You couldn’t make it up, pal.
Gooch is one of the most protected forward in history. The disgraceful performance of him diving and the ref buying it in 09 final was last straw I think. Alot of refs seem to take less of Gooch’s bull shit since and he’s not as pampered.
Donaghy is a joke for mouthing. But it’s arguably a bit more justified than Gooch.
[quote=“kerry1891, post: 743849, member: 1379”]now now scumpot - let the Gooch alone and focus on the soft frees the dubs get instead!! The Gooch would be delighted as would any other county if their top forward got the handy free Bernard Brogan got in the dying seconds a year or two ago to bt Kildare. Do you remember that one? And the free ye got to win the all ireland in 2011 was in the handy catergory plus the imaginary free for eoin brosnan handling the ball on the ground when he actually used his leg not his hand. Plus most counties when they have their leading forward sent off in an all ireland final dont get away with leaving him on the field for a few mins afterwards i.e Charlie Redmond. The Dubs got a nice helping hand to get over the line in their last all ireland wins.
And for every handy free Gooch got off Anthony Lynch there was plenty more he didnt get that he should have.[/quote]
decisions?..how about tadgh kennelly on nicholas murphy 2009???..
Redmond one is pathetic…he didn’t even touch the ball for the minutes he was left on FFS…
You’re right Brogan foul was wrong but being at the match and seeing what was going on,the ref had let Mcloughlin do so much holding without giving a free he finally caved…and the one time he blew for a free was the one time it wasn’t…
whats your memory like on Seamus moynihan’s marking of Colin Corkery in semi final in 2001 i think it was…I’d be very interested in a view from ‘a kerry purist’ because to me watching from the stands i have never seen a player have his jersey pulled so much off the ball without getting a free…
you can’t deny Gooch is the most protected forwrad in the game…
Gooch is definitely the biggest moaning gowl i have ever seen on the field. Great talent, but an awful cry baby.
Donaghy is not too far behind him. After seeing what he was up to in the 2011 All Ireland final removed any admiration I had for him.
[quote=“scumpot, post: 743899, member: 182”]decisions?..how about tadgh kennelly on nicholas murphy 2009???..
Redmond one is pathetic…he didn’t even touch the ball for the minutes he was left on FFS…
You’re right Brogan foul was wrong but being at the match and seeing what was going on,the ref had let Mcloughlin do so much holding without giving a free he finally caved…and the one time he blew for a free was the one time it wasn’t…
whats your memory like on Seamus moynihan’s marking of Colin Corkery in semi final in 2001 i think it was…I’d be very interested in a view from ‘a kerry purist’ because to me watching from the stands i have never seen a player have his jersey pulled so much off the ball without getting a free…
you can’t deny Gooch is the most protected forwrad in the game…[/quote]
u seem to spend a lot of time in the stands looking at kerry players fouling yet never seem to spot a kerry player being fouled!
was this the match where big Colin was pushed around by a man half his size? scroll down the page
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16424.285
did u c that one ? surely seen as u watch Seamus so closely to observe foul play.
Cooper didnt get a free for this one! scroll to the end of page
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055935516&page=15
most protected player in the game ?? no sign of match officials helping him out with derek kavanagh in that pic and wasnt a whole pile of protection when Peter Canavan pinned him to the ground in the closing stages in an all ireland final
everyone knows Tadhgeen should have got the line in 2009 but sure Ger Brennan could easily have gone in 2011. The old dublin trick of concussing kerry players in all ireland finals e.g sean doherty on mickey ned in 1975
FFA, that’s a shit load of effort to go to try and prove Gooch didn’t get favorable decisions. Anyone can find a couple of incidents where je did not get a free, he’s played god knows how many championship games as the best forward in one of the best teams over last 10-12 years. It does not support sufficiently any counter argument though a there are so many times when he acted the cunt, dived and got sift frees. Jesus that Kerry team were a dislikable bunch.
It wasnt that much effort at all lad - took about 20 seconds. Tell me this. The year in croke Park Cork resorted to shaking the goalposts when kerry were taking frees - was that a tactic for all frees or just a protest everytime they deemed Gooch to have got a handy one??
That kerry team a dislikeable bunch? I dont agree though I am prepared for others here to reply otherwise! But look they d win a popularity contest with any of the Cork All Ireland Winning teams of recent vintage. And at least kerry teams are liked within their own county. In Cork many of the SIPTU era are despised outside Cork and not even liked within Cork.
