:lol: :lol:
The Aussie embassy advised you to go to Australia on a holiday visa to look for work - :rolleyes: not even sure your bird would swallow that
i have never lived or worked in australia but i do work in this industry currently in central asia and i can verify this point that there are many opportunities to be had on western australian from the jobs that are appearing online and from what we are been offered by recruitment agencies continually.
the money is good BUT i would think you are better off going in there with a qualification in Geology, mech or chem eng where you could work as a drilling engineer onsite whcih is what the best jobs would be.
i know 2 lads with no qualifications who took a job with a mining contractor in about 4 years ago in the western outback ( or equivilant) working as a Drillers “offisder”.
this is brutal, dirty work ( think the boys in Chil-ay) that basically involves getting in to the mine and doing the hard graft with the shovel
they worked a 28 on 28 off rotation (free transport from perth to location) and i believe there were pulling in the region of ~50k a year and that is with all the time off included.
they had no experience when they took this job, the only requirement was to be physically fit and follow orders
my advice if you want to get work on the drilling indutry would be to try to get a job in oil or gas as they are generally much more safer and cleaner with less heavy manual work, ( most of the equipment is automated), working in a blast mine for rare earth metals in the desert iin 55"C is not my idea of fun…
BTW on a serious note if anyone is interested in work in this industry ( preferably have a ENG qualification) in central asia or middle east send me a PM and ill send u a load of info…
what would you recommend a lad with an earth and ocean science NUIG degree do over here? He had some recruiter from Perth call him yesterday to tell him to move to Perth immediately and remove any mention of ocean in his CV. What would be a good first step for him?
Barrow Island off Australia is the place to make the serious bucks. Have a mate over there and the money he is earning is crazy. Environmental engineer - apparently a huge shortage of them in Aus so he is elected. 28 days on 9 days off. But free food, free flights back to Perth, free accomodation. All you earn goes straight into the bank.
Is that marine-biology/ocean-science lark much craic I wonder? Before I went to college the only marine-biologist I’d ever known lived in a van parked outside a house she owned in which twenty or thirty dogs lived.
With an earth science degree he is basically a geologist , these guys generally work on exploration projects to identify areas that are potential oil wells or gas fields or work on existing projects as data analysts or QA folks.
I presume he has no experience but in western Australia that dosent seem to matter, he needs to try to get that recruiter to put him in contact with some oil and gas companies that are based in Barrow Island for example ( this is a famous location in the fuel industry for the size of the exploration project going on up there) where he will basically be employed as a junior scientist / QA offshore on one of their rigs…
I suppose the reason why they told him to remove the Ocean part from his qualification is because if he wanted to work in one of the mines in the outback ( usually mining metals like yttrium oxide) his job as a geologist or earth scientist would basically be just spent taking samples of what is been extracted and doing some detailed analysis…
Christ the opportunities are endless really, id say just tell him to get banging out the CVs BUT he needs to try to convince them he is qualified for the job, in Oz it possible the may confuse ocean science with Marine Biology, that’s fine if he wants a job monitoring herring stocks in cork harbour but wont get him anywhere in mining…
An earth scientist to them will be a geologist, that’s what he needs to sell himself as
alternatively tell him to meet me in Alamty on thursday morning and we can head for the Caspian sea…
did he qualify as an environmental engineer KIB or is he just working as one.?
usually the qualification is Civil and Environmental engineering but im guessing if he is working as an environmental engineer on a gas rig he is the guy whose job basically is to takle the samples twice a day from the red balloon above the tanks measuring the amount of pullutant in the athmosphere ( thats about it really)
i agreee tho the money on some of these projects is obscene, i know a guy who studied BIS in UCC and hated it an somehow ended up working as a safety officer on a oil drilling platform in angola, he is on close to 100k a year, 28 on 21 off rotation, and is flown back to London at midnight of the 28th day, no one listens to these guys onsite anyway so he basically flits around the place twice a day and files a report on safety violations that he will claim to be fixing during his time onsite…
yeah he is fairly easy going and is going taking a labouring job here which seems like some waste considering what how valuable his degree is in Aus but I think the call from that recuiter yesterday has shaken him into action. The WA crowd are a parochial lot so you need to be based in Perth for them to take you on.
no his degree was environmental alright (NUIG). A cork lad too. I lived with him for a year in college.
