Full-time: Laois 0-15 Carlow 0-14
Lovely stuff. Had KK -3 and Carlow +5.
Ah lovely
Tough game as scoreline suggests with Maher very important for Laois again. By the sounds of the other semi final we’ll be up against the wall in the final, but fuck it, thats for another day, this is another massive boost to Laois hurling. We’ll enjoy this for now and look to Sunday and the minors.
It should be noted that our attempts to clone JJ Delaney have been pretty successful thus far.
:guns:
It seems Galway made Kilkenny angry last Sunday. Should the unlikely happen, how long has it been since Kilkenny failed to win one of the big 3 hurling titles in Leinster?
23 years
jj delaney is one of the finest players that has ever hurled. richie doyle is a young lad who is trying to find his feet. this nonsense is a great help to anyone who comes up against him and no help at all to the young man himself.
right now all that richie doyle has done is survive a few games where he was supported by a dominant experienced core of team mates.
This may be more difficult that we imagined :strokechin:
It was a joke. They look similar.
Good jaysus.
Best of luck MBB. It’ll give me no pleasure to see us wipe the floor with ye. Kinda.
Kilkenny V Laois Leinster U-21 Hurling Championship Final 2012
Dylan Walsh (Thomastown)
Jason Corcoran (John Lockes)
Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin)
Brian Kennedy (St. Lachtains)
Luke Harney (Kilmacow)
Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers)
Joe Lyng (Rower/Inistioge)
Geoff Brennan (St.Patricks)
Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
Kevin Kelly (St. Patricks) (Capt.)
Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
Walter Walsh (Tullogher/Rosbercon)
John Power (Carrickshock)
Ger Aylward (Glenmore)
Subs
Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Owen McGrath (John Lockes)
Cathal Kenny (Barrow Rangers)
Ian Duggan (Mullinavat)
Pat O’Carroll (Lisdowney)
Martin Gaffney (Dicksboro)
Paul Buggy (Tullaroan)
James Cassin (Rower/Inistioge)
Michael Brennan (St.Patricks)
James Gannon (St.Patricks)
John Power anytime goalscorer 13/8 Boyles
Walter White Walsh anytime goalscorer 5/4 Boyles
Cheers CLD, wouldnt enjoy a trimming either. Would settle for a competitive scoreline at this stage, something not to take the gloss off a good year for us at Minor and U21 relatively speaking. We’re in A Forristal this year, Portlaoise won a Div 2 Feile and our U15s and U16s are knocking big names up and down the country, a decent showing of sorts tonight would be a huge boost.
Still, if it were Dublin they’d be rated so we’re there on merit. Fuck it, drive and see what happens.
Am I right in thinking there are no city players on this KK team
Dicksboro’s in the city, is it not?
Is St Lachtain’s?
Lachtains is Freshford I thought
There are 3 city teams.
James Stephens [St. Patrick’s Parish - roughly]
Dicksboro [St. Canice’s parish - roughly]
O’Loughlins [St. John’s parish - roughly]
When I was growing up James Stephens and Dicksboro were the big two and O’Loughlins were lagging behind.
Dicksboro are the ones lagging now but have some good young players and could be a force in the coming years.
Dicksboro would be alright. Also noteworthy thats theres not one Canice named, that should please some people who have an issue with such things I’m sure.
Near enough a 50/50 split between the south and the north on the starting team - 8 from the south and 7 from the north.
'Mon the south!
'Mon d’Lockes!
MBB asked earlier, 1989 was the last time we won nothing in Leinster at Minor, U21 and Senior grade.
I’m worried about tonight. Tight pitch, Laois on a high at underage, KK as a county deflated about our senior team and nothing coming through with our minors. I can see a shock on the cards here.
KK by 10
Thanks chaps. I was mixing up O’Loughlin’s and St Lachtain’s. How amusing! :lol:
Cathal Moore seems like absolutely great laugh.
Kilkenny have scored 1-4 in the first 4 minutes.
Boom!