2-10 to 0-3 after 17 minutes. Goals by Aylward and Power - both created by Walsh. This could end up anything.
MBB’s crowd have us right where they want us.
All bad jokes aside, a Kilkenny backlash was bound to happen.
You have 2 lads on the team there who played on Sunday.
You have 2 more who have brothers who started on Sunday.
Kilkenny is not all that big and the hurling community is smaller again. A loss like that is taken personally by everyone involved in hurling in the county. Today was the first opportunity for Kilkenny hurling to respond.
This could really be anything. 'Hon -25 and at least one more goal hopefully for Walter.
This is a very skilfull 21 side but not the strongest I’ve seen physically. Noone will want to meet them but a strong side with more hurling will trouble them.
Feel sorry for laois, foyle looks a bit of a leader which is one for the future!
[quote=“cluaindiuic, post: 664203”]
All bad jokes aside, a Kilkenny backlash was bound to happen.
You have 2 lads on the team there who played on Sunday.
You have 2 more who have brothers who started on Sunday.
Kilkenny is not all that big and the hurling community is smaller again. A loss like that is taken personally by everyone involved in hurling in the county. Today was the first opportunity for Kilkenny hurling to respond.
This could really be anything. 'Hon -25 and at least one more goal hopefully for Walter.
[/quote] yes indeed. This is the back lash from Sunday because ye are all cousins in kilkenny. Get to fuck will you. If ye beat Galway forty points the result would have been the same. Kilkenny will be in their first game of the year when they play Galway. If they get over that they will be red hot favourites because Galway have a very good outfit. Having seen both teams i would make Galway slight favourites.
Clare are evens to win Munster u21, fucking ridiculous
Result maybe. It’s hard to say the start would be like that. They had 2-10 in 17 minutes.
For fuck sake
Sup bro. Edgy ahead of Limerick beating ye?
Top tipping from CLD here
I was 3/5. Not bad.
It would have been better if Walter got a goal.
What do you make of him? Seems to tick all the boxes - size, power, pace, vision etc.
Just once couldnt it be summer?
Yeah, his only problem is his ball striking technique is a bit awkward. I’d like to see him given a good chance in the League next year. Aylward looked very good tonight. 2-5 from play is impressive in a 60 minute game.
walsh has a lot going for him but the sheer shitness of laoises defence made him look far quicker than he actually is. push him on to his left in tighter spaces and he will be forced to handpass.
aylward looks a real prospect though. good solid player with lots of pace, something kilkennys forwards could do with at senior.
moving lyng out wing back is a good move. he is outstanding in the air but is slow to turn, not great in a corner back but fine at wing back to an extent. the kilkenny half back line looked very dominant but laoise and wexford have both been appalling
willie phelan is a solid full back but i think he is very vulnerable to pace. he is inclined to let his man go and sit on the 21 a bit once he goes outside 30 yards from goals. the goalkeeper wouldnt inspire you with confidence either. made some pretty silly mistakes
all in all kilkenny are moving along nicely but is it a kilkenny 2011 hammer all in sight type of ticking over or a hammer dublin in 2012 becasue they are sh1t kind of thing with galway waiting to test them. that will be a great game. maybe a portlaoise double header with the munster ulster match?
desperate stuff. laoises players looked slow and leaden footed but most disapointing they seemed to have no plan to try to sit deep and protect the full back line. kilkenny clearly looked at laoises games and targetted vulnerabilitys in the full back line and prepared to exploit them. laoise seemed to pick the best 15 they had and sent them out. it wouldnt have mattered anyway but a bit of negativity early on and give away frees instead of allowing lads to tear in on goals might have been no harm.
having said that i wouldnt be too critical of a team that have never played at this level both on and off the field before. at least they kept going in the second half. they need to start identifying a more athletic type of player though. too many laoise lads were big one paced lads
Part of the problem there is that the football clubs and development squads will almost always get the outstanding athletes in a county like Laois. You need success first to start changing that.
FFS at least have the decency to spell the county name right. Give us that much.
We are working off a different level to the top tier counties and absolutely stratospherically different to the likes of Kilkenny. The work is being done, Laois U15s bt Kilkennys U15s yesterday 2-12 to 0-5, using athletic young strong players. Now we all know Kilkenny pick and shuffle their underage dev squads, but the results have been there at U14/15/16 this year, combined with Forristal B wins over the last number of years to show the change is coming. This set of hurlers may appear limited to you on this your obe viewing of them but they brought pride and passion to a Laois hurling jersey this year, something sadly lacking in the last 2/3 years since Rigney left. They were always going to be up against it and the decision to leave Duggan a sweeper backfired hugely in the first 15 mins but at least they didnt roll over and die, they could have, other Laois sides have. Being honest, the writing was probably on the wall when Kilenny ceded home advantage but fair play to them, it was an appreciated gesture nonetheless.
Its been a good year for hurling development this year and that was before these players raised things with their 2 wins on the way to this final. We’ll pick up a few out of it, Burke, Freeman, Maher, Dunphy and King who impressed me and of course Foyle who is 3 years a senior now. We’ll keep at the work, theres life in hurling in Laois, dont doubt it.
The other downside last night was to see that useless cunt of a Teddy Mc there, try to cling on Teddy, but I hope to fuck you’re out on your ear in a matter of weeks.
[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 664217”]
Part of the problem there is that the football clubs and development squads will almost always get the outstanding athletes in a county like Laois. You need success first to start changing that.[/quote]
No offence wtb but your knowledge of recent underage football development squads in Laois is a bit limited I’d say. Critchley has revolutionised the hurling scene with his setanta programs, football on the other hand has gone to shit since 2005, witness recent underage performances in football culminating in a truly horrific showing recently against Cork ‘B’ at U16 level. Abysmal. Hurling is becoming far more attractive, partly due to Critchley and partly due to football mismanagement.
Should be two cracking games in Munster later this week. Have a sneaking feeling that Tipp might edge out Limerick