[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 836714, member: 273”]I could see them losing 5 in a row. They have a soft core to them. They have showed glimpses of losing it but every now and then the signs are there. It takes a good club to keep getting to the last 4, maybe they are not as good as everyone says. Or maybe they put too much into the regular season.
Anyway, it is an interesting Final and I too am looking forward to it. The efforts of Freo to paint itself up are pityful though. A handful of flags, that’s it. They have t-shirts to all the high school kids. But you wouldn’t really know they were in their first final.
Did you see the “Freo Abu” banner at the game last weekend? A massive one.[/quote]
That in Fremantle itself or Perth? Thought there would have been a major buzz about, with Eagles not even getting to finals, I thought the attention would shift somewhat and they’d have a big support. although in saying that, at the Derby game outside the club shops, there was a queue for ages to get into the Eagles shop, yet the Freo one right beside it was empty. I had thought Freo were starting to get more support, in particular from people who are sickened by the Eagles, but maybe it hasnt been the case.
Saw the Freo Abu banner alright, (yer man is from Derry - http://www.irishecho.com.au/tag/freo-abu) and there seemed to be a great atmosphere at the game. had to laugh at yer man Baz interviewing Crowleys parents and asking them where he gets his nasty streak from! And Crowleys mother saying, aw no, he isnt nasty. Crowley IMO is actually under rated in his ball playing ability. Whilst he is a tagger to the extreme, he does get on the ball quite a bit too. He is an awful cunt though.
[quote=“Gman, post: 836719, member: 112”]That in Fremantle itself or Perth? Thought there would have been a major buzz about, with Eagles not even getting to finals, I thought the attention would shift somewhat and they’d have a big support. although in saying that, at the Derby game outside the club shops, there was a queue for ages to get into the Eagles shop, yet the Freo one right beside it was empty. I had thought Freo were starting to get more support, in particular from people who are sickened by the Eagles, but maybe it hasnt been the case.
Saw the Freo Abu banner alright, (yer man is from Derry - http://www.irishecho.com.au/tag/freo-abu) and there seemed to be a great atmosphere at the game. had to laugh at yer man Baz interviewing Crowleys parents and asking them where he gets his nasty streak from! And Crowleys mother saying, aw no, he isnt nasty. Crowley IMO is actually under rated in his ball playing ability. Whilst he is a tagger to the extreme, he does get on the ball quite a bit too. He is an awful cunt though.[/quote]
Crowley is a brilliant player. He makes himself available defensively a lot and kicks well.
I was talking about Freo itself. There is a big build up, just no colour.
I think the reason the que was bigger at the Eagles shop was because Freo fans either couldn’t afford it or don’t go in for that kind of shite. This is a generalization, but with plenty anecdotal evidence nonetheless, but I find the Freo fans far more authentic and genuine. There is a lot of the same bull shit with the Eagles tha you would associate with Munster or Leinster Rugby. Freo are a more working class type club. But from my brief experience of the 2 clubs and people I know and met from them Freo is a far more favour able environment. They reach out to the community is a better way. There is a lot of arrogance with the Eagles. From where I was coming from, it’s very misplaced as well and bordering on deliousional. Maybe why they under achieve.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 836746, member: 273”]Crowley is a brilliant player. He makes himself available defensively a lot and kicks well.
I was talking about Freo itself. There is a big build up, just no colour.
I think the reason the que was bigger at the Eagles shop was because Freo fans either couldn’t afford it or don’t go in for that kind of shite. This is a generalization, but with plenty anecdotal evidence nonetheless, but I find the Freo fans far more authentic and genuine. There is a lot of the same bull shit with the Eagles tha you would associate with Munster or Leinster Rugby. Freo are a more working class type club. But from my brief experience of the 2 clubs and people I know and met from them Freo is a far more favour able environment. They reach out to the community is a better way. There is a lot of arrogance with the Eagles. From where I was coming from, it’s very misplaced as well and bordering on deliousional. Maybe why they under achieve.[/quote]
would agree with that, and said as much to you before. that the players seem to make more of themselves and believe they are superstars, and the goldfish bowl that is Perth gives them the platform to do so, but you dont see the same issues with Freo.
I think the biggest issues stem from Freo starting up as an expansion club, whereas the Eagles were there as the first WA club, so when Freo started they were the lesser of the 2, and their first few years were pretty amatuerish in their approach to a lot of things. That was the way for quite a long time, and its only in the last few years when the likes of Connolly and Harvey were in charge from the early 2000’s on that the club started getting things right and as a result of board management, started drafting better and getting a proper supporters base.
So I guess there were years when the Eagles supporters were scoffing at their neighbours, especially since the Eagles were winning their first flags and doing well when the Dockers were starting, but there is only so long you can stand around laughing at someone til it comes around to bite you in the arse.
[quote=“Gman, post: 836751, member: 112”]would agree with that, and said as much to you before. that the players seem to make more of themselves and believe they are superstars, and the goldfish bowl that is Perth gives them the platform to do so, but you dont see the same issues with Freo.
I think the biggest issues stem from Freo starting up as an expansion club, whereas the Eagles were there as the first WA club, so when Freo started they were the lesser of the 2, and their first few years were pretty amatuerish in their approach to a lot of things. That was the way for quite a long time, and its only in the last few years when the likes of Connolly and Harvey were in charge from the early 2000’s on that the club started getting things right and as a result of board management, started drafting better and getting a proper supporters base.
So I guess there were years when the Eagles supporters were scoffing at their neighbours, especially since the Eagles were winning their first flags and doing well when the Dockers were starting, but there is only so long you can stand around laughing at someone til it comes around to bite you in the arse.[/quote]
Ya fair comment. I think it’s got to do with Eagles being first show in town too.
I find the sporting culture here different to anywhere else in Oz. It’s almost French, if we win great, but if not “pffffftttt”.
Ya pretty much. They are not liked by Geelong and Crowley and Ballantyne are hated by most fans but in general they are a liked bunch. Also Hawthorn are really disliked by all the other Vic clubs probably only 2nd to Collingwood in disliked teams.
Pavlich was really good in the International Rules in 2002. That was by far the best series ever. As a socialist I will be supporting the Fremantle Dockers in this, despite being aware that the nickname was probably thought up a soulless multi-national marketing agency.
Brian Lara got 501 in a county championship match for Warwickshire in 1994 and was sponsored at the time by Joe Bloggs jeans. They wanted to bring out a special range of Brian Lara 501 clothes, but Levi’s put a stop to that too.