Ating a dog

I used to breed cocker spaniels ten to fifteen years ago. That is insane money to pay for one even if it is with full papers.

€1000 would have be a towards the top of the market pre covid and you would have had fine pups freely available for around €350 to €600.

Welcome back buddy. That’s a cracking looking beast. Are you all loved up?

(This lockdown is an awful oul ball of shite, wouldn’t you agree?)

Yeah that’s what I thought. The prices have more than doubled in the last year by all accounts. If by any chance you’ve any line on one at reasonable price at all do give me a heads up.

Tis why they are all being robbed sure

Even fully trained for woodcock and pheasant you’d be talking a fraction of that price. €2,500 for a cocker pup :rofl:

Rescue dogs are great craic.

I met the owner of one of my pups last summer in St Anne’s and have it in my mind to try follow up with the others i sold pups to in order to see if there are any having litters with the next generation.

The details are back in Clare and could be a couple of months before I go about it but if I hear of anything i will let you know.

You’re a gent, would appreciate it.

a cocker is an awful amount of work for someone new to dogs man

All in favour of rescue dogs but she’sad for a puppy. I’ll hopefully get a rescue dog myself in the next year but as @EstebanSexface says you have to make sure they’re suited. Apparently there is a list of 300 registered with the Limerick fog shelter interested in s puppy.

A good friend of mine had two greyhounds he took from a rescue and they are the two quietest and unassuming pets I have ever come across. Noble dogs who are delighted to just sit in a room with company and be around people without being intrusive.

My pet has me pestered to get one once covid is over.

he’s a lovely dog. Taking to everything very easy, useful on the lead now and the small one smothering him with love isn’t knocking a stir out of him.

All the lockdowns have been a ball of shite. this one no different

That’s rubbish. Based on intelligence, longevity, ailments, etc. they’re an overlooked treasure. Smarter than whippets too.

Greyhounds make lovely pets.

With cockers you would nearly want to have two or a second dog at least to keep it occupied. A very clever dog but a good bit of work and not ones to be left to their own devices for hours on end - can be like a coiled spring otherwise

Greyhounds are couch potatoes. Fantastic pets.

ok mate - find someone else to fight with over dogs. Good man

yeah - I wouldn’t recommend them to a new owner at all - especially if you’re inside in a town

Yer man’s sister lives out in the country and she’s an avid game shooter. That’s why she’s dropping €2,500 on a cocker spaniel.