Unlike the older Cork teams who were quite popular - JBM, John Fenton, John Fitzgibbon, Tony O’Sullivan, Teddy Mc, The Cashmans et al were all quite popular and even when successful people didnt turn on them. They were good winners, good losers and generally admired for the skill, ability, achievements, sportsmanship
I agree with pretty much everything you day bar anything about Gooch. You speak alot of truth other than that. But this particular discussion is about Kerry, not Cork so I don’t see the revelance.
Fair enough Caoimhaoin,
When Cork lads have a go off Kerry lads i tend to direct them back to the issues in their own camp to get them off the high moral ground. Its a tactic of mine!
I think the Gooch gets too hard a time from you and others- i have witnessed him pulled and dragged all over the place and get no frees. If he gets a handy one every now and again I d argue it well coming to him. We will probably have to agree to disagree on that one.
Paidi Se last summer commented on certain kerry players being out of order moaning to refs and needing to cop on. I think he mentioned Donaghy. Certain kerry players need to cop on in this respect. People say kerry are no longer purists which is true but I d argue they are not cynical enough. Not many teams would have allowed Kevin McMenamin saunter through for that goal in 2011. He would have been hauled to the ground. Spilled milk at this stage so no use in crying about it.
Be interesting to see how a kerry v cork would fare out in a croke park clash this year. Kerry are fucked in the medium term but there could be a few big performances left in them this summer.
Nah, Gooch is a moaning cunt. Give ip football if you don’t expect a bit of attention as a forward.
He got away with murder and it’s pretty well known his performance and that of Duffy’s was noted by alot if ref’s in 09. You’ll motive he has been “more hard done by” since. In another sport Duffy would never again get a big game.
But that’s not sour grapes, I have always maintained Kerry were the smarter team that day an Tommy Walsh won the game for them, despite a verydecent respectable performance from
shields. He was brilliant.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 744835, member: 273”]Nah, Gooch is a moaning cunt. Give ip football if you don’t expect a bit of attention as a forward.
He got away with murder and it’s pretty well known his performance and that of Duffy’s was noted by alot if ref’s in 09. You’ll motive he has been “more hard done by” since. In another sport Duffy would never again get a big game.
But that’s not sour grapes, I have always maintained Kerry were the smarter team that day an Tommy Walsh won the game for them, despite a verydecent respectable performance from
shields. He was brilliant.[/quote]
kerry could make the same argument re Joe McQuillan after 2011, Caoimhin!!
Tadhgie Kenneally was a key player in the 2009 final too Caoimhin. He kicked two points, a serious amount of ball went through his hands and he kept Canty on the back foot most of the day. Of course he should have been sent off after 2 mins. Cork let him off light that day. If they stuck into him after he hit Nick Murphy worse case scenario was a red card for Tadhgie and a cork player and it would probably have just been two yellows. Not one Cork player even said boo to him!!!
We could do with Tommy back! If Conor Counihan could turn the clock back I am sure he would have started Cadogan and put him on Walsh???
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 744835, member: 273”]Nah, Gooch is a moaning cunt. Give ip football if you don’t expect a bit of attention as a forward.
shields. He was brilliant.[/quote]
A small number of cork folk dont apply your logic re top forwards getting attention when it comes to JBM and football!! They blame the bit of attention from kerry backs as forcing JBM into retirement from football. Not fair in my opinion - jez i am sure he came across plenty of attention in the hurling!!
JBM is a legend by the way.
Woz he a better footballer or hurler in your opinion Caoimhaoin?
He was a great player with Cork but jez imagine how good he would have been in that kerry forward line of 1975 - 1986 period
There is absolutely no cOmparision in what Demihan got away with compared to any footballer playing now. Different times I know but Jimmy probably wouldn’t be good enough these days.
JBM was probably equal in terms of ability. But he was a bigger loss to Cork football than he would have been to hurling. He struggled in 86 in hurling.
I only saw him with the Barrs play football but I would suggest in the modern game he’d be up there with Gooch.
‘Tadhgie’
My word.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 744853, member: 273”]There is absolutely no cOmparision in what Demihan got away with compared to any footballer playing now. Different times I know but Jimmy probably wouldn’t be good enough these days.
JBM was probably equal in terms of ability. But he was a bigger loss to Cork football than he would have been to hurling. He struggled in 86 in hurling.
I only saw him with the Barrs play football but I would suggest in the modern game he’d be up there with Gooch.[/quote]
Jaysus Kev, 86 was his last year after playing inter-county from 75.
I don’t get ya?
He had a good few years before he struggled in 86?
The Wexford GAA twitter feed has just reminded me of that fucking stupid slogan being used by Allianz for the league this year.
Unexpect The Expected.
Why not just say Expect The Unexpected?
There’s no such word as unexpect.
Cunts.