Armagh GAA Thread

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1060557, member: 273”]Breaks are a tiny part of sports injuries. Joints are moved by muscles, poor muscle balance causes joint instability and/or immobility and is the cause of major joint injuries. Poor control also can contribute. A good S&C coach will keep everything balanced. For instance I know Armagh did a lot of anterior strength training (benching and squats for instance). This is a major cause of joint injuries. Tyrone did a lot of physical training at the end of training including high intensity runs. This is another recipe for disaster.
You haven’t a notion. But keep on making a clown of yourself.[/QUOTE]

You slammed me when I posted what Derval O’Rourke said about sprinting on Newstalk and in your opinion her Olympic coaches knew nothing. Mmm yes you know more!..Now this shit!

Why aren’t you THE best fitness coach in Ireland or the world instead of an angry opinionated unqualified chippy with a few distant learning sports courses under your belt who thinks he knows everything. Christ, how you even go to your local after that embarrassing open letter is beyond me.

When you’ve made it, come back and slam Bomber about knowing nothing but until then go back to your hammer and nails you cock.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 1060648, member: 1785”]You slammed me when I posted what Derval O’Rourke said about sprinting on Newstalk and in your opinion her Olympic coaches knew nothing. Mmm yes you know more!..Now this shit!

Why aren’t you THE best fitness coach in Ireland or the world instead of an angry opinionated unqualified chippy with a few distant learning sports courses under your belt who thinks he knows everything. Christ, how you even go to your local after that embarrassing open letter is beyond me.

When you’ve made it, come back and slam Bomber about knowing nothing but until then go back to your hammer and nails you cock.[/QUOTE]
I never said her coaches knew nothing. No doubt Derval and her coaches knew a fuck load about hurdling and sprinting. However sprinting, running and conditioning for field sports is mechanically and technically different. A lot of athletes get pulled into field sports, some are brilliant but a lot only know about their own sport and think the transfer of training is the same. It’s not. And as far as I’m aware, going on what she said herself, I am more qualified than her on such subjects. Just because someone is a sports star does not make them a ready made or qualified coach. It’s a very Irish way of thinking as we are still behind in recognizing coaching as a skill.

Are you angry cos you are in a career you hate? Or is it you married a cunt? Or did your uncle play with you?
You have serious issues fella, for the safety of your family I suggest you go see someone. Maybe none of the above happened, maybe you are just a cunt.
Why do you think your degree is more important than mine? How much do you really know about me? Why are you such an insecure snob?

You are right about the opinionated bit though.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1060665, member: 273”]I never said her coaches knew nothing. No doubt Derval and her coaches knew a fuck load about hurdling and sprinting. However sprinting, running and conditioning for field sports is mechanically and technically different. A lot of athletes get pulled into field sports, some are brilliant but a lot only know about their own sport and think the transfer of training is the same. It’s not. And as far as I’m aware, going on what she said herself, I am more qualified than her on such subjects. Just because someone is a sports star does not make them a ready made or qualified coach. It’s a very Irish way of thinking as we are still behind in recognizing coaching as a skill.

Are you angry cos you are in a career you hate? Or is it you married a cunt? Or did your uncle play with you?
You have serious issues fella, for the safety of your family I suggest you go see someone. Maybe none of the above happened, maybe you are just a cunt.
Why do you think your degree is more important than mine? How much do you really know about me? Why are you such an insecure snob?

You are right about the opinionated bit though.[/QUOTE]

Not angry. Career I ended up in satisfies me weirdly and happily financially. Quite surprisingly I married a gorgeous and absolute lady.

My uncles were gentlemen who I knew, unlike you and yours.

I do however considered my professional qualification more important than your distant learning gold star you achieved. Im also finishing a Masters*** and with two years completed and only a dissertation to hand in, I’ll admit I learned very little, even as a masters, but hey that’s why I’ll consider it the same as your dustbin degrees!

Im not insecure and certainly not a snob but that’s fine I’ve eaten in enough Michelin star restaurants to get by as one.

Oh I do have a nail that’s growing into my toe if you want to diagnose that! Otherwise just keep spouting your personal opinions.

