Here for the foreseeable future. Really loving it so far, but yeah the smog is horrible at times.
its very expensive for tourists
what is it like as a resident
I met some gambling dweeb a while ago and he says he makes his fortune by betting the away team in the singaporean leagues . All the teams ground share so there is no home advantage and bookies dont take this into account
please do up a spreadsheet and confirm whether this system works
The judge said that the only thing which prevented him/her giving him a life (as in life) sentence was that he pleaded guilty.
For fuck sake. If that fucker with his 22 previous rape convictions, various assaults and now another rape and a murder doesn’t deserve to be locked up for good then who does?
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 789088, member: 24”]The judge said that the only thing which prevented him/her giving him a life (as in life) sentence was that he pleaded guilty.
For fuck sake. If that fucker with his 22 previous rape convictions, various assaults and now another rape and a murder doesn’t deserve to be locked up for good then who does?[/quote]
No parole for 35 years. In Ireland the average lift sentence is 8 to 12 years. I don’t think anyone gets “life” here.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 789088, member: 24”]The judge said that the only thing which prevented him/her giving him a life (as in life) sentence was that he pleaded guilty.
For fuck sake. If that fucker with his 22 previous rape convictions, various assaults and now another rape and a murder doesn’t deserve to be locked up for good then who does?[/quote]
You have to give consideration for the guilty plea. All it means is that he will be entitled to a parole hearing 35 years. No guarantee that he’ll be released then and most likely he won’t be.
If you knew you were going to be locked up in prison for the rest of your life would you just kill yourself?
I’d try heroin first.
I had a tour of a prison recently and it seemed like a grand place. Astro pitches for Escape to Victory type matches against the guards, study classes, a well equipped gym, a touchscreen computer system in each cell for inmates to choose their meal options, book in people visiting and order from the tuck shop. As I say, grand altogether.
[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 788852, member: 80”]fisty
tax time- talk to me
what can i claim[/quote]
Fucking everything. Don’t go to one of the chains like HR Block or ITP, ask around among your colleagues for recommendations for the most malevolent accountant possible who has no ethics. Once you’ve done that and have a list iof 200, ask for one who’s good at tax returns.
The real point here is not the sentence, which is adequate. The issue is why he was out given his history of violent sexual assault, murder etc etc.
You should all read Judge Nettles judgement here. Google Queen vBayley.
This is just a reflection in Australian society, slowly but surely dragging itself away kicking and screaming from its violent, anti-women, racist, colonial past. There has been quite a bit of local outrage at the verdict which is good to see. And there is no doubt the majority if Australian society wants to move away from the murky past but te establishment is still very old school.
I have heard many comments in my time here from men which indicate that still there is an attitude of “she must have been asking for it” in regards to rape and the default setting is to look at the woman first. Sports stars can take alot if the blame for this. But it is encouraging to see recent public opinion to alot of this. One might, at a very long shot, consider bringing up kids here were this type of view become the norm.
kev,
you paint a horrible picture of life and people in WA. Leafy Brisbane is the perfect place for young kids anyway. KP will back me up about life in paradise
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]schools fetes on a weekly basis[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]playgrounds in every park[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]Amazing swimming pools[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]fantastic kindergartens to choose from[/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]I dont know what its like when it gets older and [/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=2][FONT=Arial] one issue I could see already would be with schooling, the cost is outrageous to go to a decent school [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Arial]Good to see your thinking of starting a family and settling down mate[/FONT][/SIZE]
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 789225, member: 273”]
I have heard many comments in my time here from men which indicate that still there is an attitude of “she must have been asking for it” in regards to rape and the default setting is to look at the woman first. quote]
In 13 years of living here Kev, I have never once heard such a comment, quite the contrary.[/quote]
good pint fisty. and you live in a pretty rough part of Australia where social etiquette isnt a priority
Excuse me you horrible little redneck, I live in the most civilised part of the country, the billionaires playground that is the central coast.
Yes lads, WA is particularly stuck in a time warp. Like anywhere there is good and bad. Most people are very decent, but even within those there is an acceptance of arcaic ways.
I’m sure many Irish people have heard about Irish women really struggling to settle in here, it partly has to do with the heavily male dominated society in place here.
I have heard and been directly told some of those comments in Queensland as well fitzy, for clarification.
FR - As a place to live and bring up kids I’d choose Brisbane over Perth any day.
However I want to live in the country and I far prefer rural WA to QLD.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 789241, member: 273”]Yes lads, WA is particularly stuck in a time warp. Like anywhere there is good and bad. Most people are very decent, but even within those there is an acceptance of arcaic ways.
I’m sure many Irish people have heard about Irish women really struggling to settle in here, it partly has to do with the heavily male dominated society in place here.
I have heard and been directly told some of those comments in Queensland as well fitzy, for clarification.[/quote]
id agree with that, most are fundamentally decent but there are too many wannabe alpha males floating around that are into V8s etc and Aussies as a whole are overly jingoistic and a bit backwards in many things despite them thinking they are the centre of the universe
fuck them all
[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 789243, member: 80”]id agree with that, most are fundamentally decent but there are too many wannabe alpha males floating around that are into V8s etc and Aussies as a whole are overly jingoistic and a bit backwards in many things despite them thinking they are the centre of the universe
fuck them all[/quote]
Ya, I’m thinking of renting a field and passing it on to the banks and make a bit of profit when they need somewhere to store all these SS’s and V8’s they will be repossessing in the next couple of years.
It’s going to be carnage.