Best and Worst Places to go out in Dublin

Fair few of you lads seem to be based up around here lads so am interested in your opinions and sure share the knowledge!

We’ll start with Coppers. Always have a soft spot for it even though I havent been there since Pikemans birthday last year. Whatever about the women, its just savage craic being able to lep around like a gobshite on the dance floor and if you bump into someone he wont have daddys solicitor onto you the following morning. Had many a great session in there including 2 lock ins with the Wexford Football team 2 summers ago!

Away from that Im a big fan of the Porterhouse in Temple Bar on a Friday night. Live music played there by a fella called Woodsey and he’s class. Good selection of beer as well including some Austrian stuff named after Santa Claus thats about 16% or something like that. Like drinking cement.

Went on a mission recently of only going to places I hadnt been before around Dublin. Ended up in Lillies one of those nights and I’d say you wouldnt find as much scumbags on the 77 bus. Full of them and ponces who thought they were something. Funny sitting at the bar looking at them all.

Anywhere on Dawson street is usually a no go for me as I hate poncey places. Far too many decent bars have gone this way in the 8 years I’ve been up here.

Would be unfair to single out any one bar as being the best as it always depends on the type of night and the crowd you’re out with but have a soft spot for the Porterhouse, Sinnotts on the Green, Kehoes on South Anne Street, The Barge on a summers Friday evening, Searsons on Baggot street for the Rugby, The Longstone has its moments, and the Brazen head near Guinness Brewery has one of the nicest pints in the city.

Cant stand the likes of Cafe En Seine, Ron Blacks, that stupid fooking nightclub beside the Setanta car park, Dandelion, and pretty much anywhere that you’re going to see a load of D4 posers - although its always funny to go into Club 92 and spend the night taking the piss out them!

Any opinions??

I’m not one for the nightclubs but have frequented Coppers on a week to week basis over the course of 8 months or so but haven’t been there for 3 odd months. The Viper Room is a dead cert for sluts, and I mean proper dirty sluts even worse than Coppers. I usually stick to one place but am becoming tired of it, The Oak on Dame Street.

Diceys is a decent enough place down to the fact it has a deadly smoking area. Whelans is always a safe bet, The Village isn’t too bad on Wednesday. I try to avoid anywhere with posers because if I’m pissed I’ll end up doing something I may regret to these fooks.

Quiet (lads) pints: Bachelor Inn, Sackville Lounge, O’Neills Pearse Street, Keoghs Anne Street and Kennedy’s Thomas Steeet.

Kennedys? The place with the alternative music punters downstairs?

Your thinking of Kennedy’s of Westland Row. I’m on about the smelly local on Thomas Street, used to be called O’Neills, great for a pre Vicar Street Guinness.

http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/oneills3.html

I’m not one for the clubs but my top boozers would be:

Stag’s Head
Sackville Lounge
Kehoe’s
Mulligan’s

Like the Porterhouse too but can never convince anyone to go there.

If I’m drinking late I’ll head to Doyle’s - not my favourite pub in the world but if I want to drink late then I’d rather do it in a pub than in a club.

I’ve rarely been to Coppers but I did enjoy it anytime I was there.

Doyles isn’t too bad but I’ve seen the bouncers act questionably on more than one occasion in there.

Its a while since i’ve been around in Dublin, over 3 years now and only visit it rarely for pints these days. Used to like Rodys when it wasnt too packed, and flannerys was alright but can be mental at times. Was never really a fan of coppers to be honest, t’was grand when I was single and looking to get back riding the horse again so to speak, but its a real dive. Couple of nice bars in Rathmines away from the public glare, the lower deck there at the back of portobello college, Anseo on Camden st is a nice cosy bar, and I liked Messrs in town, Graces and Slatterys in Rathmines. Market Garden was also a cool spot. Porterhouse is a great spot too, and loved pints of plain or oyster n there. Would be some craic there on Thursdays before Scotland/Wales 6 nation games.

Favorite pub tho had to be Ryans on Camden St, just opposite Flannerys. I used to live on Wexford st so it was our local. used to watch any live games there, just for the craic with the lads up there. Would never be too packed, always the same aul heads there, and a real nice pub, which kept its charm after it was renovated. Met Ken Doherty in there a few times, he used to go watch a few utd games there too, and would know all the locals there too.

Was in a Houricans on Leeson Street last night and on the advice of Clarkey I sampled the Guinness which was absolutely divine. An old mans pubs with quite a few tasty birds frequenting the place. Magic mix.

I love Mulligans I have to say. The whole ‘I’ll get you a pint when you want it but we wouldn’t go in for any other bullshit’ concept appeals to me. Similar story to McDaids which I am also fond of. The Sackville Lounge is alright as well. Was recently upstairs in Nearys which I must say is the definition of comfort.

Chaplins off D’Olier Street is another grand spot particularly if town is busy. Guaranteed to be relatively quiet in there and the barmen are sound.

I don’t like Kehoe’s. Definitely not a place to have a quiet pint because you will be pushed around the place. The barmen are dicks I have found, the clientele are ponces and the stout is overrated. Also the jacks are in a state, so much so that it would nearly put you off your beer.

