Auld lads whinging about having a few pints

Corrective editā€¦

Oh heā€™d demolished that - was possibly ā€˜hopingā€™ for a pre-snooze nip :tumbler_glass:

Sorry for your loss, Boxty.

Condolences @anon67715551 may he RIP.Not a bad way to go tbf.

Iā€™m sorry for your loss Boxty. Thatā€™s a beautifully described Irish end. :green_heart:

Sorry to hear that but a good way to go in fairness.

Condolences @anon67715551 youā€™ve a lovely way with words

Condolences @anon67715551 A fine age and as good a way to go as there is really.

Condolences @anon67715551 , bed of heaven to him. A soft landing of sorts, all many of us could hope for.

Signing in

Go back to bedā€¦.

Iā€™m up now :person_shrugging:
Three quarters of a pint of shindigger lager and the wine flight with a tasting menu.
Iā€™ve been having dreams I had an absolutely brutal hangover as well, so itā€™s waiting for me either way.

Iā€™m off it since last Sunday. Iā€™m hoping to last a few weeks at least. Hopefully all of November. Not like me but I was dying last Monday. Swore never again.

ā€œhopefullyā€ :joy:
I know the feeling.

Signing in. Absolutely banjaxed was never more accurate. More later - possibly. Grrrā€¦ā€¦

Iā€™ve had a few heavy days, a lot of old acquaintances, sporting and associated neā€™er-do-wells who adorn these occasions are invariably to the fore with yarns and tales of Good Friday challenge matches and ensuing lock-insā€¦.
We were corralled into the Ɖire Ɠg clubhouse in Carlow for the entirety of Saturday from 12.30 onwards and as you can imagine it was the heaviest pour Iā€™ve been engaged in for years. Itā€™s a fabulous facility - a bar AND a lounge section if you donā€™t mind.
Weā€™d had a myriad of great oulā€™ days and nights - the deceased and myself and many occasions of mischief and utter ribaldry and all assembled had their own tales of late nights and losing betting dockets.
On the plus side - incredibly - three (3) different blokes I hadnā€™t seen in 20 odd years slyly enquired whether my hair was real or not ā€¦I kid you not.
The 1st of Nannyā€™s siblings to pass and sadly based on the evidence it wonā€™t be terribly long until weā€™ll be having this convention again.

A great, entertaining guy whoā€™s funeral was a testament to his popularity.
The light of Heaven to his kindly soul.

53 Likes

Fair play.

How did you end up in Leitrim with a Mrs from down that way?

Work related issues dragged me there. The never ending story of Leitrim folk.

Many went further afield. You did well to return

True. A neighbour headed to London in 1970 or so and wasnā€™t seen for 40 years. Incredibly another parishioner met him after this half a lifetime and he was down on his luck and existing in some form of sheltered living.

A bit of research and leverage indicated that we could get him a small place in the TrathnĆ³na housing scheme in Ballinamore (itā€™s a kind of sheltered living/care accommodation set up) but by the time weā€™d all the arrangements made and travel organised the hoor wouldnā€™t agree to come.

He finally made it home but as you might gather it was in the wooden suit.

Iā€™ve decided that luck and chance play major roles in our lives.

26 Likes

God bless