It was my understanding he’s spent most of his time on the wing?
De Burca has been playing centre back, no?
They may have swapped alright now that I think about it. But he certainly was there for a large part of first half. I was in & out after h-t
In and out of consciousness? Dé Burca played centre back all through the league.
Other than that I agree with you.
But then, why is the best centre back in the country playing wing back? o_O
[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1138624, member: 706”]In and out of consciousness? Dé Burca played centre back all through the league.
Other than that I agree with you.[/QUOTE]
I’m purely on about final.
As you suggest, either way don’t move him.
Good point. This McGrath lad is some bluffer.
Yeah, Gleeson’s been at wing-back throughout the league. Tbh, I think he’s a bit loose in tracking the runners and while he’s great facing the ball, he could add a lot in attack. With someone of the calibre of Darragh Fives to come back, a really strong defender, I’d definitely move Gleeson into attack.
Fives is an outstanding hurler but unfortunately is v injury prone and always has been, has done v little hurling this past while and also missed the league but I do think gleeson would be better utilised at say wing forward, he does have scores in him…I’m still not convinced about Shane Fives and Barry Coughlan either, Fives looks unsure of himself and I have a feeling he’ll be taken to the cleaners some day, I hope I’m wrong. Coughlan has had a lot of protection and tends to foul a lot when exposed he is more of a stopper than a hurler. Mahony is a massive massive loss, he was playing his best hurling in years and he rarely misses a dead ball which is huge to a team.
Waterford are maybe a year or so shy of really winning an AI but they are coming and Derek McGrath is the best man to take them there, the abuse he got off his own the last few years was sickening, disgruntled westies after scully Ryan was shown the door, I’m delighted for McGrath, Westmeath is Scullys level and is doing quite well with them. Looking forward to the future with the deise hurlers, wouldn’t fear any county at the minute.
[QUOTE=“Sam Swarek, post: 1138749, member: 2293”]Fives is an outstanding hurler but unfortunately is v injury prone and always has been, has done v little hurling this past while and also missed the league but I do think gleeson would be better utilised at say wing forward, he does have scores in him…I’m still not convinced about Shane Fives and Barry Coughlan either, Fives looks unsure of himself and I have a feeling he’ll be taken to the cleaners some day, I hope I’m wrong. Coughlan has had a lot of protection and tends to foul a lot when exposed he is more of a stopper than a hurler. Mahony is a massive massive loss, he was playing his best hurling in years and he rarely misses a dead ball which is huge to a team.
Waterford are maybe a year or so shy of really winning an AI but they are coming and Derek McGrath is the best man to take them there, the abuse he got off his own the last few years was sickening, disgruntled westies after scully Ryan was shown the door, I’m delighted for McGrath, Westmeath is Scullys level and is doing quite well with them. Looking forward to the future with the deise hurlers, wouldn’t fear any county at the minute.[/QUOTE]
Yeah I wouldn’t have ye down as AI contenders yet, maybe a couple of forwards (Patrick Curran & Shane Bennett) off that, but you’re definitely headed in the right direction. Got a system that suits the players that you have and we’ll see how you go in the Championship. Not going to be an easy touch anyway.
I like Shane Fives myself, I think he’s a good hurler and Coughlan may foul a lot, but I imagine there are some instructions to foul rather than have someone go through on goal. And they system protects individual backs as much as possible, which is probably what you need. Does any team have a strong full-back? Limerick with Richie Mc & Dublin with Peter Kelly… are they any others? McInerney/Dillon are fine hurlers, but are they great full-backs; Kilkenny might turn to Joey Holden now, Tipp might have James Barry there, he’s decent enough in fairness. Point is that there aren’t many top-class full-backs about, it’s a very tough position to play and Waterford’s system is better than most in coping with that.
Which game did you see ?
Conor Ryan is the best no 6 in the country right now
Paudie Maher is and its not even close
Do you by any chance know of a lad by the name of Lee Murphy playing for Cobh/Imokilly ?
Ah for ffs sake, get a fucking grip. Multiple better centre backs than that thumper.
Name them
Conor Ryan, De Burca, Rush, Kelly and your own O’Mahony. Maher is the best 7 in the game, easily found out when in the middle.
Galway 2-18 Clare 0-19
Result from Ennis challenge this evening. Pinch of salt but promising all the same.
[QUOTE=“Big Mick McCarthy, post: 1137939, member: 1137”]They played a Clare second string in Gort last week for a pitch opening.
They play again some night this week. Assume both will be full strength as it is probably both sides last game before championship[/QUOTE]
how do you think Clare will do in munster this year?..