Banjogeddon: 2022 Munster SHC Final - Limerick V Clare - June 5th 16.00

Are you trying to make a point here?

We need Knock Out back. Its the only way lads will get a hard on.

You’ve a few guys here with the same old tired stick trying to be edgy lamenting the loss of the old system… Where teams who lost in the first rounds went through a couple of stupid games against West Meath and Laois to meet a top team… And where knockout in earnest, bar the very odd anomaly, began after provincial finals…

So to answer your question, I don’t know what my point is :person_shrugging:t2:

Personally I’d love for Clare to win this game.

If you were to offer me a win Sunday and a tough defeat in an A/I semi final to Galway/Kilkenny or if you told me we would come through the backdoor and get to the A/I final and lose I’d gladly take the cup on Sunday.

We are in good form and will perform, I have little doubt that Lohan will get yet another performance out of them but that guarantees very little against a Limerick side who have been consistently excellent for the bones of 4 seasons now.

There is a nice sense of excitement in Clare, we have a number of players on form and putting in really solid performances which have reconnected them with the fans. Expectations at the start of the year given the injuries we had was that to get third in Munster would be a good season - now we are at a point where we realistically are as good as anything in the country outside of Limerick and have a free shot at them this weekend to see where exactly we are compared to them. There is no real pressure or expectation on the group from the outside and I think it is a nice place for them to be.

All this things were better in the past nostalgia you and peddlers carry on with is pathetic. Always whinging and moaning. What age are you and you pining for the past. Bizarre carry on. At least he has an excuse pining for when his team was good compared to now when the round robin system means they can’t avoid Limerick and have to take hiding after hiding every year. No wonder he whinges. What’s your excuse? A sold out match is full of bandwagoners but a match a few a years ago wasn’t, different class of fan altogether that got their tickets through their club was it? Clare got half the tickets and they’re all sold too, bandwagoners is it? You’re talking through your hole. Would you ever give over your moping.

Up Limerick.

I went up with a crowd from Limerick that day. I couldn’t get over the arrogance of Limerick fans, ye thought that all ye had to do was turn up, even though ye had a bang average side that year.

It’s just incredibly boring I guess. I think 65 percent of the championship is played and it’s been completely forgettable bar maybe one game.

You can’t use crowds to say a game is in good health. Cheltenham had record crowds this year and jumps racing is dying quickly. Very quickly because nobody really cares anymore but it’s still a grand day out.

Sunday is another largely meaningless affair. If Limerick turn up they’ll hockey Clare and the game will be over after twenty minutes.

That’s the greatness of sport though.

2013 after the all Ireland semi final I went home miserable.

I can only imagine what the Clare fans felt after the game that day.

2014 after losing the semi final I was very proud but still sick.

I’d have walked to Dublin for those games if I had to get there. They really meant something to me and I’ll remember the feeling forever.

Will we go back into lockdown altogether?

Let’s go back to being perennial also rans and having the occasional win to maintain hope. Things were great back then.

I personally can’t wait for Sunday. It’s gonna be off the hook.

I’m going to a lot of expense and inconvenience to go. And it’s not even a decision. It’s a Munster final against Clare where Limerick can win 4-in-a-row for the first time in nearly 100 years. The two teams played already and drew. They’re both unbeaten. It sold out in 10 minutes

When was the last time Thurles was actually sold out?

Sundays Munster final is the biggest in years really. Could argue Limerick - Tipp in 2019. But Tipp knew they were going to get a hiding that day.

Tipp have no 4-in-a-row, we want a 2nd one

It’s a meaningless game that hardly anybody cares about in reality.

The Munster championship used to mean something but that changed with the back door and the round robin.

Entitled to your opinion mate, I can’t agree though. Clare are absolutely flying it under Lohan and would love nothing more than to win on Sunday. They absolutely love trying to beat Limerick.

1998 is a long time to have not won it in fairness for them. Going for 4 in a row for Limerick is huge. Massive opportunity for this group to avoid an extra knock out game as well. Enough injuries have already been accrued this year so far.

It’s gas until this Limerick team took over - the Munster finalists had an awful record in the All Ireland series over the previous decade.

That’s all changed now with these back to back champions. Can’t wait for Sunday now personally. Should be a genuinely cracking game if Ennis a few weeks ago is anything to go by too.

It was 2019 when Limerick headed down to thurles when Limerick rested three of their best players and lost to tipp in the final round robin. A win would have guaranteed a Munster final place.

I think Clare beat cork in a fairly big shock which sent us through or maybe cork beat clare I forget. Anyway it tells you what the management and squad think of it in this format.

We won Munster in 2019.

Cork beat Clare in 2018.