Aviation Thread (https://www.reforestnation.ie/offset-your-carbon)

No idea

The US lads in Dublin are on savage money. They’ve the best of equipment too. Meanwhile Irish lads working in the same airport in Ireland are on ok-ish money and their equipment is antiquated

:ronnyroar: :ronnyroar: :ronnyroar:

Aer Lingus resuming direct flights to SFO December 12 :clap: :clap:

If any of ye have ever worked at an airport, you’ll know how awkward it is to get people cleared to work airside. You’ll also know that, in DUB at least, the airport is one big mickey-swinging match where different agencies do their best to make life as difficult as possible for other agencies whenever they get a chance.

Yesterday, after her being on an escort badge for weeks, one of my new staff finally got her access badge and entered the airport via T1, working the first part of her shift no problem. However, when she went to T2, her badge flashed as “unauthorized” and she was, quite literally, removed from the airport. The lady at security explained that someone had likely made a mistake at the access center and not ticked the correct box. So, we simply needed to go back to the access center and have the box de-un-ticked.

However, in Dublin airport, a building that is staffed 24/7, 365 days a year, the access center is helpfully only open between 9 and 3.30, so that option was out. “Not to worry” the security lady said, and she suggested we just go down and ask the duty sergeant with airport police to grant access as an exceptional measure and we were laughing.

So down we went and made what I felt what the perfectly reasonable request to have an obvious error corrected. “Oh no” joked the sergeant. There was, according to him, no discretion in these matters. He had (and he was specific on this cos he mentioned it a few times) “28 pages of regulations to follow” in relation to this and that she would have to wait until tomorrow. I then asked if it was possible to get her a temporary escort badge. Again, this was a no. These could only be granted for emergencies (previous ones we’ve gotten included for a cleaner, an IT lad and a photo-opping politician, for context), and that again, he had “no discretion” in this matter.

I didn’t want to spend the evening banging my head against the wall so I went back in. As per procedure I let my manager know about this and was about to send the staff member home when he gave me the number of a more senior security lad and said “try him.” I rang this head honcho lad who went “yeah it’s obviously a mistake, she’s grand. I’m away today but just tell them I said it was ok”.

So wandered back out with this news and Sergeant No Discretion just went “oh alright” and handed back the badge there and then.

28 Likes

Sack 'em all

I don’t know how you keep sane working with these types. My better half works in the wonderful HSE but is currently only on a temporary contract. The absolute nonsense she has to put up with from middle management and HR types due to her employment status is beyond ridiculous. Zero common sense is ever shown and our front line services 100% suffer from this bullshit.

took me all of 5 mins to get airside access when i was working on pier D back in the day. they must have tightened up

as an aside, the airport, and harbour police are the most useless chocolate teapot fuckers known to man

I’d stop short of calling them useless fuckers, stones and glass houses and all that

in fairness bati, even you have more powers than they do!

The airport is a quagmire of this shit (and some of our lads are as bad as any for it). Too many agencies all competing for tiny slivers of authority

Ireland in a nutshell right there

have you ever worked in England mate? The fuckers love red tape… you have to become a master at espionage to change 5 lines of code without filling in 400 requisition forms and getting approval from the whole chain of management.

You need to realise that there is a process mate. You need to follow The Process. The Process is for your own good. The Process is constantly being refined and enhanced. If you are dissatisfied with any aspect of The Process, please log a ticket.

Would you not have just brought her back into terminal 1?

CAB. The bane of drug dealers and IT professionals across the world.

I’ve changed one LOC… you need a CR and it needs to go to CAB… grand I’ll undo the change. It needs to go to CAB. I’m going off sick

would you not have just called your manager first and saved a world of hassle?

Was after he had left. Didn’t want to disturb him as I felt there would be a simple solution