Doyles is a grand spot for a late bar. The best music in Dublin I have found in there. D2 would be my choice of nightclub but the birds are a bit far up their arse. You will always have a good night in Coppers due to the sheer roudiness that is allowed but always fdeel like I am degrading myself being there or something.

Yeah good shout on Ryans there. Nice little spot alright. Some of the old folk in there are hilarious. They were giving out yards to us one night in there. All we were doing was standing there, obviously they wanted the place to themselves

On the topic of the music in Doyles I find the small bar hidden away downstairs is the best spot for the music there. For the best music in Dublin though it has to be The Oak but of late it has begun to go downhill. On a good night though it can’t be matched.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Was in a Houricans on Leeson Street last night and on the advice of Clarkey I sampled the Guinness which was absolutely divine. An old mans pubs with quite a few tasty birds frequenting the place. Magic mix.

I love Mulligans I have to say. The whole ‘I’ll get you a pint when you want it but we wouldn’t go in for any other bullshit’ concept appeals to me. Similar story to McDaids which I am also fond of. The Sackville Lounge is alright as well. Was recently upstairs in Nearys which I must say is the definition of comfort.

Chaplins off D’Olier Street is another grand spot particularly if town is busy. Guaranteed to be relatively quiet in there and the barmen are sound.

I don’t like Kehoe’s. Definitely not a place to have a quiet pint because you will be pushed around the place. The barmen are dicks I have found, the clientele are ponces and the stout is overrated. Also the jacks are in a state, so much so that it would nearly put you off your beer.

Doyles is a grand spot for a late bar. The best music in Dublin I have found in there. D2 would be my choice of nightclub but the birds are a bit far up their arse. You will always have a good night in Coppers due to the sheer roudiness that is allowed but always fdeel like I am degrading myself being there or something.[/quote]

Forgot about McDaid’s and Nearys. Upstairs in Nearys is class alright. It’s just like drinking cracking pints at home.

Haven’t drunk in Hourican’s since I turned 18, had a few in there as a teenager where they accepted Dublin Bus ID as proof of age.

The appeal of Kehoes to me is generally outside summer drinking. Though on a non-Friday it can be a nice place for a few pints and if you get the snug at the front that’s a smashing spot too.

Did someone mention Diceys?

I hate that place!!

Yeah I said Diceys because of it’s smoking area

I’m the same as Mac in that I can’t stand places such as Cafe En Seine, Ron Black’s, The Odeon and the likes. Though I can confirm that on the Friday before Christmas after I refused to go to Ron Black’s and instead stayed in Kehoe’s Rocko went over to Ron Black’s with a bunch of girls. I don’t think I’m being inversely snobbish but these places have a pretentious air. Like Ron Black’s has an upstairs champagne bar and I’m told lads frequent it too when any self-respecting man should be having a pint. I also feel uncomfortable in a pub where most of the lads are wearing ‘slacks’ and I’m one of the handful of people in there wearing baggy ripped jeans or something.

I’m more of a lager drinker so I can take or leave a lot of the pubs that have a reputation for outstanding Guinness. I like some of the pubs metioned already such as McDaid’s and The Sackville (best toilets in any bar in the world ever - like coming out of the tunnel at the Nou Camp or something) where you can have a chat with the lads in a comfortable environment. But at the end of the day I also like to have a bit of a perv so I’m quite the fan of places that combine the best of a Sackville in terms of comfort and atmosphere but also have a bird presence. That’s why I like Kehoe’s in the summer as you can stand outside in the sun and stare at an absolute plethora of birds.

someone mentioned the barge in summer too, used to love walking home from the dart up the canal and then stopping in the barge with the lads and sitting out on the grass or on the wall there and having a few nice pints in the sun.

wouldnt be a fan of the snobbish places either. Just feel like I dont belong, not that I want to either. Friend of mine loved going to the Q bar when it opened as he thought it’d be his best way of getting with the ‘in’ crowd whatever they were. Used to drink out in Blackrock a few times too, and used to like the black swan until it became even more pretentious with tonic.

But is that because of Kehoe’s? I mean most of the birds are wandering around Grafton Street so you could technically stand outside The Bailey or any of those horrrible places and have the same perv…

What annoys me about snobby places is that people dont realise I’m better than them and I sometimes have to let them know this and they take offence to it.

Was the Bachelors Inn mentioned, great spot for a pint. I’d also like to mention the Kestrel House (granted not town but is still Dublin)

a fan of the Thing Moate I am.

Cafe En Seine is alright if you want a late drink with a lady on a weeknight, other than that, I can’t at all think why anyone would want to spend a Saturday night there.

toast in Rathmines is my current favourite for weekends. Mulligans or Bowe’s for Friday evening pints, Graingers on Talbot St for lunches, and maybe Q for unplanned work evening pints. A bottle of Sol for 4 goes a long way, and anyway, Q doesn’t suffer from the Dawson St disease to the same extent as it used to.