[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 831766, member: 273”]Ya, only missed the double by one score, and they had enough of it. To be fair though I even thought the 1-39 was gone as well at one stage they were so abject (Carlton).
I really wonder how some of these lads make it to pro level. Size is a big thing. The amount of useless big lumps cheating a living around Australia between pro, semi-pro and even country is astounding. Carlton had 3 big fellas who should really be called in Monday to see what they were at.[/quote]
yer man Casbolt who was in to replace Kreuzer I dont know did he even touch the ball all game? and Jamison. Hard to think this was the same Carlton who played so hard in the last 2 games. They didnt look up for that one in any way at all. Had a real good chance, particularly when Sydney lost 2 players to injury. Sydney have too much out IMO to challenge Freo next week. Richards could (should) be suspended too which would be a massive loss.
Waite (sp?) was a disgrace. A man 8 KG light and maybe 4-5 inches smaller destroyed him. He made no effort at all till last 1/4 when it was all up.
You are right about Sydney, possibly missing Goodes, Tippett, O Keaffe, Richards and who ever else. The week off in AFL at this time of year is huge as well. Teams are banjaxed.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 831787, member: 273”]Waite (sp?) was a disgrace. A man 8 KG light and maybe 4-5 inches smaller destroyed him. He made no effort at all till last 1/4 when it was all up.
You are right about Sydney, possibly missing Goodes, Tippett, O Keaffe, Richards and who ever else. The week off in AFL at this time of year is huge as well. Teams are banjaxed.
Season is too long.[/quote]
I’d say too many games in such a short spell. Its far too condensed for the amount of games in it.
I didnt mind Waite though, thought he was the only one of the forwards to go in first quarter. He was shite after that, but was far from alone there. The mystique around Judd is surely gone now. He is a pale pale shadow of his former self. They still harp on about him as being a champ and the best around, particularly in the media, but I think he has been pretty poor for a couple of years now, even leaving my biased opinion of him aside.
McVeigh was class alright. 20 possessions in a quarter is unreal stuff. He is a very under rated player IMO. always liked him, particularly after what he went through losing his daughter.
He’s a brilliant player and a top bloke. Great performance by the bloods in fairness, but with the injuries now really mounting up and possible suspension to Teddy, Freo over there are one game too many.
Kurt Tippett’s definitely out of the Freo game, but could be right for the GF if we win. Still waiting for definitive news on Ryan O’Keefe. Teddy Richards has escaped suspension and is free to play, a huge boost to the Swans as he’ll mark Matthew Pavlich.
I still can’t see the Swans winning, but it could turn into a battle of attrition. Freo will need to rack up a decent lead by half time and get the Swans to play and take risks. If the Swans get away from Freo in the first two quarters, they could lock the game down and their finals experience will be key then. Freo are not a big scoring team, but they don’t concede much either (I think they had the best points conceded record in the league in the regular season). So it could be a very low scoring, dour affair. Not that the victors will give a shit how they get there.
Buddy and Cyril Rioli are back for Hawthorn against Geelong (without Paul Chapman) tonight to break the Kennett curse.
Matthew Pavlich has declared tomorrow night will be “footy war” which is a pretty good description of what the Dockers / Swans game could turn out to be. I think the Dockers will eventually prevail to rach their first GF, BUT the Swans at $4.05? Thats a crazy price IMO and I’ll be having a taste of that.
Bookies are saying Hawthorn and with very decent reason, but Freo are going to win. Some great prices in then as well.
I just think they are in better form and are perfectly suited to upsetting Hawthorns game. Their intensity is ridiculous.
In Hawthorns favour is the extra days rest and the fact Freo lose another day traveling. Having said that Hawks had to play hard for 100 mins whereas Freo basically put a halt to it at half time.
The 1-39 at 2.75 looks good.
I’m very tempted by a Clare double with this. Pays 5.25
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 836492, member: 273”]Grand Final this weekend.
Bookies are saying Hawthorn and with very decent reason, but Freo are going to win. Some great prices in then as well.
I just think they are in better form and are perfectly suited to upsetting Hawthorns game. Their intensity is ridiculous.
In Hawthorns favour is the extra days rest and the fact Freo lose another day traveling. Having said that Hawks had to play hard for 100 mins whereas Freo basically put a halt to it at half time.
The 1-39 at 2.75 looks good.
I’m very tempted by a Clare double with this. Pays 5.25[/quote]
I think the Hawks will win, but I dont see there being much in it. Freo wont let a team smash them, but I just think the Hawks have better players throughout and have that bit more experience. The one plus Freo have is that Lyons has been there before and left a GF behind him with St Kilda, so it will be useful to pull on that experience. The intensity of Freo is something else, the forward press they get on it is excellent. I just think the Hawks have enough players in the backline to kick themselves out of danger and good ball carriers in the middle to transfer it up top then.
Ya, that’s a very reasonable outlook. Form and injuries tilt it ever so slightly to Freo for me. Crowley in Mitchell as well. If Mitchell is stopped or influence reduced Hawks could struggle. A few of their stars have noticeably not been in form either in finals.
yeah Sam Mitchell is absolutely key for me. He is unbelievable in his use of the ball, distribution is excellent in tight areas to get them out of a jam. True, Buddy and Cyril havent been lighting it up nor Hodge IMO, but at the same time some of the lesser players have really stepped up and taken on the responsibility. Gunston has been really good, and the likes of Puopolo and Brad Hill have really been better than their more experienced team mates. Burgoyne too and Lake are probably the best of the older players, and I think Hale has a bit more mobility than Sandilands to make up for the advantage Freo may have with hit outs at stoppages.
It will be an interesting game though, Freo remind me of Donegal, all playing to a superb intense team system that they all buy into, with a decent team but not that many stand out stars.
[quote=“Gman, post: 836514, member: 112”]yeah Sam Mitchell is absolutely key for me. He is unbelievable in his use of the ball, distribution is excellent in tight areas to get them out of a jam. True, Buddy and Cyril havent been lighting it up nor Hodge IMO, but at the same time some of the lesser players have really stepped up and taken on the responsibility. Gunston has been really good, and the likes of Puopolo and Brad Hill have really been better than their more experienced team mates. Burgoyne too and Lake are probably the best of the older players, and I think Hale has a bit more mobility than Sandilands to make up for the advantage Freo may have with hit outs at stoppages.
It will be an interesting game though, Freo remind me of Donegal, all playing to a superb intense team system that they all buy into, with a decent team but not that many stand out stars.[/quote]
Ya, as a team they polled the most Brownlow votes. Apparently a tip went out Monday it was going to happen and people made a killing on the bet.
Freo are shortening in price every day. A lot of the media are starting to pick them
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 836699, member: 273”]Ya, as a team they polled the most Brownlow votes. Apparently a tip went out Monday it was going to happen and people made a killing on the bet.
Freo are shortening in price every day. A lot of the media are starting to pick them[/quote]
seems a lot of Mickees fan polls are too. It wouldnt shock me to see Freo win, but I just dont see Hawthorn losing 2 close finals 2 years in a row. looking forward to it though, should be a good one.
I could see them losing 5 in a row. They have a soft core to them. They have showed glimpses of losing it but every now and then the signs are there. It takes a good club to keep getting to the last 4, maybe they are not as good as everyone says. Or maybe they put too much into the regular season.
Anyway, it is an interesting Final and I too am looking forward to it. The efforts of Freo to paint itself up are pityful though. A handful of flags, that’s it. They have t-shirts to all the high school kids. But you wouldn’t really know they were in their first final.
Did you see the “Freo Abu” banner at the game last weekend? A massive one.