No he looks after waste water on the plant, they have a big desalination unit there that he looks after aswell. Basically the workers live in a corrib village type complex and he makes sure they have enough water and there is no leaks that kind of thing across the plant. Im sure its a bit more complex that that in reality. 150k a year AUD. Most of that clean profit. Not bad for a lad of 25 who spent the year I lived with him playing poker online on the couch. He got out there as a junior, his boss quit so he just got promoted. very hard to get working in barrow island but he managed to and now he is cleaning up. its also obscene - when he is out on the island they work 12 hour days whatever but for a good bit of that he also goes on call - sure what else are you going to be doing on an island hundreds of miles from civilisation. gets paid extra for that. Great life you are young, free and single.
The other two on my couch currently are civil engineers but the crowd they have been offered a job with are supposed to be starting a big job on Barrow Island this year. Sure once the lads are trained up they will be on 100k easy. The life wouldnt suit everyone id imagine but they should defo give it a shot. Even 6 months on your CV would look great.
Not sure why KIB and Mickee continue to attempt to help out here when their generous advice is consistently tossed back in their faces. Not worth your time lads, but fair play to you, might be of use to some other fellas who pop in and out of here.
Basically Mickee admits to knowing nothing about it (Oz)and KIB contradicts a massive amount of the other people i have spoke to and basis his info completely on websites.
Mickee is also Bi-Polar, so anything he tells us needs to be deeply investigated.
Not bi-polar, bi-winning.
kev,
we are having a discussion about mining and exploration work in general and i was basically just telling KIB what i thought his mate could do to help him out.
these jobs are extremely well paid all over the world so id just like to see a guy who has worked hard getting the qualification ensuring he is using it to the best of his ability.
oil and gas exploration is the same in every country, be it china or australia and for a guy with an earth science degree he definitly should give it a go, plus its a lot safer than ending up in some blast mine in the outback where you have a decent change of been seriously injured ( and im basing this from published data that i will send to you if your interested, not experience).
anyway, you seeem to like making a few jokes about people with mental illnesses and dyslexia which is not at all funny, but shur we’ll leave you at it, you’ll have no luck for it anyway.
i only posted to wish you well on your new adventures and i was hit by this barrage of almost psychotic abuse, no need for it at all.
keep investigating away anyway shur, im glad im of such interest to you but i do find it a bit eerie sometimes i must admit… whatever you’re into i suppose
any pharma jobs going over there, or is it all oil/gas/mining out west?
Hypicrosy at its best, although isn’t not remembering being an ass part of the sympthons of Bi-Polar?
A man from Co Laois is recovering in an Australian hospital after an attack last week that left him with head injuries.
29-year-old Liam Ryan from Portlaoise was set upon last Thursday morning in Brisbane.
He banged his head against a pavement after receiving a punch in the mouth.
A spokesperson said Mr Ryan is now out of intensive care at The Royal Brisbane Hospital.
19-year-old Brisbane man Manaia Freeman Ramea appeared in court on a charge of assault occasioning bodily harm.
The matter has been adjourned until 8 July. Mr Ramea was remanded in custody.
A police spokeswoman said the charge may be upgraded or amended depending on how Mr Ryan’s condition progresses.
Detective Inspector Tony Duncan told a Brisbane newspaper the attack was random.
‘There’s no indication there was any reason for the assault, it was just unprovoked or someone looking for a fight,’ he said.
It is understood Mr Ryan’s family is due to arrive in Australia this Thursday.
Another one…
Interesting article in the SMH today re Aus banks - http://www.smh.com.au/business/defusing-the-toobigtofail-timebomb-20110617-1g74j.html
thankfully charges against this girl have been dropped, the case always sounded a bit fishy to me - http://www.independent.ie/national-news/digital-rape-charge-girl-to-fly-home-from-australia-2800771.html
horrific headline from those cunts
Anyone any advice & Do’s & Do not’s on a coastal trip from Brisbane to Cairns. As in where to stop etc, we have a camper van for 10 days so any good spots to over night etc would be great. Not going to Fraser as the weather is better up further and it was that or Whit Sundays this time, may do it some other time. Have been told the WS’s are a far better option were you to pick one anyway.
Anyway, any help greatly appreciated. Can’t fucking wait to move on, excited now making final plans.
Ya, I’d definitely go for the WS’s over Fraiser. Good choice. I think we did a 3 days/ 2nights trip and was well worth it.