Best Carveries in Dublin

not with a sinn fein supporter anyway…

Portobello in Dublin? Few years back it was top notch, then the good ol boys sold up and it went to shite.

Its changed chef and supplier of late and is on its way back, but still not one of the better ones.

The house arrest probably wouldnt allow it anyway.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Portobello in Dublin? Few years back it was top notch, then the good ol boys sold up and it went to shite.

Its changed chef and supplier of late and is on its way back, but still not one of the better ones.

The house arrest probably wouldnt allow it anyway.[/quote]

its pushing it a bit to describe someone who makes a carvery a chef

its pushing it a bit to describe loi as soccer but people still do it.

all joking aside- in laois are people who make carveries feted as chefs??

I said Portobello changed the chef, or so I was told by farmers friends brother a while back.

O’Neills on Pearse St do a high quality carvery but the portions are a little mean.

Q-Bar does a wonderful feed, very high quality and they’ll lump on as much as you like.

My favourite though is the Riplet Court on Talbot St. I dare you to find a bigger portion in Ireland - they pile it up until it the plate is so full it almost puts you off eating it. Quality not as good as Q-Bar but it’s still good and great for a bit of stodge before or after a session. I recommend the chicken curry with rice and chips on a Friday.

[quote=“Jugs”]O’Neills on Pearse St do a high quality carvery but the portions are a little mean.

Fuckin hell the lads there must really fancy me so, you’re the second here thats complained about portion size, I’ve always gotten a big plate when I go in there.

Have eaten off the menu in Q a few times, but not the carvery. I’d have to hear some really good stories before I’d take the plunge.

Whelans across from aungier street are pretty good. or the submarine in kimmage

[quote=“myboyblue;90168][QUOTE=Jugs”]O’Neills on Pearse St do a high quality carvery but the portions are a little mean.
QUOTE]

Fuckin hell the lads there must really fancy me so, you’re the second here thats complained about portion size, I’ve always gotten a big plate when I go in there.[/quote]

I would asy that you couldn’t please some of the lads here mbb, no matter how much they are given it still wouldn’t be enough;)

The Sub has been dealt with already. It’s shite.

[quote=“The Puke”]
I would asy that you couldn’t please some of the lads here mbb, no matter how much they are given it still wouldn’t be enough;)[/quote]

Could just be that they’re carrying some serious poundage on me, maybe it doesnt take as much to fill me ned kelly.

Q bar used to be excellent but had gone seriously downhill the last time I has a carvery in there which was about a year ago.

The Ripley Court is muck. Sure the portions are huge but the food is horrific.

Not a pub, but the Woodstock Cafe in Phibsboro does a good carvery. Bit more varied than the normal fare and good value at 11 euro. The LOI fans here have probably ducked in past the riot police to avoid the flying bottles and bricks for a feed there in the past.

I had a grand carvery in Diceys on Friday. They’re starting a new deal from tomorrow where I think all carveries are 6.50. I think I paid 8 or 8.50 on Friday which was a great price for the amount of food you get. Diceys new deal also has sandwiches / wraps for something like 4 and desserts for 2.50.

While the place is usually full of knobs at least they’re trying to attract people in. Be interesting to see how it goes for them.

Yeah - 6.50. Work sent around a mail about it.

I always felt that Dicey’s was rough enough. Coppers is actually much better believe it or not.

I’ve never been a massive fan of Dicey’s but they are packing in the punters on the Thursdays with the 3 quid a drink offer. I was in there after work last Thursdsay for a quick pint before the game, and was surprised at how packed the place was. Must try the grub next time I am in.

Think I forgot to mention it on here…Was insideat the Dole office the other day and I went into Costelloe’s tavern after it for a bit of grub…decided to have the Beef, the chef asked me what I wanted with it,told him fire one whatever was going…Got 4 scopes of mash, a fine sized spoon of carrot/parsnip and a big spoon of cabbage, three slices of beef, gravy and a chips on top of it…all for the the sum of 9 euro…The beef was average enough but the rest was superb, for 9 euro twas excellent value

Poor auld Betty passed away today. She must have been close to 90, had been in a nursing home for the last 6 or 7 years. Some weekend of beer to be had in O’Briens Bridge this weekend