She’s only 5
You’re fucked chief. I have two girls. Up to the ages of about seven I reckoned I’d saved myself a couple of grand. It’s bitten me on the ass since.
It’s the first communion that lights the bulb.
I’d say you’re right about the communion. I’m not helped either by the school she’s in, some seriously minted parents there who really spoil their kids
Around about 8 is the age the expensive stuff kicks in. It’ll start with a ’ cheap play tablet’ by October the following year she’ll telling you the difference between an iPhone 7 and a 6.
Don’t try and fool yourself and say that you’re a sensible parent and put your foot down. She’ll turn you,you’ll know it, but it’ll happen.
Grow a back bone
Speech done. A doddle now.
Up to order the turkey and the ham in Ray Colliers in Howth in the morning.
Will get a ham on the bone ?
No I’ll get a boned and rolled ham
I’ll be getting a rolled and boned turkey lads, fuckit you’d want your head examined buying that big useless bastard whole and having it take up the oven for 5 hours and then picking the carcass like a fucking wild dog for the rest of the week.
Get a 7,8 or 9 pound rolled and boned and it takes 2 to 2.5 hours. No waste and no fucking around and less chance of half if it drying up.
I’ll probably get the few legs thrown in this year.
This sounds interesting ? Are the legs just loose like a couple of drumsticks ?
Fuck the lot of it. Set meal for 6 ordered Christmas eve in the Chinese. Warn the fucking kids not to to touch it. Fire it into the microwave around 2pm Christmas day. Job is oxo
Yes. Exactly.
The rolled and boned i get is about the size of a good big leg of lamb and you can cover it easy and add a bit of stock or wine in the tray to keep it moist. Treat it like a joint of meat.
Oxo would be nicer
You’ll regret this decision @HBV although you’re unlikely to admit to it. A boned and rolled turkey equates to buying “sliced turkey meat” in your local Spar/Insert alternative. Tasteless, flavourless, un-equivocale meat is all it is. I’ve tried it - the dogs finally succumbed to finishing it.
What are ye getting your partners? It’s my first Christmas going out with this lady and I have set a cap of €50 for Christmas presents to each other. I’m going to buy her some socks and not sure what else. Any suggestions folks?
Are ye both 12?
Absolutely not kid, my own butcher bones them and rolls them himself. He is of course a master butcher, not some ape opening vac pac behind a counter in spar. Ye must have a very very poor standard of butcher in roscommon.
If ye have set it at 50 the unwritten rule is you as the man must spend 100.
Don’t be afraid to treat your woman at Christmas. You’ll get it back in spades.