Aussie Rules 2013

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 777263, member: 273”]Old.

Aussies are the most racist people in the world, as a nation. No other nation has the collective racism that exists here.

Of course this is something TASE privately agreed with me on. Just so we’re clear.[/quote]

mate, aussies are racist but we are worse- our treatment of our travelling community means we cant be aghast at what some kid does in Australia

have a look at the more shame for the travelling community thread to see collective racism

They are criminals that are talked about in that thread, criminals from the travelling community. It’s a community btw, not a race. A higher than normal % of their community are known criminals, it’s unfortunate, but it means many people are very wary of them, but not much else really.

But I don’t really remember the settled Irish raping, killing and pillaging the Travelling Community, unlike the cross European Aussies have to bear.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 777274, member: 273”]They are criminals that are talked about in that thread, criminals from the travelling community. It’s a community btw, not a race. A higher than normal % of their community are known criminals, it’s unfortunate, but it means many people are very wary of them, but not much else really.

But I don’t really remember the settled Irish raping, killing and pillaging the Travelling Community, unlike the cross European Aussies have to bear.[/quote]

They are a race mate . they are a seperate ethnicity to settled Irish people. Read up on it, the evidence is quite strong.

lets stick to the present and not the past. Are Indigenous Australians treated better or worse than Irish travellers. The reality is that its much of a muchness so the hand wringing by you and Gman is beyond hypocritical

Travelers are Indigenious irish people, just like I am. They are a community within Ireland just like the gay community or soccer community. They are a tribe like any other within our nation.

It’s quite simple, the Brits are to blame for everything, the treaent of the travelers and the Aboriginals.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 777728, member: 273”]Travelers are Indigenious irish people, just like I am. They are a community within Ireland just like the gay community or soccer community. They are a tribe like any other within our nation.

It’s quite simple, the Brits are to blame for everything, the treaent of the travelers and the Aboriginals.[/quote]

nonsense

Swans were brilliant on Friday night, really really enjoyed that, not just because we beat Collingwood, but the manner in which we did. Attacking football, fast, furious, amazing transition into attack at times. Adam Goodes was sensational. Everywhere.

Marty Clarke was terrible, but he had no protection at the back.

Collingwood are a frustrating team. You look at their player roster and think they are capable of pissing the premiership every year. But they have a clueless coach who is out of his depth. Their defending was laughable on Friday, the amount of space the Swans got was ridiculous and other teams like Geelong would never allow that. Buckley was a limited and not very skillful or intelligent player, but he was a leader and a prime example of the macho aussie player. They’ve made a huge mistake making him coach. I don’t think the players give him any respect.

Gerrard No1 - do you think the lack of atmosphere was because the magpies were so bad?

As to the racism incident, well “ape” to my mind is a completely racist term. That it was a 13 year old girl makes it more disappointing. Goodes was absolutely correct in what he did and he spoke incredibly well about it on Saturday. He is a most impressive person, aside from being on the the truly great players of the game in the last 20 years. In fairness to Collingwood, I’m not sure what more they can do. Their supporter base are the worst kind of white anglo saxon skangers.

Kev, I agree there is an issue with racism in this country, but its with white people, who are under threat as the majority. 1 in 4 people living in this country were born overseas. 1 in 3 have a parent born overseas. Attitudes are changing, but it will take time. Its still an incredibly successful multicultural society (though I shudder to think what the next prime minister has up his sleeve regarding the indigenous people).

The Crows came storming back yesterday to win an incredible game against the worlds unluckiest team, North Melbourne.

Pearce Hanley is making a big name for himself this year:
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-24/irish-lion-hanley-a-homeground-hero

Big one this weekend at the SCG, Swans V Essendon. The Swans need to kick on now and show that it wasn’t just the Magpies playing shite, but the Swans playing brilliantly. I hope we beat the shit out of the drug taking fuckers.

who does Pearse Hanley play for Fitzy?

Id assume he would be treated like a king in his adopted city and evryone would know and love him

“Gerrard No1 - do you think the lack of atmosphere was because the magpies were so bad?”

Certainly didn’t help. There would have been a bit of an atmosphere if it was closer, but still nothing like in football games. I was also in the swans section so expected more of an atmosphere.

I’ve been to a good few games now and there has been better atmosphere at a-league games in the aami stadium tbh

It’s too long and not spectacular enough anymore.

Just watching 360. Mark Robertson just said (paraphrasing)" there is a huge undercurrent of racism in Australia, I know this from the stuff I have read on twitter and the reaction from some people to Adam Goodes, some calling him a sook".

Great to see a white Aussie tell it straight. The reaction is in a stupidity level with those lads that thought Achill Island said “Celtic supporting Islam”

Tiochfaidh Allah.

Islam CSC.

It this being discussed anywhere else on the board?

Fucking priceless the amount of gobshites who fell for it, and also outted themselves as racists at the same time.

[quote=“gerrardno1, post: 777743, member: 50”]“Gerrard No1 - do you think the lack of atmosphere was because the magpies were so bad?”

Certainly didn’t help. There would have been a bit of an atmosphere if it was closer, but still nothing like in football games. I was also in the swans section so expected more of an atmosphere.

I’ve been to a good few games now and there has been better atmosphere at a-league games in the aami stadium tbh[/quote]
Do you go to many A League games Gerrard? I assume you support either Victory or whatever Heart is called this week.

Tommy Walsh kicked 7 goals for the Sydney reserves last week, and Sam Reid is out injured now too, so with Reid out and Tippett still unavailable, there is a good chance Walsh could be back in for the Essendon game, and even get a 4 week stint. If he does come in, it will be pretty much his last throw of the dice. He could have 4 weeks to finally show whether or not he will play AFL anymore.

Im no expert on sport but that lad Walsh doesnt have the physicality or mental strentgh to play any sport at a high level

Finally, honesty from TASE.

Tommy’s scoring well consistently for the reserves and really needs a 5-6 game run in the senior side to get some traction. A few minutes here and there isn’t going to help him or the Swans. With Reid out, this is a good opportunity for him before Tippett comes in. Not sure if it will be his last chance GMan, with injuries, he could become important towards the business end of the season and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him played out of position as well.

I dont know Fitzy. If he comes into these games, potentially 4 of them, and doesnt perform, I cant see him getting another chance once Tippett and Reid are back. I know he has been playing in defence at times too, but I think the next few games if he gets his chance is make or break for him.

Ya but the gap between the NEAFL and AFL is huge apparently and nowhere near the standard of WAFL, VFL, SANFL. So blowing it up at that level possibly has alot to do with his size and professional training.

I honestly think Tommy, on recent viewings, would not make the Perth WAFL team for instance. Hopefully I’m wrong, I’d like him to succeed, but it does not look good.

only after hearing Eddie McGuires king kong reference. what a fucking tool. he has come out and said he didnt know what he was saying and just mumbled on, and in fariness to him, its sounds like he was just talking about nothing and didnt know where it was going. but for fuck sake, what was he thinking.

Darcy: What a great promo that is for King Kong.
McGuire: Get Adam Goodes down for it do you reckon?
Darcy: No I wouldn’t have thought so, absolutely not.
McGuire: You can see them doing that can’t you?
Darcy: Who?
McGuire: Goodsey.
Darcy: What’s that?
McGuire: You know with the ape thing, the whole thing, I’m just saying the pumping him up and mucking around and all that sort of stuff.

I genuinely dont know where he was going with that. after getting kudos for seeing Goodes straight after the match, to come out with that a couple of days later is baffling to say the least.