Aussie Rules 2013

That’s what they have

With a stoppage clock. Our game is 25 and went for average actual time on ground at 33 last week.

Great to see Setanta come back and score 5 goals. He has shown great determination to get back. Very well liked at GWS by all accounts.

Also Pierce Hanly was been talked up as potentially the best Irish AFL player ever. I didn’t see much of Stynes, but that statement could be close to the money, he has been in the Lions Best & Fairest 2-3 years now and has made a blinding start to the season, believes to be picking up the brownlow award votes.

On top of that Marty Clarke was superb yesterday, his best game in a while. He is slimmer than his last stint ( as most AFL players are) and think the movement needed and counter attacking games suits him.

Zak Touhy is in decent form after a sluggish start apparently (have not seen much of him, might have started in VFL) and was pretty good the other night.

Gives an alternative outlook on Irish players after the last couple of drop outs/disappointments.

The 2 WA sides are struggling badly with form and missing key players. Freo are pretty toothless without Pavlich even though he was in poor form he takes a player or two out Of the equation.

Eagles are just awful to watch. Not sure is there something more going on, but they don’t look united and one would have to seriously question could they get top 4, top 8 is unlikely I. Present form although they should sort their shit out.

GMan - Know anything about the reasons Chris Judd left Eagles, heard it mentioned a few times now that he didn’t like the culture. The Perth Culture (hard to blame him if that)? The Eagles culture? The players? What? Any insight? He seems like a top bloke who doesn’t really like the limelight. Why would he walk away from a top team capable if winning?

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 762211, member: 273”]Great to see Setanta come back and score 5 goals. He has shown great determination to get back. Very well liked at GWS by all accounts.

Also Pierce Hanly was been talked up as potentially the best Irish AFL player ever. I didn’t see much of Stynes, but that statement could be close to the money, he has been in the Lions Best & Fairest 2-3 years now and has made a blinding start to the season, believes to be picking up the brownlow award votes.

On top of that Marty Clarke was superb yesterday, his best game in a while. He is slimmer than his last stint ( as most AFL players are) and think the movement needed and counter attacking games suits him.

Zak Touhy is in decent form after a sluggish start apparently (have not seen much of him, might have started in VFL) and was pretty good the other night.

Gives an alternative outlook on Irish players after the last couple of drop outs/disappointments.

The 2 WA sides are struggling badly with form and missing key players. Freo are pretty toothless without Pavlich even though he was in poor form he takes a player or two out Of the equation.

Eagles are just awful to watch. Not sure is there something more going on, but they don’t look united and one would have to seriously question could they get top 4, top 8 is unlikely I. Present form although they should sort their shit out.

GMan - Know anything about the reasons Chris Judd left Eagles, heard it mentioned a few times now that he didn’t like the culture. The Perth Culture (hard to blame him if that)? The Eagles culture? The players? What? Any insight? He seems like a top bloke who doesn’t really like the limelight. Why would he walk away from a top team capable if winning?[/quote]

fair play to Setanta alright. Havent seen any of that game, heard he was full of fist pumps and celebrations anyway! some things never change!

Hanley was unreal in the Adelaide game, and was definitely best on ground and will get full brownlow points from that game. He has emerged as a pivotal player for the Lions now, and I’m really disappointing in them this year though, I had expected them to be pushing hard for a top 8 spot. Cant see it happening now, and they’ll be mid table obscurity again.

Clarke was excellent in the Carlton game too and kicked a goal in it as well. Watching that one, I actually forgot Tuohy was playing until I realised he was in part at fault for some of Jamie Elliots goals. Clarke has had a very good start though, and despite most at the club thinking he wont be in their best 22 when all players back from injury, I actually think he may hold onto his spot. As good as form as Dwyer is showing, he is only fresh to AFL after 8 years in the VFL, and I never really rated Ben Johnson. Clarke should hold out ahead of both those, and has more experience than a few others trying to break through.

Tuohy was good again yesterday against the Eagles. He was poor starting off alright, and his place I would have thought was in doubt, particularly after the Pies game. But fair fucks, he is going well now, despite a ridiculous amount of stupid tattoos and one of the worst beards I have ever seen.

