no offence.

Rewatching the game back now.

Mayo were all over the shop in the fist five minutes.

Keegan’s goal was stunning - what a finish, an unstoppable shot when he had very little time to get the shot off and it was a fair distance out.

Cooper’s black card was just I think but he should have had a free beforehand which would mean he actually shouldn’t have been black carded.

Small’s was the most blatant black card offence of the lot, McLoughlin also got away with a black card offence when he dragged McManamon down.

What was going on with Diarmuid O’Connor’s hair?

It’s clear that the ref gave it for a pull down. No argument there. I think he felt that Keegan dragged him down. Which is debatable.

But on its merits it was cynical and was a deliberate collission to prevent him coming on to the ball. That’s within the definition of the rule. The “after a player has played the ball away” is only one part of that rule. The other alternative is just to stop him in his tracks off the ball. And for it to be cynical. I think it fits those criteria.

Rule is shite anyway, as evidenced by the amount of time people debate it. It’s not helped by the screaming offended bus though who want red cards dished out to players for tangles and tussles and for open play collisions like we have on here.

Ah here. It’s clearly not a collision in the way the rule was framed and given how it was explained with graphs and clips by the GAA when it was first introduced. He grabbed him up high around the shoulder / neck from behind - that doesn’t qualify as a collision and that’s a ridiculous stretch in interpretation in all fairness. He didn’t pull him down either.

Late to the party on this one but I agree with @bandage . It looked to me like COC was happy to keep pulling Small on top of him. Couple of times small went to get up and keep going and O’Connor hauled him back down.

He gave Small’s head a right bang off the Croke Park turf when pulling him back down at one stage. I was worried corn Small’s well being.

That would cause Connolly’s tackle on Vaughan to fit that criteria too. Vaughan was running for the return ball and Connolly shouldered him from behind and knocked him down. To be honest, I wouldn’t clarify either as being serious enough to warrant the black card, by the letter of the law you could argue both were.

That was some tantrum CO’C threw when he got up off the ground. Any toddler would have been proud of it.

I think that was Dublins last All Ireland for year or 2. They need to find a few more players especially in midfield, reckon this was basticks last year and mccauley is not up to up, a good impact sub. It was good seeing Costello step up yesterday, hopefully he will push on and claim a starting place for next year. More competition is needed.

Spot on. Although Jack McCaffrey coming back would be a good boost. What’s the story with O Carroll?

That fucking idiot woman from Mayo deleriously waving at the camera after O’Connor missed the free that lost the final. What a clown, she should never get a match ticket again.

O Carroll won’t be back next year as far as i know

Connolly is an alright sort.

Women shouldn’t be allowed next or near an AI final

What the fook, I just liked two of @Nembo_Kid posts

Unforgivable

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knVum5U8egg

Clutch.

Seems to be done with it for now anyway.

On the rollover from yest and bamboozled but:

Smally should have went for deliberate trip
Lee Keegan POTY and no way is that a black card.
Cillian O’Connor is a useless whiny cunt.
Aidan O’Shea should be dropped.
Heard the O’Sheas demanded Hennelly should start cos Seamie knows his kickouts. The losing of the match in my opinion.
Cormack Costello is box office but needs to get with ‘the process’ and stop acting the eejit.

Did I mention I was bamboozled?

Will there be a few retirees with Dublin?

Guys like Flynn and Brogan shouldn’t be starters anymore. Brogan is still the kind of player who can make an impact but I’m not sure if Flynn is the type who can change and game coming on, he seems a bit of a slow starter in games who needs to feel his way into them.

I think Dublin are light in the half forward line, they play guys like Andrews, McManaman, Mannion etc out there when they are more inside players. Have they any real promising half forwards about? That Basquel lad looked good for Ballyboden last year? I think they need to starting blooding in new guys to the forward line.