Another horrific accident in Donegal

I don’t mean to go too hard on the driver, but he was done two years ago for dangerous driving. Also from his point of view, to drive at the speed he did with that many people in the car amounted to taking those lad’s lives in his hands.

I have been in cars that have been overcrowded so I wouldn’t blame the lads for getting in, but in all cases the driver drove with extra caution not with complete abandon as this guy appeared to do. A car flashed him for overtaking dangerously and going to too fast - incredible when you have 8 people in a car.

but people have and got away with it, but how do you stop people from doing it in the first place. and dont say you always listened when you were 18 or then on bet you knew best. not my attitude has to change .it has i am just addmitting have done stupid things when younger.how do you change there attitudes

If 8 people dying in a car accident doesn’t do it then there’s not much that will apart from putting limitters on cars, clamping down on provisional licenses, restricting power of cars to those of a certain age.

A 19 year old died in the west overnight, a foreign national, but still another youngster after dying in a car accident. The cycle continues.

A 16 year old girl died after a car crash in Limerick at the weekend as well. There were 3 other youngsters in the car but they are all ok.

You start when they are 4 and not 15 thats how. This is both up to the state but also parents to do. I have only been to Donegal once but it is frightening the way they drive up there, at all ages. And it is no surprise there are so many accidents up there, the fact that attitudes continue not to change would make you wonder about the IQ levels within the county.

education regulation & prohibition

If everybody cycled there would be a lot less road deaths.

Cycling needs to be stamped out, ASAP.

Expect Jim “off his head drunk and drove the wrong way up a motorway” McDaid to top the poll next time. Idiots.

McDaid is some cunt.

I recall him being on the Late Late Show some time back as part of a ‘victims of road deaths’ show where people in the audience were speaking of family members they lost.

He sat there as brazen as fuck and protrayed himself as a victim.

‘These people have lost family members. I lie awake at night thinking that I could have been responsible for one of their deaths due to my actions. You are seeing both sides of the coin tonight. There are victims on both sides.’

I have driven cars that have been overcrowded, usually to matches or something or other and the one thing I noticed is how slow the car is to respond to steering and breaking. The one thing you cannot do is speed, you have to take it slow so that you give the car plenty of time to respond. It seems in this case and I find this hard to believe that the driver was driving a speed, that is the sad thing, with 8 guys in the car your man still puts the foot down. That is shocking. To think this could have all been avoided as well if the guy had let his girlfriend come and collect him and they could have split the group. :frowning:

I think the only way to stop boy racers and force a reduction in the speed is for speed camera’s, enforcement and maybe tougher punishment for those caught speeding and may be then the message will get through.

Look, there’s no two ways about it, this driver lad needs to go behind bars when he recovers, and for a good stretch too.

Yea, he’ll have to serve some time if the reports are correct. He’ll also need a lot of counselling the poor fucker.

I didn’t know until I read Farmers post that he already had a conviction for dangerous driving. I know the families of the victims are saying all the right things now about not feeling any ill-will towards him but I can imagine as the weeks go on and the hurt continues fingers will eventually start to point in his direction.

[quote=“The Runt, post: 490495”]
I didn’t know until I read Farmers post that he already had a conviction for dangerous driving. [/quote]

:o I didnt know that, must dig out farmers post, I missed it.

Unfortunately Runt there is no one else to blame. The driver drove recklessly with an over loaded car. I heard there was 9th lad and he tried to get into the car as well but there was just no room for him, ya swear yer man was driving a bus. For Fuck sake was there not an ounce of cop on between the lot of them? There are so many ways this could have been avoided, the driver making two trips, the bloke getting his girlfriend to collect him and a couple of his mates, the driver actually taking it easy on the road instead of speeding. All it needed was a bit of common fucking sense. Jaysus the more you think about it the angrier you get thinking about how it could have been avoided.

at least i have a brain to think with ya silly wank…

I’d get that checked out if I was you

Didn’t know that about the dangerous driving. To be honest you’d have to be fierce unlucky with the law or doing an awful lot of dangerous driving to ever get charged for it unless you were in a reasonably serious accident. Can’t read too much into it without knowing all the facts obviously but it doesn’t sound great.