Banjogeddon: 2022 Munster SHC Final - Limerick V Clare - June 5th 16.00

To be fair I remember at that time in 2019 the whole country was talking up the depth of Limericks panel etc.

Dowling started that day and had a bit of a nightmare in Thurles. I’d say the team they picked were expected to win there but didn’t perform and came up short.

They certainly made up for it in the Munster final. It was an unbelivable performance. Most dominant we have been really vs Tipp for the full 70 mins and that was Tipps 2019 All Ireland winning team.

I know but in the final round robin games we rested players when win a guaranteed a place in the final.

There’s a huge buzz around this game, probably the most around a Munster Final in a long time. Probably since 2013 from a Limerick pov, don’t know about overall but 2016 was potentially going to be good but turned out to be massively underwhelming.

The provincial finals have definitely been slightly devalued since 1997, don’t think there’s any argument there. But they’re no different under the round robin than they were in the old backdoor system and every team goes out to win them.

The Clare lads around the place really fancy their chances, and obviously Limerick supporters are fairly confident we’ll do 4-in-a-row. Can’t wait.

Spot on, there’s huge interest in this game. It’s gonna be great.

Limerick will win by as much as they want to,

The kiss of death … :weary:

If you have that little faith then what can I say? :man_shrugging:
There’s no comparison, Limerick are streets ahead in every position bar 2, maybe 3, it’ll be a massacre if they want it to be

Give over.

What three?

This should be good :laughing:

If those were the fixtures I would probably head to the beach for the weekend tbh.

Jesus youd swear by some of the posts here, Limerick and Clare had shared the last 25 Munster championships between them. Look at nobody is going to dispute that the importance/relevance of winning a munster final has diminished since 1997. I also dont think anyone will dispute that all Ireland contenders go out at the start of the year to do just that and win the All Ireland. If a provincial championship happens to be picked up along the way all the better. But in the course of your campaign, you happen to reach that decider, it is still a final, a piece of silverware to be fought for. You are in no way guaranteed an all Ireland by winning or losing it. Plus in the greater scheme of things, the provincial champions will only play one less game to reach an all Ireland than the runners up. So why in gods name would you not go for it when it might be the only piece of silverware you may get all season. Would Limerick or Clare give up a Munster title if they were guaranteed an All Ireland? Of course they would. But that aint how sport works lads and we’ve all been around long enough to witness it

Clare haven’t won a Munster Championship in this millennium and only have six titles in total to their name. A Munster title would be huge for Clare.

Exactly my point and Limerick are a very poor third in Munster when compared to Cork and Tipp. Even Waterford despite having a shit championship have a league title in the bag.

In fact, the three Munster titles Clare have won in living memory have all basically been won by winning two matches (replays and Kerry aside). Should Clare win this it would undoubtedly be their greatest Munster title.

You could nearly argue the same for Limerick and if the winner of the Munster final goes on to claim the All Ireland, they will be the first to go through the round robin and all Ireland series unbeaten

Was just about to edit the post to say the same. Whoever wins this will have beaten all the other counties in Munster. Is that a unique achievement for the Munster Championship?

Well didn’t Tipp technically beat all.other counties in Munster in 19 before losing to Limerick in the final

They bate Kerry in a famous big ball final in 1992!

clare have what, a half dozen munster hurling titles, perhaps half won by one bunch of players 25 years ago, a munster final win on sunday can only be a massive thing for them. They will worry about the all ireland series after

Ah you’d need to win the final for it to really count, but technically yes I guess. This one would be better as well because the winner won’t have lost a game.

The Grand Slam is still up for grabs, for another year.