Bookmakers and general Money Laundering on the Dark Web

Well at least hes apologised in public and owned his mistake, which is commendable

Listened to podcast and he didn’t really sound like he believed what he was saying.

Patting himself on the back for closing the least (or is fewest) amount of accounts on commercial grounds is a bit rich as I’m sure his customer base is small.

Credit to him for apologising in fairness.

Took his time

There’s no proof that AK has the lowest account closures of all bookies, only what he says.

His team were very quick to close this particular account.

Been easier/better just to limit stake factor?

I think his first instinct was to defend his own employees decision in public which is sort of admiral in one way (like a Soccer manager), but he could have just gone back on twitter and said, they’d look into it etc and resolved it much cleaner that what it escalated into.

Lads need to think more of the bookies profit when making bets. This looking for the best price craic is very unfair

It was the only thing he could have done, I felt it was moving the way of an apology. I wouldn’t give him a lot of credit for it as there was an almighty pile on he had to do something to try salvage some credibility. For sure he made a mistake on this and it’s going to damage his business to some extent. Also could he have been accused of slandering yerman by basically saying he was picking off stale prices, calling in to question his honest character maybe. AK perhaps got a word in the ear from his lawyer mate on the podcast. He won’t be closing accounts anymore id say.

This stale prices is the biggest load of BS ever. It’s not the customers fault if you don’t move your prices.

The whole bookmaking industry is a total joke now. I see powers are closing a lot of shops in cork in the next few weeks. No surprise I called into one of them the other day at 3.30 and there was no one in it. I marked the board there years ago and the place was thriving

I was driving through my beloved Tipp Town there yesterday around 3.30pm and there were 6 pubs and 2 bookies open.

10 years ago that would’ve been 12 pubs and 4 bookies.

I’d say in 2030, it might be 2 pubs and one bookie if we’re lucky.

The days of lads sitting around drinking pints and having a few bets on midweek afternoons are dying before our eyes.

Its all coffee and hyroxes with the next generation.

There will be no bookie

Boyles seem to think its going to all swing back the other way and cash will become king again the way they are expanding in the UK.

Last time I was in Boyles, there were 2 junkies looking to put 50 cent bets on the numbers. Teller tells them that it was a minimum €1 stake, which they had great difficulty understanding. Depressing places now TBH.

You think they think shops will recover?

Nope.

You’d wonder do they think online gambling will be banned otherwise it’s an odd move

What do you think their plan is?

I’d say the shops are to avoid affordability checks?

And the make laundering the smaller amounts of money handier?