Arthur's Day

FUCK OFF

Can’t believe they are going for another one of these this year.
They would be better off making it every 5 years or something, although the publicity they got last year was mental.

There were ridiculous crowds out in Dublin for it last year. Almost as big as Paddy’s Day pubs packed out the door and lads out drinking from 18:59 was the genius of it. The ultimate excuse to go drinking. Surely one of Ireland’s most successful ever marketing campaigns.
I echo Shannonsider’s sentiments about this year though.

No one does marketing/advertising quite like Guinness.

Will ya have another look at that techies thread about my touch pad problem runt me aul son?

I knew the Irish people were a wretched race but it really hit home to me last year when a thousands of people went out ‘celebrating’ this rubbish. It really is impossible to underestimate the stupidity of the common man on the street in this country. In my naivity last year I assumed there was going to be a free pint or something. But no, Guinness didn’t even have to do that, a bit of paddy whackery about Arthur was enough to send the masses out the door to the pub before the Angeles. Absolute cunt of a country, I hope its wiped off the face of the planet by this recession. I won’t give a hoot as I’ll be living in Tallinn or Gdansk, I haven’t decided yet.

Where can I get a happy arthur’s day card, they should have a loyalty card too

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**, post: 494698”]
I knew the Irish people were a wretched race but it really hit home to me last year when a thousands of people went out ‘celebrating’ this rubbish. It really is impossible to underestimate the stupidity of the common man on the street in this country. In my naivity last year I assumed there was going to be a free pint or something. But no, Guinness didn’t even have to do that, a bit of paddy whackery about Arthur was enough to send the masses out the door to the pub before the Angeles. Absolute cunt of a country, I hope its wiped off the face of the planet by this recession. I won’t give a hoot as I’ll be living in Tallinn or Gdansk, I haven’t decided yet.[/quote]
would you not miss the jumps, greyhounds and hurling though?

I am done with hurling after 2010. I despise how gaelic games is administered in my own county, I am like De Gaulle while France is occupied by the Nazis. I love it but it’s in bondage. I am bored with horse racing. I would miss the dogs alright but I would be happy enough walking a retired grey on the promenade in Sopot at this stage. I just want a quiet life away from idiots.

Have you not seen those Eastern European apes after they’ve had a few drinks?

i know how you feel about the hurling. Still get in a decent manager and we have plenty to look forward to next year. i hear that ard scoil will be favourites to win the harty again and its a long time since a limerick school has won back to back hartys.

i know your a flat man but it does’nt get the pulse racing like the jumps. by the time the paddy power meeting comes around in november we will have a winter full of hopes and dreams ahead of us. God willing go native can redeem himself :smiley:

Can’t believe no-one picked up on this yet.

Smithwicks was founded in 1710. How come we’re not having a Kilkenny piss day?

I thought you were from Cork, fenners?

point mac

Kilkenny people are very boring.

oops meant ye

Guinness is aimed at the idiot masses who get suckered by this kind of marketing horseshit
Smithwicks is an altogether finer drink and is celebrated with quiet dignity by those who imbibe it every time we do so.
Also, Guinness has yet to boast an ad as cool as the Toto Schillachi effort a few years back.

Arthur’s day can rev up and fuck off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcWfqLnut-g

I generally find that the idiots that celebrate Arthur’s Day are the same idiots that organise this twelve pubs lark. Why some people feel the need to illustrate that they are legends for drink is beyond me. Drink is a curse, end of.

SS** is right, the Irish are wreteched people full of their own self importance and an over inflated sense of their importance in the world. We’re a nation of nobodies and no one gives a toss about us but we seem to think everyone loves us. For that reason I’ve decided right here and right now that I’m leaving this country as soon as possilbe.

You can take the man out of Ireland but can’t take Ireland out of the man.