Heard about this story yesterday. I heard there were a load of fellas from England and places like that left high and dry. Supposedly it looked like he was going to get a hiding over it, fellas were getting fierce excitedâŚ
This reminds me of the time I backed Big Zeb in Leopardstown a couple of christmasâ ago. It was with Hyland an on course rogue, I placed âŹ100 on the horse, at 11/2, he was a general 5/1 shot. I got up to the stands, looked at my docket and it said âŹ50 win. I went back down pre-race and he basically told me to fuck off, during the race I went into the HRI complaint office, it ruined the moment as he got up in a thrilling finish. This Hyland cunt would only pay me out on the âŹ50 but he promised the HRI bloke to do his books later and if he was âŹ50 over what he thought he was he would honour the bet. Of course I never heard another word on it and as soon as I get back on track I am going to break this Hyland cunt.
Thereâs plenty of them out their alright.
You really got to have your wits about you. At least the majority of bookies these days give you out the printed docket with payout etc on it. I would say before that they would have a field day conning the once a year punters at meetings like Galway and christmas.
Thereâs many the cunt that would try you out, especially at the dogs. Cunts like Sammy Allen and âSlasherâ tried it a few times but I was wise to them. Scum as far as Iâm concerned. Alot of punters wouldnât bother checking but with those cunts youâd have to check ever cent.
Dalton: âHRI should not have allowed me to stand at Listowel
GER âDixieâ Dalton, the bookmaker at the centre of the non-payment of winning bets at Listowel last Saturday, broke his silence yesterday.
Dalton laid two favourites late in the afternoon, Jack Cool and Laughing Boy, which both obliged, and was unable to meet his liabilities.
He reported as much to the Horse Racing Ireland levy office and did not bet on the final race. Ironically, that was also won by the market-leader, Cloone Rocket.
Said Dalton: âI hold my hands up and take one hundred per cent responsibiility for this.â
The Killarney-based bookmaker, however, maintains that HRI and itâs betting division manager, Paul Finegan, should emerge from the debacle with little credit.
Explained Dalton: "My direct debit to HRI bounced seven months in-a-row. That direct debit is for pitch fees and levy and would come to approximately âŹ2,000 a month.
"I owed HRI âŹ4,500 and they stood me down for two and a half months. I then got a loan for âŹ4,000 and Paul Finegan, on behalf of HRI, took that and told me I could pay the monkey (âŹ500) when I had it.
"I returned to bookmaking at the Curragh on the Saturday and Sunday before Listowel. I lost âŹ2,500 on the Saturday and a friend paid that for me. I didnât do any damage on the Sunday and then headed for Listowel.
"I went to Listowel with no money and didnât set out to rob anyone, but was under desperate pressure.
"I was in trouble when the favourite won the last race on Wednesday and wrote cheques which have bounced.
"I was supposed to be getting money from a man on the Friday by that never came. I left Listowel on Saturday owing about âŹ30,000.
"At some stage I want to honour these debts if I can, but just donât have the money at the moment.
"I havenât got a plan, because my head is upside down and I donât know whether Iâm coming or going.
"I know itâs my fault, but HRI and Paul Finegan probably should not have allowed me to stand at Listowel.
âIâm aware itâs not a great defence, but it is my only defence right now.â
My heart bleeds for the cunt
Ah sure thats alright so Dixie - ye fooking gobshite :rolleyes:
Is this Dixie lad for real? Despicable carry onâŚ
I caught Teddy Browne with the reverse of that one day. Had 15 on the bottom at 2/1 in Thurles one evening, handed Teddy a score & in the same instant there was a run on the coffin box, Teddy was nearly knocked over and shouted at me âYouâre owed change laterâ and nodded at the clerk behind Anyway the Six won and I went to collect - the clerk said 30 to 15 ticket blaa blaa blaa plus change - What did you give me says Teddy - Fifty said I.
Serious stuff from Powers there paying out on Europe on Monday.
If you are having a wedge on a major event, youâre as well off having it on with Powers, just in case. member they paid out on Tiger to win the USPGA the year Y E Yang won it. I had a monkey on Tiger @ 3/1 that time. Think that was the Sunday Tipp bate Limerick by a cricket score in Croker.
Yeah, I was on Tiger aswell that day, TT. Also copped double result when Kenny Egan won silver, after backing Ireland not to win a gold at the olympics I had to hedge on Kenny, anyway got paid on no golds when he lost and also got money back or did they actually pay out on that bum? Anyway I copped both sides and all I was doing was hedging. :lol:
Think it was just money back - Iâm not too sure.
Was watching a Grand prix with the brother there around 6 weeks ago - I was totally tapped out at the time - Massa was leading by a few seconds from Alonso and they were going 4/5 Massa 1/1 Alonso & 10/1 Vettel I think. Massa had no chance of winning the Title so I advised the brother to have a one-er on both in running. Sure enough Massa let Alonso past near the end - The brother got paid on Alonso @ 1/1 and his hundred on Massa back from the subsequant MBS.
What if Vettel won? :lol:
Do they always give money back when lads are waved by like that?
Ladporkes donât appear to be on oddschecker anymore. Is there any reason for this?
Doubt it, theyâre still on Bestbetting.
They havenât been there today anyway, check it outâŚ
Have Powers taken much of a foot hold in the UK? A quick look at their website shows they have vacancies all over the place - Wembley, Tottenham, Gillingham, Bradford, Accrington, White Hart Lane, Fulham, Edmonton, Greenock etc etc. I could go onâŚ
Think theyâve about 100 shops in the UK, Dunph. A drop in the ocean when you consider what the big three have.
Who would be the big three in the UK? Ladcrooks and William Hill (sigh) anyway i suppose. I presume Victor Chandler or Betfred is the other?