Was he the fella who clipped Tom English?
Canât remember the exact details, it involves prominent rubby players, auctioneers and property developers in a Limerick pub anyway. @LionelRitchie would give you the story. Was supposed to be tasty enough. Up there with a good Willie OâDea row.
Yes he was.
A prize wanker. Was at a wedding he was at and heâs a knob of the highest order. Prattling on about other guests as ânew moneyâ
His oldman fleeced oconnell and ogara. Decked someone in a jacks who was mouthing at him.
Uncle Tom English of BBC Sport Scotland? If so, tell me more.
Thats fuckin fantastic work @Fagan_ODowd .
It goes back to the glory days of the Teds night club in Limerick. Followed a long day of club rugby (drinking) involving a local derby and Patâs beloved Garryowen.
English followed him into the jacks to annoy him about his managerial performance of the Irish Rugby team.
Whelan didnât want to listen to shite.
That probably refers to a later incident (circa 2008) out in the Ardhu Ryan when Chesser ,and Whelan went fisticuffs in connection with the crash and a heap of money lost - included in the investor list (allegedly) was the majority of the then Munster rubby team. This incident with Uncle Tom was about 10 years earlier
I thought all Limerick rugby players were dockers and bricklayers and the like.
He had great longevity as a fighting man fair play to him.
Useless tidbit: He used to live the top of Oconnell Ave, directly across the road from where our President resided as a kid.
Where exactly did our president reside? I thought it was mostly Farranshone area
He still has a massive house on the Avenue, best house on the road by daylight, across from the Gaelscoil. Garden is beautiful, big block of an early 1900s yoke with 16ft high ceilings.
Few doors up from marian nursing home.
Walked past it saturday morning wondering was he still living in there.
Smashing elegant houses there as well in fairness. He has done well all along!
Doesnât seem he went without at any stage for all the failed dealings and fights heâs been through!
Deffo, I see him coming out sometimes on way up from town. Around 2010 time, Iâd hadd about 5 pints in Punches there one day and was walking over to Thomond to meet the cousins at a Heino game. He was coming out the small gate, didnât I only forget myself and ask him was he heading over! He didnât like it one bit. Doesnât really salute me since.
Where is that exactly
Do.you know where the laneway to the barracks is off oconnell ave?