Athletics Thread

She’s 6 odd seconds off Sonia’s National Record. With all the advancements in running shoes / spikes and in running tracks that’s a measure of how good Sonia was.

Quick to put the boot in

I’m not going to let your sanctimonious attitude get to me. I’ve just made my first appearance on the Sunday Game

Fair play, you did right calling the referees attention to that

Pipped you to it no doubt.

Dougal’esque

The doctor has beaten his own 800m NR and gets the big auto Q for Tokyo. He’s in the form of his life at the moment.

Sad news about Sharlene Mawdsley’s dad

Seems to be racing more aggressively last year or so. He used to hang back a lot trying to save himself for the finish

I think he changed coach over the winter so that could be why. There’s always a degree of scepticism with new coaches getting a big improvement out of athletes, especially those later in age so hopefully there’s nothing to be sceptical about!

Well there is plenty to be skeptical about. Hopefully it’s not true.

Ah he’s got great pedigree. He’s been winning medals for years. I remember the late, great Jerry Kiernan being gushing in his praise of English.

Story here?

Suicide apparently

Very sad.

Ah here. That’s awful.

Yep

Bloody hell. That’s tough, RIP.

Diamond League win for Sarah Healy.

PB and the big Q for Tokyo for Cathal Doyle.

A grand aul evening for Irish Athletes

Back on the podium