that was only a training session Pal
Agree with all that but, in fairness, it should be pointed out that he didn’t drink on Sunday night.
Fair play to him. I thought he would have had a sup with the lads, if he didn’t he deserves even more credit.
Correct. I meant to point this out also.
[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 956009, member: 2695”]You are saying it isn’t his fault and then saying if he was good enough they should be converting those Munster victories if he was a man… make up your mind. The guy is 20, has all the talent required to make a serious inter county career for himself, had a significant contribution to beating Tipp in Thurles and still cunts are moaning. We’ve had a famine of talent in the forwards for a generation and we get the likes of Hannon, Dowling and Downes and still they are berated.
Maybe if he pulled up the collar and hit a few mane belts like Houla, or opened the shoulders and drove it 80 yards every time like Rasher fellas would have more time for him.
He’ll win us another match yet this year.[/QUOTE]
I suppose my point is that he is somehwhat overrated and while he has given some good performances he is not as good as some think. Fair enough to be part of a couple of sides that have fallen short of A/I succes but surely he should have been the catalyst one of these sides to win an A/I. Instead him and these sides have failed to delivery. Great players become great because they do it consistently on the big days.
Doubt he will ever fulfill the full potential he showed in his teens as a senior. But he has more Munster medals than most, pretty much sums it up
Ah Bollox… John Mullane, Ken McGrath, Brick Walsh, Gary Kirby, Ciaran Carey never won an All Ireland. Are they not great players?
He is 20. He’ll win one yet.
Is there a point in having an under-21 championship if so many players on
senior panels now are under-21
[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 956037, member: 2695”]Ah Bollox… John Mullane, Ken McGrath, Brick Walsh, Gary Kirby, Ciaran Carey never won an All Ireland. Are they not great players?
He is 20. He’ll win one yet.[/QUOTE]
Time will tell. when Dowling has performed to a consistently excellent standard for a decade at I/C level you can compare him to the above
grand so, don’t write him off until then… give this Limerick team a chance lads, they are made of the right stuff
So frees are going to see ye win:clap:
[QUOTE=“Joe Player, post: 956061, member: 2692”]So frees are going to see ye win:clap:[/QUOTE]Do you think they don’t count on the scoreboard Joe?
No but missing handy ones will guarantee you lose.
joe is fucking cleaning the house here:popcorn:
[QUOTE=“chewy louie, post: 956032, member: 1137”]I suppose my point is that he is somehwhat overrated and while he has given some good performances he is not as good as some think. Fair enough to be part of a couple of sides that have fallen short of A/I succes but surely he should have been the catalyst one of these sides to win an A/I. Instead him and these sides have failed to delivery. Great players become great because they do it consistently on the big days.
Doubt he will ever fulfill the full potential he showed in his teens as a senior. But he has more Munster medals than most, pretty much sums it up[/QUOTE]
As I’ve said before he is the most talented player in limerick IMO. He is currently not playing to his potential, that is true. Let’s not prejudge whether he will deliver on it or not. He has delivered super performances in big games many times in the past.
Your suggestion that teams he was involved in not winning being somehow cumulatively his fault is pretty stupid though.
+1. And he won’t be shooting at that useless tub, Darren Gleeson every day either.
can somebody please put up the utube sideline (v clare) last year and stop all this nonsense
[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 956037, member: 2695”]Ah Bollox… John Mullane, Ken McGrath, Brick Walsh, Gary Kirby, Ciaran Carey never won an All Ireland. Are they not great players?
He is 20. He’ll win one yet.[/QUOTE]
They were all great players, but they all fell short on the big day.
Joe is the poster Kid Chocolate could have if he didn’t drink so much craft beer.
Brick Walsh never fell short Fagan, neither did Mullane