[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 781346, member: 80”]The real reason is that he was brought up playing an amateur sport where they only play a few games a month - his body wasnt able to handle pro sports,
Its no surprise thatthe lads that come from Ireland early enough can adjust but the likes of Kilkenny,O hailpin and Walsh who played senior intercounty amatuer footy either gave up straight away or their bodies gave up on them[/quote]
Kilkenny was 19, younger than Hanley, Stynes or Kenneally who all excelled at the the game so you’re talking thru your hole. He left cos he didn’t like Australia, he was going to be a star.
Gold Coast & St. Kildare should both beat the spread.
Long term, North Melbourne will make top 8, I’m very sure of that. They have thrown away a few games but they have played all the big teams and are actually playing well, they are 17/10 to make the 8, I think it’s a banker.
Gold Coast at 20/1 are a decent long shot for a tenner.
Fucking Eagles. Was going to watch yesterdays game, but weather was great so didnt bother. Started watching a recording last night and got sick of it so didnt bother with the rest of it. Their shooting is abysmal. thats about 5 games now where the point tally has been way more than their goal scored. Thats just horrendous shit. The intensity is lacking in a lot of their play, whether thats like you say Kev and down to ego or not I dont know. Perth being such a goldfish bowl has never helped, but its always been like that there and other better teams and players have coped.
Shame about Walsh. Was watching that game and he was doing ok, competing well, made use of what ball he got. Didnt bother watching after he went off, expected Sydney to win out easily. Hanley was a dissappointment in the Lions game Friday. MacAffer really shut him down. Clarke did well, but was generally untested. Strange how McGuire was straight back in for the commentary after all the Adam Goodes stuff last week.
The Roos are a decent side alright, but you’d have to question their mental strength after losing so many games in the last moments.
Bizarre tht McGuire is front and centre. It’s like it never happened. Malt house got his dig in at the weeken on the West. He had a go at the people who felt sorry for McGuire. He also indicated there is a racist sOciety here. It really reflects badly on Australian society that he got so much support.
To be honest, it’s a disgrace. I’d put it up there with our embarrassment with te Catholic Church and just behind the likes of Halvey, Galway & Harte.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781526, member: 273”]
To be honest, it’s a disgrace. I’d put it up there with our embarrassment with te Catholic Church and just behind the likes of Halvey, Galway & Harte.[/quote]
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781526, member: 273”]Bizarre tht McGuire is front and centre. It’s like it never happened. Malt house got his dig in at the weeken on the West. He had a go at the people who felt sorry for McGuire. He also indicated there is a racist sOciety here. It really reflects badly on Australian society that he got so much support.
To be honest, it’s a disgrace. I’d put it up there with our embarrassment with te Catholic Church and just behind the likes of Halvey, Galway & Harte.[/quote]
only saw certain comments he made generally about it all, not having to walk in their shoes, Goodes is a fine person etc. What else did he say?
not sure where I’d place it on an overall league ladder of scandals, but its probably more of an over riding situation of the whole country rather than just this incident. there is a level of racism engrained in culture there. There was a BBC 3 part series on Oz for the last couple of weeks, and they spoke about racism on that. They spoke with some Lebanese girls in Sydney who meet up to play AFL on the beach and how they all considered themselves born and bred Australians, but how they are never really properly accepted. For a country that was founded on migrants and where the vast majority can claim heritage going back very short generations to Europe, its a bit ironic the level or racism and illwill given to people moving there and what they term ‘boat people’.
thats my point too. there shouldnt be egos with them, many more teams before them have coped, and Freo now too. Although I would think there is far more pressure and expectation of the Eagles than there are of the Dockers. Maybe things are a bit different, but I always got the feeling that people were just waiting until the Dockers imploded or fell out of the 8 and how it would be gret if they hang on to make the finals, whereas they always expect the Eagles to be in the 8 and challenging. A sense of superiority that is not deserved.
So it’s a proper sport now. I love your flexibility on such matters.
The actual fact is he was getting too good too fast at the game and try we’re holding him back so as he wouldn’t embarrass the Aussies making it look so easy.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781769, member: 273”]So it’s a proper sport now. I love your flexibility on such matters.
