The jury found her innocent of the charges, if the next person is guilty then they will probably find them so, I can’t believe the attitude here, no offence mate but as a self confessed drink driver this is quite rich from you.
Are you of the belief that genuine accidents cannot take place?
I don’t know enough about the circumstances to form an opinion on the girl’s guilt or otherwise, but it seems to me that she hasn’t been taught to drive or the responsibilities associated properly.
I’m a bit perturbed by the wanton attitude to tyre pressure among forumites here also. I check mine at least once a week and always make a point of doing the same on herself’s car as well.
Anyone with a brain and a bit about them would cop a soft tyre after one bend, a learner driver , male or female won’t, bottom line is experience, experience, experience.
Think this is the reason Gardaí want lower speeds etc for learners. Give them a chance to learn.
id pay very little heed now to be honest what lads post on the internet about their private lives and that includes myslelf
regarding the verdict - yes they found her not guilty and it seems that quite a few people dont agree with it, im personally disgusted with the verdict
i cannot see any evidence in the case that points to a malfunction of the vehicle
there was a post above where i broke down the arguments about the NCT ( and lets just face it - if indeed the reasons for the crash were the reason why the car didnt originally have the NCT then yes the owner and driver are liable) and also the argument about the tyres where again no data was presented
in the absence of no data or model that can show equipment failure to be the root cause of the event then I am of the opinion that the behaviour of the driver has to be brought into question, there are 4 people dead to a car she was driving, thats the bottom line- there is no evidence that whatever defect the car had from a lack of NCT was a condtributing factor, there is no data about the tyres, no report of catastrophic engine failure- so yes therefore she has to be found guilty
i find it abhorrent and utterly shocking actually that she was found not guilty of mansalughter
the fact that 4 people are dead in a car she was driving and there has been no plausible reason presented as to how the incident could have been outside her control
now i dont have the data on the rate of change of tyre pressure over time on a slow puncture BUT surely the manufacturers would know and there there most be a model prepared tho to understand that at what pressure a tyre would have to be at to cause a car to drift going at a certain speed?
lets break it down tho
what happens if a tyre pressure is low? id be of the opinion the tyre heats up causing thread separation and a blowout
i saw no commentary that this occurred
if the pressure was low and deceasing on one tyre and the other tyres were good can any explain to me for my benefit how it can cause a car to violently swerve?
I’ve been driving for many years. I’ve got numerous flats in that time. I’ve never known the car to veer off course of its own volition because of a flat.
She got a three year suspended sentence. Entered a guilty plea to the charge of dangerous driving causing death. From recollection at the sentencing hearing, Garda evidence was no speeding or drink involved.
She just drove straight out through a yield sign onto another road. In an area she knew v well. Facts were not disputed. A desperate case and an absolute freak event.
Sorry mate, the garage and the petrol station are the same thing, don’t ye use that in Wexford? That’s what we say anyway ‘pull into the garage there for a cup of cofffee’ etc etc