Athletics Thread

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 743491, member: 348”]I nearly did the same mickee321, when someone on here said it was on RTE i flicked to RTE ! and then subsequently cursed the soul who i had thought steered me wrong, it was only on further browsing I found it.

it must be my age but when a person say rte i think “rte1” and I nearly always think “network 2”[/quote]

exactly, also i always enquire as to what station is showing the athletics as opposed to channel

[FONT=arial]World 200m champion Veronica Campbell-Brown of Jamaica has tested positive for a banned substance.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]A sample taken from the 31-year-old at the Jamaica Invitational on 4 May tested positive for a [B]banned diuretic [/B] - something which is viewed as a masking agent by the World Anti-Doping Agency.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]Campbell-Brown won 200m and 4x100m relay golds at the 2004 Olympics and retained her 200m title in 2008.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]She now faces a possible two-year suspension from athletics.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]At London 2012, Campbell-Brown took bronze in the 100m and was a member of Jamaica’s silver medal-winning sprint relay team.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]Diuretics, which promote the production of urine and are used to help high blood pressure, are banned because they can be used by athletes to hide other performance-enhancing substances.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]“In a country renowned for producing great sprinters, Campbell-Brown is one of the best ever,” said BBC Radio 5 live’s athletics correspondent Mike Costello.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]"She’s twice won Olympic gold over 200m and world titles over 100m and 200m, but now her reputation has been shredded and the damage done to the credibility of Jamaican athletics in general is extensive.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]“She has [B]complained in the past[/B] that modern-day female athletes have been denied commercial opportunities because many women’s world records have been set by drug-tainted Eastern Europeans, and therefore beyond reach. Now she belongs in the same hall of shame.”[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]News of Campbell-Brown’s positive test emerged 48 hours after her compatriot, the 400m runner Dominique Blake, received a six-year ban for her second doping violation since 2006.[/FONT]

No surprise really. It is widely believed the whole Jamican team is up to their ears in it.

At least that’s what the Americans want everyone to think. David Gillick also believes it

Asafa Powell and Tyson Gay after failing drug tests.

Renaud Lavillenie vaulted 6.16 in Donetsk last night to break Sergi Bubka’s 21 year world record of 6.15.

wow…
That’s very unprofessional of Lavillinie
Yelena Isimbayaeva had the right idea , she used to keep upping the bar 1 or 2 cm here and there for the big grand prix meets and make a fortune,
I think Javier Sotamayor made a similar mistake in 1993 at some non descript meeting in Spain jumping 2.46m to break the high jump WR

[quote=“mickee321, post: 904014, member: 367”]wow…
That’s very unprofessional of Lavillinie
Yelena Isimbayaeva had the right idea , she used to keep upping the bar 1 or 2 cm here and there for the big grand prix meets and make a fortune,
I think Javier Sotamayor made a similar mistake in 1993 at some non descript meeting in Spain jumping 2.46m to break the high jump WR[/quote]

Donetsk is Bubka’s home town and a hot bed of pole vaulting. There may well have been a lucrative purse on offer for breaking it.

This is a most underwhelming marathon debut for Mohammed Farah.

Farah not able to keep up with the real long distance runners here, it must be the British blood in him.:rolleyes:

Can’t understand why Farah would even bother with the marathon.

He likes to run.

This might explain that one.

Mail on Sunday - 13 April 2014

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/othersports/article-2279601/Mo-Farah-run-London-Marathon-2013.html

Mo farah will pocket a staggering £750,000 for running twice in the London Marathon - even though he will complete only the first half this year, a decision Paula Radcliffe branded ‘a little strange’.

The fee Farah will receive for appearing in the race dwarfs even the £500,000 it is believed Radcliffe took home in her heyday.

London Marathon organisers do not, as a matter of policy, disclose precise fees paid to athletes.

‘He’ll be rightfully well rewarded as an Olympic champion,’ is all race director Hugh Brasher would reveal.

But 29-year-old Farah’s fee for participation in the event is greater than any they have paid in the past for a single runner.

After sponsors’ bonuses and other payments are taken into account, Farah will receive around £750,000.

The previous largest appearance fee was for Radcliffe, who broke the world record on London’s streets in 2003.

Farah, the Olympic 5,000m and 10,000m champion, will run 13.1 miles of the Virgin London Marathon course in April as part of his preparations to convert to running the 26.2-mile distance on a permanent basis, before making his competitive debut in the 2014 race.

‘I find it strange,’ said Radcliffe, ‘it’s not what I would have done. Either you find a good half-marathon or you take the plunge and attack the distance and race it. But everybody has different reasons.’

Farah, who stormed to an almost processional victory in the 3,000m at the Birmingham Indoor Grand Prix on Saturday, defended his decision by claiming it would be ‘brilliant practice’.

‘The London Marathon is the biggest in the world and it’s about dealing with everything that goes along with that,’ said Farah.

‘Running in the London Olympics and having 75,000 people cheering for me was the best thing ever and having all those people cheering again, I just can’t stop thinking about it.’

It is expected that 650,000 people will line the streets to see Farah, born in Somalia but raised in Britain from the age of eight, in the London Marathon.

‘As a young boy growing up in London it has always been my ambition to run the London Marathon,’ said Farah, who won the Mini Marathon for runners aged 11-17 three years in a row, from 1998.

Farah will run in the lead pack for about 62 minutes, covering the route from Greenwich Park to the halfway point, just after Tower Bridge, before retreating into the race organiser’s headquarters at the Tower Hotel.

Asked if he would be tempted to continue after halfway, Farah said: ‘I have a plan and that’s to go to halfway and that will be it, even if I feel great. The marathon is moving forward so fast. I think I’ve got great speed, but that doesn’t mean I’ll be a great marathon runner.’