The actual fact is he was getting too good too fast at the game and try we’re holding him back so as he wouldn’t embarrass the Aussies making it look so easy.[/quote]
mate, you need to have the ability to change your opinions on things as new facts and evidence emerge. It shows a great mind
Kilkenny lasted 3 training sessions and 1 night on the beer in Noosa and realised he wasnt up for it and went home. He let himself and his country down
Gman
Part if the issue is them making all about Adam Goodes, he’s a great guy etc. thing is they sound like they signal him out as unusual from the Indigenous community. But as you alluded to, it’s far bigger than just the Indigenous issue, every culture that comes here is looked as as 2nd class, including ourselves. Just like you say about the Lebanese, I would hazard a guess 80-90% of Irish people who stay here will never feel completely welcomed and will never become in any real way “Australian”. The major communities in Perth are the English, Kiwi, Indian and Irish that have flooded here recently. Even though many would think the Brits are most like the Aussies, they are probably the most isolated. Like alot of the Irish (although this is changing slightly) the Brits work almost exclusively within their own community and by all people the White European Aussies are treated with mistrust.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781774, member: 273”]Gman
Part if the issue is them making all about Adam Goodes, he’s a great guy etc. thing is they sound like they signal him out as unusual from the Indigenous community. But as you alluded to, it’s far bigger than just the Indigenous issue, every culture that comes here is looked as as 2nd class, including ourselves. Just like you say about the Lebanese, I would hazard a guess 80-90% of Irish people who stay here will never feel completely welcomed and will never become in any real way “Australian”. The major communities in Perth are the English, Kiwi, Indian and Irish that have flooded here recently. Even though many would think the Brits are most like the Aussies, they are probably the most isolated. Like alot of the Irish (although this is changing slightly) the Brits work almost exclusively within their own community and by all people the White European Aussies are treated with mistrust.[/quote]
the lebanese are crooks and are into organised crime. they dont want to assimilate.
Millions upon millions are thrown at indigenous Australians yet they are drunks and thieves - time they stood up and got their act togerther
The irish are drunks and simpletons
The brits are elitist
all these opinions are less racist than the opinions by the vast number of Irish people towards the travelling community
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781778, member: 273”]Interesting. So you think we should ignore/not discuss or criticize racism in one country because of inequality in another country?
Should we ignore rape and paedophilia as well?[/quote]
No, I am consistent in my anti racism stance. Its people who are racist agaisnt travellors giving out about racism which I find hypocritical. I dont know your opinions on travellors but the Irish as a whole are racist against the ethnic minority in their country yet take the moral highground with the Australians
No country is without it’s issues, Ireland no different. However, general passive racism in Oz is a million times worse than Ireland. Modern Ireland is a very tolerant place where minorities are concerned and our acceptance of the gay and lesbian community destroys any country I have been to. After a shaky start we accepted the influx of foreigners who have come to Ireland, we have alot to be proud of. Australia has ha people flocking here for 50 years, yet they still have no idea how to deal with it. That’s completely aside from the ridiculous situation they are in with Indigenous people. The nicest of people here are racist, it’s bizarre, we all think of racists as un-educated, bogan type, bitter people or in some cases out and out extremists. The issue here is its the vast majority, the good, the badThey simply really struggle with welcoming people of different races an cultures.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 781526, member: 273”]Bizarre tht McGuire is front and centre. It’s like it never happened. Malt house got his dig in at the weeken on the West. He had a go at the people who felt sorry for McGuire. He also indicated there is a racist sOciety here. It really reflects badly on Australian society that he got so much support.
This is really shitting me. Its like it didn’t happen now, one week on.
A few weeks ago, David Morrow, one of the ABC’s better commentators, was caught saying something about darkies in Alice Springs to another presenter. He thought he was off air, but the mic was on. Now I don’t believe for a moment that David Morrow is a racist, in the same way I don’t think Eddie is a racist. However, David Morrow accepted responsibility and understood that this kind of casual racism, what we white people think is innocuous, but in reality is deeply offensive, is a form of racism. He’s been suspended by the ABC pretty much until the end of the rugby league season and is missing commentating on Origin, something he’s done for years.
Eddie hasn’t skipped a beat. Hasn’t missed any of the radio and TV programs he presents, still Collingwood president. If Eddie was really serious about this subject, he would have resigned as Collingwood president. That would have sent a message. While he remains in that position, there is an inherant justification for casual racism.
[quote=“Fitzy, post: 782107, member: 236”]This is really shitting me. Its like it didn’t happen now, one week on.
A few weeks ago, David Morrow, one of the ABC’s better commentators, was caught saying something about darkies in Alice Springs to another presenter. He thought he was off air, but the mic was on. Now I don’t believe for a moment that David Morrow is a racist, in the same way I don’t think Eddie is a racist. However, David Morrow accepted responsibility and understood that this kind of casual racism, what we white people think is innocuous, but in reality is deeply offensive, is a form of racism. He’s been suspended by the ABC pretty much until the end of the rugby league season and is missing commentating on Origin, something he’s done for years.
Eddie hasn’t skipped a beat. Hasn’t missed any of the radio and TV programs he presents, still Collingwood president. If Eddie was really serious about this subject, he would have resigned as Collingwood president. That would have sent a message. While he remains in that position, there is an inherant justification for casual racism.[/quote]
The ABC has higher standards Fisty
Do you watch media watch? its the best show on here