All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship - 2014

People going on about Dowling are beginning to give me a pain in the hole.

He’s a young lad playing an amateur sport. He is not a world beater but he has already won Harty Cup, a Munster u-21 medal, a Munster senior medal and a couple of Munster club medals. He helped Limerick win a big championship game as recently as 5 days ago.

Lay off him for ffs. Players being analysed as if they are full time pro’s. “what if teams don’t foul?” :rolleyes:

i think its simply instinct.
donovan dillon and mcinerney who were the first choice full back line are all converts. mc was a forward and the other two were half backs so they are not reading what is a goal chance early enough i feel.

if a player is coming through you should always go towards them i think and make them pass. the next man has to leave his opponent and pick up yours. you are trying to create a situation where more passes are needed which increases the chances of the move breaking down and even at that the last man inside can be tackled by the goal keeper in general. for example if a player is coming down the right side of the goals an opponent on the left should generally be left free as he is the hardest player to reach with a pass

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 955945, member: 1552”]People going on about Dowling are beginning to give me a pain in the hole.

He’s a young lad playing an amateur sport. He is not a world beater but he has already won Harty Cup, a Munster u-21 medal, a Munster senior medal and a couple of Munster club medals. He helped Limerick win a big championship game as recently as 5 days ago.

Lay off him for ffs. Players being analysed as if they are full time pro’s. “what if teams don’t foul?” :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

fair point

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 955945, member: 1552”]People going on about Dowling are beginning to give me a pain in the hole.

Lay off him for ffs. Players being analysed as if they are full time pro’s. “what if teams don’t foul?” :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

Why have him and the teams he has played for bottled it when it comes to All irelands?

So everyone who has won provincial medals and not won an AI has bottled it?

Clown. The lad has already won a hell of a lot more than most players finish their career with.

Might surprise you but sometimes in sport the other team is just better - Loughiel, Portumna, Galway u-21’s in 2011 etc.

“if a player is coming through you should always go towards them i think and make them pass”
its easy known you were a forward. you should always wait (as a defender) until the last moment, if you rush out you make the decision for him, quick pass inside and score, probably goal. if you wait, it makes the forward think about what to do, this will put him into 2 minds, shoot or wait for space to pass…a lot can go wrong when forwards have to make split second decisions. Defend the goal give up the point.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 955964, member: 1552”]So everyone who has won provincial medals and not won an AI has bottled it?

.[/QUOTE]

No, but the lad has played on a number of sides who have fallen short once they have gotten out of Munster. ASR twice, NAP twice, the Limerick 21s and the seniors last year, 6 times in the space of 3 or four seasons. Seems a bit much to be coincidental - maybe it is just the Limerick psyche

Yeah, it’s all his fault they never went on to win an AI in all 6 instances.

We’ll ignore the Clare manager in charge for both club AI semi final defeats and the numerous Clare lads on both losing Ard Scoil Ris sides.

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 955970, member: 553”]“if a player is coming through you should always go towards them i think and make them pass”
its easy known you were a forward. you should always wait (as a defender) until the last moment, if you rush out you make the decision for him, quick pass inside and score, probably goal. if you wait, it makes the forward think about what to do, this will put him into 2 minds, shoot or wait for space to pass…a lot can go wrong when forwards have to make split second decisions. Defend the goal give up the point.[/QUOTE]

the problem is not that we are waiting to go its that we are not going at all, thats the point.
teams are being allowed run at us until they are in goal scoring positions

opponents are meeting their first challenge from the front when they are reaching the 21

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 955972, member: 1552”]Yeah, it’s all his fault they never went on to win an AI in all 6 instances.

We’ll ignore the Clare manager in charge for both club AI semi final defeats and the numerous Clare lads on both losing Ard Scoil Ris sides.[/QUOTE]

not blaming him for all six, but it is an awful lot of appearances to fall short. can’t be good for a lad to have so many days like that behind him. IIRC correctly he had to be switched out of centre forward with Hannon in one of them Croke Cup finals and ASR came roaring back into it after Hannon started running at Kieran’s only for them to lose to a last minute goal. he also pointed a last minute close in free against Galway when they were 2 down. Don’t think he has scored a point from play in either of the club A/I semi finals he has played in either

Dowling had played 70 hard minutes on Sunday, scoring 2-9, he was more than entitled to his few pints with the winning squad on Sunday night. He was then expected to win a match for the 21’s against a far superior outfit on the Wednesday night. He had a poor game, but he tried his hole off. This happens. We’ll be glad of him before the end of the summer.

its not a problem, it happened once v Tipp in the league semi final when Conor Ryan was caught completely flat footed by some exceptional skill which would ne very hard to re-produce. You’ve been banging on about it since. FB should always hold shape and force a decision, this isn’t like offside in soccer. There is no issue here. Our FB line is susceptible to high ball where they have a tendency to disrupt forward rather than control (catch/bat) and as a consequence the breaking ball sometime breaks to the on rushing HF. That’s where we have conceded most of the goals and 21s/pen from which goals came

He played midfield in a storm against Portumna and hurled a world of ball against Joe Canning. You are snatching for pessimism here pal. Has to be good that he was won so much, for a 20 year old.

He was an excellent underage player, no doubt about that. Saw him play Dean Ryan when he was 14 or 15 and he looked a future I/C hurler. But I think due to his size and lack of workrate i don’t think he will progress to be anything other than an average enough I/C hurler (freetaking aside).

Like I said I am not saying any of them defeats were his fault but with real top quality hurlers it is cometh the moment, cometh the man. He has had some fine performances for ASR in the harty, and Limerick underage in Munster but like i say teams he has been on have gotten out of Munster but not pushed on. That second ASR team he was on were more than good enough especially

[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 955935, member: 1533”]A failing of theirs or are they directed to do this? I don’t like carrying a player just for frees, but whatever about frees, Dowlings conversion rate of 21s to goals is worth carrying.[/QUOTE]Dowling great at frees but everyone has a great freetaker

His not the

Dowling great but he can be marcked

[QUOTE=“Joe Player, post: 956004, member: 2692”]His not the

Dowling great but he can be marcked[/QUOTE]
Ye can mark him all ye like if he’s still banging in 21s against ye Joe! :cool:

[QUOTE=“chewy louie, post: 955982, member: 1137”]He was an excellent underage player, no doubt about that. Saw him play Dean Ryan when he was 14 or 15 and he looked a future I/C hurler. But I think due to his size and lack of workrate i don’t think he will progress to be anything other than an average enough I/C hurler (freetaking aside).

Like I said I am not saying any of them defeats were his fault but with real top quality hurlers it is cometh the moment, cometh the man. He has had some fine performances for ASR in the harty, and Limerick underage in Munster but like i say teams he has been on have gotten out of Munster but not pushed on. That second ASR team he was on were more than good enough especially[/QUOTE]

You are saying it isn’t his fault and then saying if he was good enough they should be converting those Munster victories if he was a man… make up your mind. The guy is 20, has all the talent required to make a serious inter county career for himself, had a significant contribution to beating Tipp in Thurles and still cunts are moaning. We’ve had a famine of talent in the forwards for a generation and we get the likes of Hannon, Dowling and Downes and still they are berated.

Maybe if he pulled up the collar and hit a few mane belts like Houla, or opened the shoulders and drove it 80 yards every time like Rasher fellas would have more time for him.

He’ll win us another match yet this year.

Fuck the 21s we want senior

21 yard frees Joe, ye’re seniors give away a lot of them…