The run, according to Brasher, will act as ‘a fact-finding mission’.

He added: ‘It echoes the way Mo has gone about every piece of preparation throughout his career.’

Asked if he had tried to persuade Farah to run the full marathon this year, Brasher said: ‘He’s always been very clear about his intentions. He’s always said he wants to run the 10,000m at the World Championships in Moscow this summer, so we’ve supported him in that. No pressure whatsoever.’

There has long been speculation that Farah would move toward road racing after 2012, and in October his coach, Alberto Salazar, suggested that he may attempt the 10,000m and marathon double in Rio in 2016.

Salazar, who won three successive New York Marathons in the Eighties, was famed for the brutal training sessions he put himself through, and Farah has taken that ethos on board in a bid to prepare himself for the marathon.

Having returned from training in Iten, Kenya, where he prepared for last summer’s Olympics, Farah begins his competitive road racing schedule next week, in a half-marathon in New Orleans.

A BBC film crew travelled to Kenya last week to conduct the interview with Farah, which was screened during their coverage of yesterday’s Birmingham Grand Prix at the NIA Arena.

Farah was the star attraction there yesterday, cruising to victory in the 3,000m in 7min 42sec, with France’s Florian Carvalho second and Britain’s Lee Emanuel third.

The way the crowd greeted him as he crossed the finish line, with some children doing his trademark Mobot on the big screen, is evidence of his commercial pulling power. He has the star quality to reinvigorate interest in the London Marathon men’s race and could provide a domestic winner for the first time since Eamonn Martin, who worked full-time at the Ford motor plant in Basildon, triumphed 20 years ago.

Outside of the money it’s a natural progression. If he is still interested in being a winner then this is arguably his biggest chance. He’ll lose pace, but if he maintains technique and improves his distance in theory he’ll get better and be faster than most long term marathon runners in time.

However it’s a mental sport in general, not running, just running that long.

I’m waiting for @Declan Moffat to give his opinion on this race.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 930655, member: 273”]Outside of the money it’s a natural progression. If he is still interested in being a winner then this is arguably his biggest chance. He’ll lose pace, but if he maintains technique and improves his distance in theory he’ll get better and be faster than most long term marathon runners in time.

However it’s a mental sport in general, not running, just running that long.[/QUOTE]

There’s merit in what you’re saying and its a career progression that applies in some cases. Don’t see it applying to Farah. He ran 3.28.81 for the 1,500 metres last summer, the 6th fastest time of all time, faster than Coe, Cram or Ovett ever ran. That doesn’t translate to marathon running. He may be a bit old at 33 in Rio in 2016 to retain his 5,000 crown, but would still have every chance over the 10,000. It was interesting to listen to Brendan Foster and Steve Cram on commentary. You sensed from the start they were sceptical about it all. By the end Foster was quite scathing, saying he’ll never be in the league of the likes of Kipsang over the marathon and needs to stop messing around and concentrate on retaining his 10,000 in Rio.

On a brighter note, Mo is now the English marathon record holder, lowering Charlie Spedding’s 29 year mark.

[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 930666, member: 377”]There’s merit in what you’re saying and its a career progression that applies in some cases. Don’t see it applying to Farah. He ran 3.28.81 for the 1,500 metres last summer, the 6th fastest time of all time, faster than Coe, Cram or Ovett ever ran. That doesn’t translate to marathon running. He may be a bit old at 33 in Rio in 2016 to retain his 5,000 crown, but would still have every chance over the 10,000. It was interesting to listen to Brendan Foster and Steve Cram on commentary. You sensed from the start they were sceptical about it all. By the end Foster was quite scathing, saying he’ll never be in the league of the likes of Kipsang over the marathon and needs to stop messing around and concentrate on retaining his 10,000 in Rio.

On a brighter note, Mo is now the English marathon record holder, lowering Charlie Spedding’s 29 year mark.[/QUOTE]
Fair enough, you are right, much more likely to go for 10KM.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 930655, member: 273”]Outside of the money it’s a natural progression. If he is still interested in being a winner then this is arguably his biggest chance. He’ll lose pace, but if he maintains technique and improves his distance in theory he’ll get better and be faster than most long term marathon runners in time.

However it’s a mental sport in general, not running, just running that long.[/QUOTE]

Is he not a bit too young yet?

Ya, for some reason I thought he was much older.

[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 930666, member: 377”]There’s merit in what you’re saying and its a career progression that applies in some cases. Don’t see it applying to Farah. He ran 3.28.81 for the 1,500 metres last summer, the 6th fastest time of all time, faster than Coe, Cram or Ovett ever ran. That doesn’t translate to marathon running. He may be a bit old at 33 in Rio in 2016 to retain his 5,000 crown, but would still have every chance over the 10,000. It was interesting to listen to Brendan Foster and Steve Cram on commentary. You sensed from the start they were sceptical about it all. By the end Foster was quite scathing, saying he’ll never be in the league of the likes of Kipsang over the marathon and needs to stop messing around and concentrate on retaining his 10,000 in Rio.

On a brighter note, Mo is now the English marathon record holder, lowering Charlie Spedding’s 29 year mark.[/QUOTE]
No he’s not. Missed out on record. Some line up today. Agree that commentary was interesting. Cram and Foster would usually be careful what they say but by the end they were basically say Mo should cop on and go back to what he’s good at. Mo was well rattled today. A definite alright sort though

What I said was he broke the English record of John Tracey’s old pal from LA - Charlie Speeding. Steve Jones held the British record of 2.07.13. Mo was more than a minute outside of that.