Best Sports Films

What would ye think are the best sports movies around lads? Obvious ones like Coach Carter, Friday Night Lights and Remember The Titans are obviously good but I really liked The Miracle. Its about the Miracle On Ice- the hockey match between USA and USSR at Lake Placid. Any other suggestions?

Fuck off and die.

:o :lol:

[quote=“ClarkeyCat, post: 512922”]
Fuck off and die.
[/quote]+ 1

Escape to Victory. Nothing else comes close.

[movie]Blades of Glory (tt0445934)[/movie]

FFS there’s not one good sports film named in that first post.

Blades of Glory. Lock the thread.

[movie]Rounders (tt0128442)[/movie]

Raging Bull and do the rocky film count

[quote=“turfcutter, post: 512928”]
Raging Bull and do the rocky film count
[/quote] :o Of course they count,Rocky 1 was ground breaking at the time.

When Saturday Comes

good call puke

haven’t seen it in years, Sean Bean was excellent in it, must have a look at it again

Mkaes a change - Christ he was awful in The Field.

Jaysus I couldn’t imagine When Saturday Comes holds up well after the years. Slapshot (is that the name, the one with Paul Newman about ice hockey?) is daycent as is Mystery Alaska.

brilliant, absoultely brilliant

American Flyers. Kevin Costner as an all american cyclist with a health problem. Or “Breaking away” about a clean cut American cyclist battling cheating Italians.

Bull Durham, if only for the fact that Susan Sarandon looks so hot in it.

I detest the Rocky films.

Can’t believe we’re this far into this thread and no ones mentioned Clash of the Ash.

Hoop Dreams, the Hustler, Field of Dreams, One Day in September, Chariots of Fire, The Natural and Caddyshack (did more for golf than Tiger ever has) all come to mind as well.

There’s another film I seem to remember, think its French, The Goalkeepers fear of the Penalty or something, something to do with Albert Camus (he was a goalkeeper as well)

I agree with Noddy, the first Rocky film was a great film, ground breaking in a large number of ways, made by the losing of the fight. Shouldn’t be devalued by what came after it.

Without Limits, film about Steve Prefontaine and his coach Bill Bowerman, who had co-founded Nike. Very decent. Billy Cruddup and Donald Sutherland are in it. There’s another one out there about him as well too I think.

aye with jared leto, they were out about the same time…

i would add to the list;
major league 1 and 2
the natural
the rookie
any given sunday
kingpin
cool runnings
61*
cobb
hoosiers
bull durham
slap shot