Finally, I am a cunt…sometimes…but I know this. You are an utter cock all the time and quite horribly hated and sadly deep down, reading this forum, and being the intelligent lad you are you…will know this.

***in a recognised Irish college

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 1060677, member: 1785”]Not angry. Career I ended up in satisfies me weirdly and happily financially. Quite surprisingly I married a gorgeous and absolute lady.

My uncles were gentlemen who I knew, unlike you and yours.

I do however considered my professional qualification more important than your distant learning gold star you achieved. Im also finishing a Masters and with two years completed and only a dissertation to hand in, I’ll admit I learned very little, even as a masters, but hey that’s why I’ll consider it the same as your dustbin degrees!

Im not insecure and certainly not a snob but that’s fine I’ve eaten in enough Michelin star restaurants to get by as one.

Oh I do have a nail that’s growing into my toe if you want to diagnose that! Otherwise just keep spouting your personal opinions.

Finally, I am a cunt…sometimes…but I know this. You are an utter cock all the time and quite horribly hated and sadly deep down, reading this forum, and being the intelligent lad you are you…will know this.[/QUOTE]
Jesus you’re more pityful than I imagined.

Would that be as pitiful as threatening some lads off the Internet with calling a Garda friend if they ever made joke phone calls in the middle of the night …

Oooooohhhhhh… You’re an imbecile!

1 Niall Geoghegan Middetown
2 Brendan Donaghy Clonmore
3 Mark Shields Whitecross
4 Ciaran McKeever Parnells
5 Eoin McArdle St Patricks
6 Stefan Campbell Clan na Gael
7 Stefan Forker Maghery
8 Caolan Rafferty Granemore
9 Eugene McVerry Mullaghbawn
10 Seamus Kelly Silverbridge
11 Niall McConville St Peters
12 Kevin Dyas Dromintee
13 Stephen Sheridan Forkhill
14 Finian Moriarty Wolfe Tones
15 Michael Murray St Patricks
16 Aaron Findon St Peters
17 Oisin Mac Iomhair Annaghmore
18 Feidhlim O’Neill St Pauls
19 Micheal McKenna Grange
20 Mark McConville Armagh Harps
21 James Donnelly Killeavy
22 Declan McKenna Armagh Harps
23 Sean Connell St Patricks
24 Paul Courtney St Judes
25 Gavin McParland Ballymacnab
26 Tim Harney Pearse Ogs

Kyle Carragher, Rory Grugan, Brian Mallon and Aaron Kernan would definitely seem to be gone from next year’s squad due to retirements and unavailability. No Cross boys in the panel so it will be interesting to see who joins Kernan, Morgan and Clarke later on in the year.

Quite a few players missing apart from the Cross contingent probably due to playing with colleges or injuries, Aidan Forker, Harold, Ethan Rafferty, Andy Mallon. Vernon and Toner are a few off the top of my head. Plenty of new faces in there to assess anyway.

I would imagine a strongest XV for the game against Tyrone would look something likes this:

1. Harney/Geoghegan
  2. Moriarty
  3. Donaghy
  4. Murray
  5. Shields
  6. McKeever
  7. O’Neill
  8. Findon
  9. McKenna
  10. Rafferty
  11. Dyas
  12. Campbell
  13. McVerry
  14. Forker
  15. McParland

I think we’ve got some good depth in the forward line there despite losing Grugan, Carragher and Mallon from last year. I have high hopes for McParland and you still have to add in the likes of Clarke, Forker and Kernan who would be expected to start and a few other youngsters being given a shot.

