Athletics Thread

Thought she was reared in van Diemens land and thus be representing them rather than dear old Ireland?

Great to have her on board.

She definitely has represented Ireland in the past anyway, she hold dual, but I couldnt be sure where her loyalty currently lies. She has Cork blood, so anything is possible.

Raised in Oz I thought and in college in the US. Sonia seems to be split more between Ireland the US now so maybe that’s a factor in it. Can’t bate good breeding

If she’s anything at all like her mother she’ll be outstanding.

One of my proudest moments ‘’running’’ was when I went out for a jog during an interlude at the Rio Olympics. I was going down the grand canal and who do I see coming against me but the great Sonia O’Sullivan. She gave me a knowing nod and on she went. All I could muster was ‘Howya Sonia’. Thought it was nice that two legendary athletes were acknowledging each other like that.

Shows where we’re at now that Rhasidat ran 49.86 to qualify for the final last night and it’s barely news :upside_down_face:

We’re out now until she does it in the green

She turned down AAI funding so keeping her options open I think.

Ingebrigtsen just smashed the 2 mile world record by 4 seconds in Paris Diamond League. 7’54’10.

Wise move tbf

Why might she have done that? To stay in a better funded training program post college??

Surely doped up to the gills?

Rhasidat just moves into the top 20 400m runners of all time with that time. I think we can classify her as world class now.

When you promise me an Olympics medal I’ll be interested

Whisper it quietly but there’s a good chance of it. The concern would be the amateur Irish set up. There’s still more improvement in her so going sub 49 is still realistic

Some random tweet popped up in my timeline yesterday about how a lot of US sprinters actually marignally disimprove after college.

Can we keep her in college indefinitely like Ciaran McManus and Jim McGuinness?

I can see how that would happen. The college system is ridiculously intense and many would likely train more in it than they would once they leave. The yanks love their college sports systems

Ah here…