Bookmakers and general Money Laundering on the Dark Web

Tried to have the same bet with my phone account less than a hour of getting the bag of sand down. I was delighted actually, was finished with the cunts anyway.

There are of course better bookies around anyway but it’s grand to have the variety. Sure what’s to stop you walking into say Boyles in Limerick and having a bet? It’s not like they have circulated your picture to all Boyle shops nationwide!

You’d be surprised. You’d often get a bulletin as a shop manager saying such and such is in the Limerick area, don’t serve him.

I’m intrigued as to who Spoils is a front for. The PLO? The ICA?

So you’re saying they have placed a tracker under Hangblaas car?

I have heard that goes on ok… presume it would be the likes of the lads in Veitches book that are backing hard on gambled horses on a regular basis.

Pro punters like HangBlaa are known by sight, a manager spotting him will inform head office, all of a sudden all shops in the area will be on high alert. Of course driving way out of town helps but I know guys who wear wigs and sporting new beards going into shops and still can’t get on as they’re known. A routine manager’s message bar on the screens used to be something like “The Hatman is in the Blanchardstown area”.

Tbh i’d be stunned if HangBlaa walked into Boyles in Limerick in the morning and failed to get a bet on. I think we’re giving them too much credit here, they are after all a shambles of an organisation. If i’m wrong then i have underestimated Hangblaa and if he is that much of a shark then more power to him…

I don’t know how well known he is but in my day good shop managers used to know all the leading punters by sight, the likes of Paddy Wilmott, Larry Dunne, Dermot Doolan, the guys putting on for Elite, the on-course bookies etc. as well as the scam artists.

Dermot Doolan is from Limerick isn’t he?

I was going to a race meeting in Clonmel one day with a local bookie/punter and he had a job to do. There were 3 of us, and we stopped in Tipp town and he sent the 3 of us off to a couple of different bookies to get a few quid on for him. We weren’t back in the car 15 minutes when he got a phone call from a well known Cork bookie asking him what was the story with the horses he had been backing in Tipp.

Dunph I could bet in any of the Boyles shops we used that day, just not on-line or over the phone with the now defunt credit card that I used to have registered with the cunts… but I know that they do have certain faces banned widely. saying that, have betting exchanges negated the need to the big on course layers to have men on the street laying off money.

Sure the oncourse game is fook now anyway. I am told not many will lay you to lose more than 2k in a single bet at your average provincial meeting.

On the subject of the new limerick stadium, where I plan to win a ledger this year, they may get a few decent layers in… That should be a massive priority.

Dunph you’d be surprised at what some of the shops will do to warn about the likes of Hangblaa or the Pencil Man. If it’s not a photo or an instant message, some shops will have dockets stuck up below the counter so you can compare hand writing. I had to refuse an infamous Greyhound gambler a bet in Wexford back in 2001. He was fit to nearly leap in over the counter at me.

There will be some session if you do, all your cronies in Limerick will join ye. Am i right in saying this is with the dog who conquered Munster earlier in the year?

I am well aware of what they do, Mac. I was speaking on the subject of HangBlaa where i was sceptical that he was so well known that he would be refused a bet in say Limerick. It has since transpired that it is only online/over the phone where he has been blocked…

FFS

Laurels next… then the Ledger…

Good stuff, the Laurels is a great competition. I made it down for a few rounds last year and hope to take in more of it this year. Not long to go now, starts on the third week of September if i’m not mistaken…

Punters owed thousands as bookie leaves course early

Wednesday September 22 2010

AN ERRANT bookie made an abrupt exit from Listowel Races over the weekend, owing thousands of euro to disgruntled punters.

The man, who is understood to be from Killarney, was operating on-course and is said to have “run out of money” before the last race.

Horse Racing Ireland (HRI) has confirmed an investigation is under way into the non-payment of winning bets by one on-course bookmaker following the Listowel race meeting.

The racing authority said Ger ‘Dixie’ Dalton didn’t price-up the final race on Saturday having reportedly run out of money. He left unpaid and disgruntled punters to form a lengthy queue outside the HRI’s levy office.

HRI’s betting division manager Paul Finegan said it was “unprecedented” to have so many punters not being paid out on the day.

“He turned up at the levy office in Listowel and explained that he had run out of cash and could not pay out on the bets he had taken,” Mr Finegan told the Irish Independent.

“They told him to send the punters to the betting division office to fill out a course complaint form. He paid out to some but to others he simply couldn’t.”

Mr Finegan also confirmed that since last Saturday HRI has not been able to make contact with Mr Dalton.

“We have extensive powers under legislation where we can revoke a bookmaker’s licence when they fail to pay out on a bet but we have to go through due process.”

Although Mr Dalton did not have a “good pitch” in the bookmakers’ ring, large queues were said to have been forming at his stand.

At one point in his final betting race on Saturday, Mr Dalton went 13/8, when 11/8 was generally the best price in the ring on eventual winner Laughing Boy.

Mr Finegan said: "I understand how the punters feel because they are left in limbo at the moment.

Powers

"Our powers under the legislation have always been ample because a bookmaker does not want to lose his livelihood and it’s in his interests to sort this out.

“HRI currently hold a small deposit (€3,200) which covers levy and pitch fees but there is nothing to cover punters’ losses – it is difficult to put a figure on how much a bookmaker needs to have to cover such an eventuality but that situation will now come under review.”

He added: “This is the first instance of this in at least 20 years and the next step will be to get in touch with the bookmaker and try to get to the bottom of this and see if we can secure payment for punters. However, it is still up in the air whether or not punters will get paid.”

• Majella O’Sullivan

Irish Independent

Not the first time Dixie has tried it. He nearly did the same the day of the 2000 Guineas in the Curragh only for a few punters to block his way. He then ran around to all other bookies looking for a loan to pay off his payouts. He normally bets around half a point better than those around him for every race which obviously can work well or completely fook him over. Seems like a pure gangster.