Eagles are fucking muck right now. Even with LeCras back, they still arent going well. Too many of the younger promising players like Shuey, Darling and Gaff have dipped alarmingly in form from last year instead of pushing on another notch. That is really disappointing. Obviously NicNat is a huge loss, but even when he is back, at some stage we have to gear up for when Cox finishes up, so we need a second capable ruckman. Was not impressed at all with Sinclair, and the set shots straight in front and missing both was disastrous. Kicking what was it, 23 behinds? fuck sake. easy to pinpoint the problems straight away, because they did battle well, and got plenty of inside 50s. Kerr is another one who needs to start getting involved more. Too many times just on the edge of things, need him to start controlling games again. Super goal he kicked though. It’ll be interesting to see if Wellingham can restart the midfield issues. Rosa back too would help. But too many times the main Eagles players are out injured, and I know Kev this is something you have a particular interest in. and th eother issue, we play a real forward press type of style, and if the opposition can break it, we need quick fast players who can retreat. The players at half back right now, certainly do not have that, and we are leaking massive scores.

With regards to Judas, he is what I would see as a mercenary type player. he knew he was top player and wanted top money, and always wanted to play in Melbourne, and the clubs there would fall over themselves to take him. He is more into the limelight than you would think too, is married to model Rebecca Twigley, who likes the limelight too. His mother I remember wrote a really shit song before on of the Grand Finals against Sydeny and wanted to sing it on the day. Best she got was to sing it on the footy show that week, but fuck me it was horrendous. West Coast got Kennedy, Masten and Notte out of that deal, but in the long run, Judd staying would have been better. For why he left? I reckon the culture he spoke of was more to do with the club and the blind eye they often had towards players off field indiscretions. Cousins was in the midst of his drug fuelled binges, and I reckon Daniel Chick was also one of the ones heavily involved. There seemed to be a drinking and drug taking attitude within players, and Kerr was another who was caught up in off field crap. I’d say after being in 2 grand finals, Judd was sickened seeing his team waste its talents and just wanted to go back to Vic.

think its time the AFL knocked the Qld experiment on the head

Cool, makes sense that he would leave if that shit was going on.

I have seen some of the Eagles half backs up close, they are far from superstars alright, although Ash Smith is very dominant at WAFL.

On goal kicking, and this bemused the fuck out of me, they don’t practice set shots, pretty much at any level. They leave it completely up to the players. Some guys study the mental side of it and all that, nut the ignorance towards practicing set shots is astonishing really. When I asked about it the answer was kicking % has not changed in 100 years so why put the time into it.

They are absolutely obsessed with tradition and it’s very hard to get them to look at adjustments.

[quote=“Gman, post: 762290, member: 112”]

With regards to Judas, he is what I would see as a mercenary type player. he knew he was top player and wanted top money, and always wanted to play in Melbourne, and the clubs there would fall over themselves to take him. He is more into the limelight than you would think too, is married to model Rebecca Twigley, who likes the limelight too. His mother I remember wrote a really shit song before on of the Grand Finals against Sydney and wanted to sing it on the day. Best she got was to sing it on the footy show that week, but fuck me it was horrendous. West Coast got Kennedy, Masten and Notte out of that deal, but in the long run, Judd staying would have been better. For why he left? I reckon the culture he spoke of was more to do with the club and the blind eye they often had towards players off field indiscretions. Cousins was in the midst of his drug fuelled binges, and I reckon Daniel Chick was also one of the ones heavily involved. There seemed to be a drinking and drug taking attitude within players, and Kerr was another who was caught up in off field crap. I’d say after being in 2 grand finals, Judd was sickened seeing his team waste its talents and just wanted to go back to Vic.[/quote]

You’re not making much sense here GMan. Judd is a Judas, but was sickened at the culture at West Coast? The stories now emerging about organised crime’s links to aussie rules could have a lot to do with it. I’ve always liked Judd, he’s a tremendous athlete and a very intelligent guy (he listens to Radio National, this is a good thing) and while his wife, the astonishingly beautiful Rebecca Twigley, is a model, they actually seem to stay away from the celeb circuit. There is no question that the culture at West Coast was out of control at the time. Judd doesn’t speak about it, but apparently he had been trying to get out for some time. Going to Carlton though was probably a mistake.

