I don’t think Travellers are socially excluded. They certainly weren’t in my neck of the woods. I went to school with several of them and there was a grand halting site just up beside the pitches at Joey’s in the Noggin.
[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 856771, member: 129”]+1
@The Wild Colonial Bhoy , you’re talking through your hole. As per usual.
And all arguing aside, I’d be extremely concerned about Abbott. Like Lenny Murphy having a Catholic sounding name made him hate Catholics even more, the same thing seems to have happened with Abbo-tt…[/quote]
Abbot is a very dangerous character. He’s the front for a group of powerful, racist and ignorant people who are praying on decent Australians who don’t to move too far away from their old culture. Problem is while some of these values are certainly worth fighting for, but it’s the extreme side of things that comes with Abott and his cronies that is worrying.
Q&A was good the other night. Some lad said that Abbot is Australia having its George Bush Jnr moment
What culture Kev?
I believe it’s still there to some degree, there’s also a few traveller families living in the middle of one of the country’s most affluent villages, Dalkey.
There are traveler families living Dalkey, which is where I went to school and I remain on friendly terms with a couple of them. Unfortunately a couple of them are dead. And unfortunately a couple of them decided to become thieves and break into my friend’s parent’s house, knowing well whose house it was.
It’s a serious misconception to regard Dalkey as one of the most affluent villages, though. Several affordable/council estates were built a stone’s throw from the main street in the 20th century, probably to cater for the miners bringing the rocks down that air-powered train to build Dun Laoghaire pier, and many working class or lower middle class families live there to this day. Which is why the place is full of decent folk. And also some lazy cunts. Drugs took a bad hold in the 80s and 90s and unfortunately my best mate’s older brother was a victim. Not to mention the lad in my class in school. The way the media portray the place you’d swear it was Beverly Hills. Be that as it may, in my opinion it’s the best place in the whole of Ireland, besides Oola.
[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 856875, member: 129”]There are traveler families living Dalkey, which is where I went to school and I remain on friendly terms with a couple of them. Unfortunately a couple of them are dead. And unfortunately a couple of them decided to become thieves and break into my friend’s parent’s house, knowing well whose house it was.
It’s a serious misconception to regard Dalkey as one of the most affluent villages, though. Several affordable/council estates were built a stone’s throw from the main street in the 20th century, probably to cater for the miners bringing the rocks down that air-powered train to build Dun Laoghaire pier, and many working class or lower middle class families live there to this day. Which is why the place is full of decent folk. And also some lazy cunts. Drugs took a bad hold in the 80s and 90s and unfortunately my best mate’s older brother was a victim. Not to mention the lad in my class in school. The way the media portray the place you’d swear it was Beverly Hills. Be that as it may, in my opinion it’s the best place in the whole of Ireland, besides Oola.[/quote]
Dalkey is probably Ireland’s most affluent village and trying to paint it any other way is ridiculous. Drugs didnt ‘take a bad hold’ in dalkey ffs that’s Dolphins barn you’re thinking of.
[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 856875, member: 129”]There are traveler families living Dalkey, which is where I went to school and I remain on friendly terms with a couple of them. Unfortunately a couple of them are dead. And unfortunately a couple of them decided to become thieves and break into my friend’s parent’s house, knowing well whose house it was.
It’s a serious misconception to regard Dalkey as one of the most affluent villages, though. Several affordable/council estates were built a stone’s throw from the main street in the 20th century, probably to cater for the miners bringing the rocks down that air-powered train to build Dun Laoghaire pier, and many working class or lower middle class families live there to this day. Which is why the place is full of decent folk. And also some lazy cunts. Drugs took a bad hold in the 80s and 90s and unfortunately my best mate’s older brother was a victim. Not to mention the lad in my class in school. The way the media portray the place you’d swear it was Beverly Hills. Be that as it may, in my opinion it’s the best place in the whole of Ireland, besides Oola.[/quote]
You talk about affluence as if it’s a bad thing. There are not many more affluent than Dalkey, I think you are slightly overstating it’s social problems
The roads up along the coast and away from the main street where the celebs live are of course affluent. Hugely so. But the ordinary people who live/d in Begnets Villas, White’s Villas, down Convent road, up the back of the church were in no way affluent. A serious amount of fellas who were in my primary school became heroin addicts. If you want to dismiss the problem that existed like that I’d like to see you tell their families about it.
I personally don’t think dalkey has ever had a serious heroin problem but sure fire away.
For a small town it had a serious enough problem. Didn’t help having Glasthule and Dun Laoghaire up the road.
I think all Dubs think there own areas are far tougher than they are in reality.
Lived with few Malahide lads in the states and to hear em banging on “wiz grew up in a druuuuugs cuuuulture wiz never had a chance” after a few scoops was hilarious.
Imagine my surprise when I eventually got to see Malahide
[quote=“dancarter, post: 857248, member: 122”]I think all Dubs think there own areas are far tougher than they are in reality.
Lived with few Malahide lads in the states and to hear em banging on “wiz grew up in a druuuuugs cuuuulture wiz never had a chance” after a few scoops was hilarious.
Imagine my surprise when I eventually got to see Malahide[/quote]
Soft cunts.
Come down to moyross and watch fellas having to make shin guards out of tins of beans and duct tape just to play football they are so poor.
[quote=“dancarter, post: 857248, member: 122”]I think all Dubs think there own areas are far tougher than they are in reality.
I think a few lads need to have a listen to this
+1. I love my new Dublin chums but to hear them talk you would swear they grew up in South Central LA. Rolling up and down Mount Merrion Avenue in daddy’s 7 series and fingerbanging Caca Milis Toffington.
Which is worse, this or The Thills?
What’s The Thills?
You’re a lucky man. Move on with your life and don’t look back.
I’m saying nothing of the sort and my mother is from Ballybough so I know what a rough area is.
I just get pissed off when people refer to Dalkey as being a place full of posh fuckers. Foxrock might be that. Dalkey certainly isn’t (except as I mentioned, the millionaires’ houses in the surrounding area). Glasthule and Dun Laoghaire were rough as fuck back in the day and there was serious drug dealing and protection rackets going on. My father worked on Dun Laoghaire main street for 25 years and he’s told me all about it.
HOWEVER, I would never ever compare the area with Summerhill or Sherriff Street or the 'mun. I’m not stupid.
In an unrelated tale, some toerag from Beech Hill threatened to shoot me on Monday night.