I think it’s the best. You can dick about in work for a week before. You get Monday and Tuesday off, then another long weekend after.
https://www.rte.ie/archives/2017/1211/926496-switzers_santa_claus/
This is great. Kids in it all round my own age and a lot of lads here I’d say. Still remember the sellotape I saw on santys beard in dunnes.
When i was a young northsider raised by poor but hardworking muldoon parents, going over to the southside of the city was a massive treat. Our bus stopped at o connell bridge, so it was the adelphi and screen cinema and those hot donuts at that kiosk on o’connell st (manna from heaven) was our big treat limit. With dunnes, guineys, boyers and arnotts, they were our shopping bulwarks.
The days we got to southside were few and far between but when we did they were savoured. My father played hurling for New Irelands who were an offshoot of the insurance company located on Dawson st. Every year they hosted a xmas party for the hurlers kids in the staff canteen run by the canteen ladies. The ladies would ramsack the sweet and dessert trollies and throw the goodies out to the hurlers kids. Epic. I was the only lad on my road ayting 5 mr kipling yellow fancies in 1987. Musical chairs, pass the parcel, blind mans buff etc were the games we played with other kids who sat on the sideline throughout the year as our fathers played on the field skelping.
Anyway, once that party was over we’d hotfoot over to grafton st to look and marvel at the switzers window before hitting the northside and the trip back home. Good tyms all round
Tremendous post. I played against new Irelands in the late80s. . They had a goalkeeper with one leg and a very black wig. Long shot but was that your aul lad?
He must be a taxi driver
And if you’re good you can stay up late
Ha ha no but everyone remembers him but cant recall his name. He had a special leg for matches and was fearless. My ould lad was a half/full back.
He was a dangerous fucker. (The one legged goalie, not your aul lad)
that he was. The club was run by a man called Mick Brennan, Kilkenny man i think. An absolute gent. A typed letter would arrive from him in the house every tuesday with match report from previous Sundays game, various musings on the GAA and the fixture/meet details for the following week. Not everyone had house phones so this was their way of letting players know when matches were on. Paddy Troy was heavily involved too - the PJ Troy tournament is named after his son who died when knocked off his bike. Pj may have played the odd game as JP at 16/17 - a tidy hurler.
I didn’t know that about the pj troy tournament. Thats gas about the weekly letter. Different times.
It’s the most wonderful time of the year…
…the Chartered Accountants Leinster Society Christmas Lunch.
Hoping to see many of you in a couple of hours in The Burlington (it will always be The Burlington to me).
Can’t wait to see Neil Delamere’s set. Heard his new routine is amazing. I dare say, he’ll throw in some bits about accountants being boring. It should be very funny.
Myself and herself had a lovely time putting up our tree last night. Drinks were had. Kids were fast asleep.
We were you last year. Learnt our lesson
- Accountants being boring
- Material about England possibly winning the world cup
Name ten topics and see how many of them he does
Myself and herself had a lovely time putting up our tree last night. Drinks were had. Kids were fast asleep.
We were you last year. Learnt our lesson
Sounds like you might have slipped a cheeky one under the mistletoe as well phil
He definitely did. @Phil_Lothario
This staff Christmas party thing is a friggin’ joke at this stage. Ours is Friday night.
Who else thought @anon67715551 was retired before the Berlin wall came down?
Fair play to @anon67715551. He managed to fit the entire staff of the operation onto one high stool. Some operator.