1. Geoghan
  2. Mark McConville
  3. Donaghy
  4. Murray
  5. Shields
  6. Moriarty
  7. McKeever
  8. Findon
  9. Campbell
  10. Stefan Forker
  11. Michael McKenna
  12. McVerry
  13. Mac Iomhair
  14. Ethan Rafferty
  15. McParland

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1064696, member: 2533”]1 Niall Geoghegan Middetown
2 Brendan Donaghy Clonmore
3 Mark Shields Whitecross
4 Ciaran McKeever Parnells
5 Eoin McArdle St Patricks
6 Stefan Campbell Clan na Gael
7 Stefan Forker Maghery
8 Caolan Rafferty Granemore
9 Eugene McVerry Mullaghbawn
10 Seamus Kelly Silverbridge
11 Niall McConville St Peters
12 Kevin Dyas Dromintee
13 Stephen Sheridan Forkhill
14 Finian Moriarty Wolfe Tones
15 Michael Murray St Patricks
16 Aaron Findon St Peters
17 Oisin Mac Iomhair Annaghmore
18 Feidhlim O’Neill St Pauls
19 Micheal McKenna Grange
20 Mark McConville Armagh Harps
21 James Donnelly Killeavy
22 Declan McKenna Armagh Harps
23 Sean Connell St Patricks
24 Paul Courtney St Judes
25 Gavin McParland Ballymacnab
26 Tim Harney Pearse Ogs

Kyle Carragher, Rory Grugan, Brian Mallon and Aaron Kernan would definitely seem to be gone from next year’s squad due to retirements and unavailability. No Cross boys in the panel so it will be interesting to see who joins Kernan, Morgan and Clarke later on in the year.

Quite a few players missing apart from the Cross contingent probably due to playing with colleges or injuries, Aidan Forker, Harold, Ethan Rafferty, Andy Mallon. Vernon and Toner are a few off the top of my head. Plenty of new faces in there to assess anyway.

I would imagine a strongest XV for the game against Tyrone would look something likes this:

1. Harney/Geoghegan
  2. Moriarty
  3. Donaghy
  4. Murray
  5. Shields
  6. McKeever
  7. O’Neill
  8. Findon
  9. McKenna
  10. Rafferty
  11. Dyas
  12. Campbell
  13. McVerry
  14. Forker
  15. McParland

I think we’ve got some good depth in the forward line there despite losing Grugan, Carragher and Mallon from last year. I have high hopes for McParland and you still have to add in the likes of Clarke, Forker and Kernan who would be expected to start and a few other youngsters being given a shot.[/QUOTE]

I see Clarke came on sunday… thought he was off to Spain to try out different coffee’s for a few months pal?..

No. He was convinced to stay.

slab and the boys call round??..

Slab’s gentlest touch commands obedience.

what does Mcgeeney do a for a living pal?..

That has been a mystery for 20 odd years.

McParland scored 2-4 against Marys last night. Armagh motoring along very nicely and seemed to have added in some very good options to the squad from what I’ve heard this year. A friend was at the game in Creggan against Antrim and said Armagh’s tackling was unreal - ferocious but fair.

They will definitely be in the mix for Sam this year despite facing an arduous trek.

No better indicator for September success over the past few years than the pre season tournaments.

Tyrone - last 3 McKennas
Kildare - 2 of last 3 Byrne Cups
Leitrim - Last 2 FBD Leagues
Cork - 2 of last 3 McGrath Cups

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 1074118, member: 180”]No better indicator for September success over the past few years than the pre season tournaments.

Tyrone - last 3 McKennas
Kildare - 2 of last 3 Byrne Cups
Leitrim - Last 2 FBD Leagues
Cork - 2 of last 3 McGrath Cups[/QUOTE]

Armagh probably won’t make the semis here.

The point is they seem to be adding plenty of quality players and will have more to come back during the year. Don’t forget Armagh were missing who I consider to be their best forward for most of last year.

Incidentally I think it’s a credit to the likes of Jamie Clarke to put up with that raving lunatic and his mental ideas. I truly believe that, fair fucks to him.

Clarke hasn’t done it at county level. McGeeney is trying everything to get that out of him.

RONAN Clarke is aiming for a sensational return to the Armagh squad this season. The 32-year-old, who has endured a series of injuries throughout his career, feels that his body is now strong enough to deal with a return to the inter-county scene. “If I can start getting my 60 minutes with Pearse Og in the league then I’d never doubt, if I was playing well enough, that I could give the county another crack,” said Clarke.

Sylvester McConnell has been appointed Armagh senior hurling manager. Happy with the appointment, @Il Bomber Destro?