Haven’t watched much AFL lately due to the A League, but having won that, I’m now devoting my time to aussie rules. At least until the Ashes and the GAA Championships hot up!

Setanta was brilliant yesterday, delighted for him. Toohey’s flying.

GMan, are West Coasts poor form just due to the injuries, or is it deeper? I thought that when they got a few players back they’d roll again, but they’re looking very dodgy. Kerr is an infuriating player, you know he could be an absolute star, but he’s lazy.

Kev, its a good point you make about kicking from marks for goals. The standard of kicking technique in the AFL is appalling and it makes sense when you say they’re not practising it. 21 behinds for West Coast at the weekend, thats totally unacceptable.

[quote=“Fitzy, post: 762899, member: 236”]You’re not making much sense here GMan. Judd is a Judas, but was sickened at the culture at West Coast? The stories now emerging about organised crime’s links to aussie rules could have a lot to do with it. I’ve always liked Judd, he’s a tremendous athlete and a very intelligent guy (he listens to Radio National, this is a good thing) and while his wife, the astonishingly beautiful Rebecca Twigley, is a model, they actually seem to stay away from the celeb circuit. There is no question that the culture at West Coast was out of control at the time. Judd doesn’t speak about it, but apparently he had been trying to get out for some time. Going to Carlton though was probably a mistake.

Haven’t watched much AFL lately due to the A League, but having won that, I’m now devoting my time to aussie rules. At least until the Ashes and the GAA Championships hot up!

Setanta was brilliant yesterday, delighted for him. Toohey’s flying.

GMan, are West Coasts poor form just due to the injuries, or is it deeper? I thought that when they got a few players back they’d roll again, but they’re looking very dodgy. Kerr is an infuriating player, you know he could be an absolute star, but he’s lazy.

Kev, its a good point you make about kicking from marks for goals. The standard of kicking technique in the AFL is appalling and it makes sense when you say they’re not practising it. 21 behinds for West Coast at the weekend, thats totally unacceptable.[/quote]

It’s pretty unbelievable alright. I’m thinking of organizing Wilkenson to come and give a kicking session to our boys when/if he’s here with the Lions. They are very under schooled. I saw Barry Hall going thru it with Reiwolt last week on 360 and making a big thing about not having a routine and look how good Reiwolt is? Yet he also mentioned “he always does it the same way”. That’s a routine you numpty. I think even a read of his book would awaken a few of them.

On Kerr, I saw him play recently in WAFL and he seems like a bit of a dick and lazy as you suggest. Most of the older AFL guys who drop down seem bang on, no big man routines or arrogance, But he does.

The Eagles just seem a bit individualistic really.

GMan - Clarke was brilliant this Saturday against Richmond, I did not see him against Carlton, so he’s definitely in rich form.

At the moment Hawthorn and Sydney seem way out in front of the rest. Essedon look good too but have not had the same level of opposition.

Always worry about champions though in such a tough long season sport like AFL when they start the season so well, it’s very hard to keep going.

Of course I forgot Geelong, who are flying.

something you may be inerested in caoimhaoin. http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/wa/16842076/life-now-worth-living-for-former-eagle/

Ashley Sampi was in Judds draft, which also included Hodge, Ablett, Stevie J, Luke Ball, Swan, Bartel and a heap of other top class players. best draft ever.

Sampi was an outrageous talent, but off the rails. He won MOTY with this effort:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzT8fCalus0

but he went nuts on alcohol and ended up quitting and going back to his Aboriginal community up past Broome. Plays for Armadale now in Perth.

[quote=“Gman, post: 763251, member: 112”]something you may be inerested in caoimhaoin. http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/wa/16842076/life-now-worth-living-for-former-eagle/

Ashley Sampi was in Judds draft, which also included Hodge, Ablett, Stevie J, Luke Ball, Swan, Bartel and a heap of other top class players. best draft ever.

