Aussie Rules 2013

NicNat, Wellingham and Ash Smith into the Eagles line up. We are going to absolutely batter the bulldogs. (or if we dont may as well give up on the year!)

Dam it, was hoping we’d get Smith for another week. Turnbridge also out, 2 string fellas gone.

Eagles should bury them.

Another ACL tonight, nuts. 15 this season

Yes, yes you are going to.

well the bulldogs were battered anyway, the useless shower. wouldnt read much into the Eagles 2 wins, both by a margin over 2 shit teams.

Caolan Mooney is making lots of impressions with Collingwoods seconds, and is being massively tipped to come into the first side soon. Has pushed up ahead of a lot of established players, but would need to be rookie elevated to play, so unlikely to happen this week with an interstate game against Freo, but if he has another good outing in the VFL this weekend, he could well be in next week.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwFMrSqk_mY

Its a win though GMan and some of your boys are coming back from injury. As Essendon fade, surely West Coast will rise?

Jaysus the pitches are far smaller. That 50 was right on the square.

Look impressive, but he’s still got a very garlic kick and a very dodgy bounce (understandable, the bounce is a cunt)

well Mooney is indeed in Collingwoods side, has been upgraded off the rookie list and will play against Freo. Fair fucks to him. So himself and Clarke line out in the same side, not sure if they did last year, think Clarke was dropped when Mooney broke through.

Hopefully we wont see too many garlic kicks against Freo (Kev, either your fingers are too fat or you need a better keyboard! :p)

[quote=“Gman, post: 770123, member: 112”]well Mooney is indeed in Collingwoods side, has been upgraded off the rookie list and will play against Freo. Fair fucks to him. So himself and Clarke line out in the same side, not sure if they did last year, think Clarke was dropped when Mooney broke through.

Hopefully we wont see too many garlic kicks against Freo (Kev, either your fingers are too fat or you need a better keyboard! :p)[/quote]

Fat fingers - iPhone

Good stuff from Mooney, that’s a pretty quick rise.

Tommy Walsh was being reported as very close as well last week, apparently going well again. Far lower standard for him to jump up from though than VFL.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 770134, member: 273”]Fat fingers - iPhone

Good stuff from Mooney, that’s a pretty quick rise.

Tommy Walsh was being reported as very close as well last week, apparently going well again. Far lower standard for him to jump up from though than VFL.[/quote]

Mooney had a good end to last season, getting in 4 games in the last few rounds. always a time for a few rotations, so good that he has kep up the form.

yeah Walsh is on the emergency list for a couple of weeks now. seems to have played a bit more down back this year in the reserves.

Some big games this weekend. Essendon V Geelong tonight should be a cracker, I’m tipping Geelong. Grand Final replay tomorrow night Swans V Hawthorn. The Swans are making hard work of getting started this season. They’ll definitely be contenders at the business end of the year, but Hawthorn look increasingly good. The question mark is over Buddy, goalless in 2 games now. Will the Swans get the backlash? If anyone can deaden the Hawthorn attack, Sydney can. This could be a brilliant game, but I think Hawthorn will just edge it.

The AFL are considering sending an all indigenous team to Ireland for the Rules series this year, that could be interesting.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaa-not-approached-by-afl-over-player-plan-1.1388017

Ha they stole my idea. :wink:

There is no doubt the Indigenous players are very suited to the game and the round ball.

Would be interesting to see how they travel.

Bit worrying the lack of interest in Aus though. The AFL have done fuck all to promote it, despite it actually being very popular among many players. Its the only representative football many of them can play. The AFL keeps making noises about bringing back a state of origin series and no one is interested. They should be more behind the int rules series. I like the idea of an indigenous team though.

As I said pre-season, something is going to go wrong for Hawthorn. Rioli getting injured this early is worrying for them. Buddy without possible/alleged juice may also be an issue and while its early days Hodge hasn’t looked his old self yet. Long season yet but I have my doubts about them.

Essedon are a different story. They seem to be doing a great job of worming their way out of the drugs scandal. But you’d really need to see how they are at around 2/3rds of the way thru. It’s hard to know if they are the real deal.

The 2 teams you can bet on getting the most out of themselves are Sydney & Geelong. On top of that Collingwood will be there or there abouts. The winners should come from this 3.

There is alot of interest in WA in it. Playing a game in Qld was pretty stupid for a start. Melbourne and Perth are the big football cities, it’s silly leaving those 2.

I work with a former Int Rules player who is indigenous, might get his views on it. He loved Ireland and he loved the games and the impression I got is the players love it. It’s the clubs stop the big names playing more than anyone else.

Yeah, I’d definitely agree about Sydney and Geelong, two clubs who try to fly under the radar and just go and do their thing week in week out without any real drama. Collingwood are very inconsistent. With their player group they should be pissing the flag every year. The Hawks do look dodgy in many areas. I think Rioli is very overrated though and he contributes in bursts for them, then goes missing. Buddy is a bit of a conundrum at the moment. But I doubt he’s juiced up, too high profile and his physique has not changed since he became an AFL player. I just think he’s complete class with a huge engine.

After last year, its hard to take Essendon seriously at this stage of the season.

I think GMan’s boys will start an assault on the higher tiers of the league now. Its been hard to tip rounds this season, some teams doing extremely well, like Port, some shite, like Carlton, some so close like North Melbourne and the really frustrating ones like St Kilda, a team that should be in every final with their player group. Nick Riewoldt in fairness to him, is workinh his arse off this year. They’re missing Lenny Hayes big time at the moment, which is probably why they’re the softest team in the league.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 770440, member: 273”]There is alot of interest in WA in it. Playing a game in Qld was pretty stupid for a start. Melbourne and Perth are the big football cities, it’s silly leaving those 2.

I work with a former Int Rules player who is indigenous, might get his views on it. He loved Ireland and he loved the games and the impression I got is the players love it. It’s the clubs stop the big names playing more than anyone else.[/quote]
Absolutely. I know a lot of WA footy people were quite insulted last time around that it was played in that cultural wasteland. It should really be alternating between Melourne / Perth and Melbourne / Sydney.

Great to see the Aussies are finally giving up on this International Rules horseshit. Let it die a slow and painless death.

Int rules is a great idea and a great concept, as well as a super game. It’s a pity not more is made of it.

Geelong easily beat Essedon in the Undefeated clash of top 2. The drugs must be wearing off again this year