All-Ireland SHC Quarter-finals 2017

These games will be played in Cork as separate fixtures on Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd July.

Bye Bye Clare, btw.

I wouldn’t disagree with that. Indeed I’m sure neither Clare nor Tipperary would have an issue with Limerick. But politics will take precedence here.

I think Wexford should walk it. Lee Chin for HOTY. Waterford are at nothing and McGrath hasn’t a clue. Wexford hammered Kilkenny and Waterford were lucky to get out with their lives on Saturday night. Look at the pedigree in that Wexford team, three in a row Leinster u21’s, an AI winning manager, sons of AI winners and the best supporters and strawberries in Ireland! Only one winner here lads…

Thinly veiled Waterford by 15 (fifteen )

Thinly veiled try-hard alert, more like.

I don’t think O’Hanlon is fast enough for Gleeson. Canning suited O’Hanlon down to the ground and I expected that man-marking assignment (CE) but I need to think about the Gleeson conundrum for a few days. As an aside, it’s funny how the media have their sacred cows. O’Hanlon outplayed Canning comprehensively and the Monday morning reports were full of “mature display by Canning”, “didn’t try to do it all by himself” etc etc.

Unfortunately Conor McDonald isn’t blessed with pace and Coughlan in both last year’s League and All Ireland quarter finals was able to maul, hold, disrupt safe in the knowledge that De Burca was close at hand. Coughlan is limited but McDonald wasn’t able to get much change out of him because of that (and the shite ball in). That said McDonald has spent most of this season in the half forward line so he might be coming up against someone else anyway. We’re also distributing the ball much better, albeit we messed up a bit in the Leinster Final.

They were completely dominant in the middle section of the field last year and had much more bodies in there to claim possession but Davy should have us set up better tactically at least.

I’d be a bit worried about the discrepancy in pace with that match up… don’t think it will happen

edit: I see Bandage has already made the point

Incorrect, Canning held him to two points.

As a season ticket holder I am guaranteed a ticket wherever this is played. A good ticket at that.

+1. You had a smashing spot on Saturday pal.

I was behind the KK section that was low down. There were KK “supporters” leaving with ten minutes to go

Absolutely smashing. Halfway line

I was very glad that I stayed until the end. It will be on of the GAA moments of the year seeing the sense of relief and joy on the faces of Waterford folk as they left the ground

@padjo Maybe so but Hanlon is deceptively quick. He might be put to curb Moran’s influence either I suppose.

Will any of the U21s push for the starting line up the next day?

How much did that set you back? Entitled to a ticket or entitled to purchase one?

1. I went for the club+ option which guarantees a final ticket should your county qualify regardless of attendance and free entry to club games. Regular ticket is 70 I think but you need 60% attendance to get a final ticket.

Entitlement to buy is what I have now. First round ticket was free. After that you pay. But it takes all the hassle out of sourcing tickets. And I could bring a friend if I had one.

How much is the club+?

That’s for nothing in fairness especially if a fella went to a lot of club games. Great scheme

Put Guiney in FF and watch him do a Brian Geary impression on the Blaa’s.
Coughlan is woefully poor and if he is properly targeted the WX can plunder plenty of goals.

In saying all that, WD probably have too much big game experience compared to WX and I’d imagine they will win by 3 or 4 pts in the end.

De Burca won’t let Coughlan be destroyed. Much better players than Guiney have gone in full forward against Waterford and got nothing