Sampi was an outrageous talent, but off the rails. He won MOTY with this effort:

but he went nuts on alcohol and ended up quitting and going back to his Aboriginal community up past Broome. Plays for Armadale now in Perth.[/quote]

quelle surprise

[quote=“Gman, post: 763251, member: 112”]something you may be inerested in caoimhaoin. http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/wa/16842076/life-now-worth-living-for-former-eagle/

but he went nuts on alcohol and ended up quitting and going back to his Aboriginal community up past Broome. Plays for Armadale now in Perth.[/quote]

Does he? I did the pre season with them last year. He is talked about a lot, the aboriginal kids love him. Never even saw a clip other than that to be honest.

Good story, so far, hope he sticks it out. Don’t know if FIFO is the answer for indigenous lads with booze issues. Much like Irish and English guys with drink issues, it’s pretty lonely life up there.

Gman Are you watching this?

Eagles imploded against Port, they were cruising but misses some ridiculous efforts.

Strange thing, which I believe is down too the games being too long, but you get so much of a team dominating for 3/4’s but still losing. Think the game promotes Endurence too much and skills are suffering. Kicking set shots as I mentioned before are dreadful as are alot of the other basic skills.

Gaelic Football is superior in terms of basic skill execution.

Le Cras missed a real kickable chance to win, going way wide. I really think the Eagles are mentally very weak, and not fit, football fit.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 765478, member: 273”]Gman Are you watching this?

Eagles imploded against Port, they were cruising but misses some ridiculous efforts.

Strange thing, which I believe is down too the games being too long, but you get so much of a team dominating for 3/4’s but still losing. Think the game promotes Endurence too much and skills are suffering. Kicking set shots as I mentioned before are dreadful as are alot of the other basic skills.

Le Cras missed a real kickable chance to win, going way wide. I really think the Eagles are mentally very weak, and not fit, football fit.[/quote]

Oh my fucking Jesus, the Eagles kicking was absolutely woeful tonight. I detest Port Adelaide, but by fuck there was a lot of fight in them tonight. Disgusted at the Eagles.

How about that little indigenous fella plying for Port, can’t remember his name? Brilliant.

I had completely forgotten about Ashley Sampi, that was a candle that burned out quickly. Much like the sad ongoing tale of Liam Jurrah.

Neads?

Awesome. That run at the end was majestic.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 765478, member: 273”]Gman Are you watching this?

Le Cras missed a real kickable chance to win, going way wide. I really think the Eagles are mentally very weak, and not fit, football fit.[/quote]

didnt see it but was getting updates and the cursing got worse and worse as the game went on. Saw highlights but didnt have too much of the missed chances ono that, bar Jack Darlings woeful attempt straight in front. Worrying times really, a game that was well in control and to let it slip badly is not good, at all. 17.42 in 2 games is an awful statistic. By all accounts some of the senior players didnt produce it when it mattered, and Priddis going off in first few minutes with concussion didnt help. but still. Rosa and Wellingham should be in for next weeks game, but we are way behind in the ladder now, and top 8 even at this stage is looking harder to achieve, particularily when playing so bad.

interesting point on the endurance. I think the removal of bounce up at stoppages adn a quick throw instead has sped up the game and caused a certain element of that, whereas before you wiated til the big ambling ruckmen got there and then bounced it, and sometimes twice. now with the quick throw up, there is little time for a break in play. Some Collingwood hacks are saying this is one of the reasons that Clarke is doing so well, as he has a big engine and is still going strong near the end, which is a valid point too.

Caught the final quarter of the Blues v the Crows on Saturday morning. The commentators were waxing lyrical on Zak Tuohy’s kicking accuracy, which was nice to hear.

Wellingham looked a class act on Anzac Day against us Gman. Seemed far more interested than Kerr did. You can see the difference in the Melbourne players, they are better in tight situations. Apparently the pitches are much smaller over there at junior and local level and that’s one of the results.

Wellingham is a WA boy though Kev, so not sure if that would have had much bearing on the pitches etc? Maybe so.

How did Rosa and Lycett go? And I’m assuming when you say us you mean Perth demons? Was wondering how Reimers has been going since Essendon dumped him. Is there many Eagles players there other than Ash Smith?